We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect dinner”
Review of El Pelicano

El Pelicano
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Monterrico
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Guatemalan, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: 502/5584-2400
Antigua
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A perfect dinner”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Brigitte, the Swiss owner of Pelicano, oversees and provides perfect meals. I had the Zurecher Geschnetzeltes mit Rosti...otherwise known as medallions of beef in a brown sauce with cognac, mushrooms and swiss-style potato pancakes. The vegetable medley was excellent and the garlic bread set off the glass of house red wine just right. Pancho, the large white pelican and house pet, wandered by as I was paying the bill. This is the best restaurant in Monterrico...even though TripAdvisor spells it Monte Rico.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paladinAntigua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    16
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Creative, homemade food!”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stumbled across El Pelicano after reading about it in a guidebook and seeing the Pelican in a gated yard during the afternoon.

My husband ordered the veggie curry, I had pesto pasta with shrimp, and we shared the bruschetta. Everything was phenomenal and tasted homemade. Given that it's easy to find processed food at some international restaurants in Guatemala, we were so pleased with this find! Plan on returning!

(Tips for a pleasant dining experience: this is the one of the finest dining in Montericco, but it's still Montericco. The dining room is indoor/outdoor atmosphere, with lots of plants around. Wear mosquito repellant! The fans helped me to cool down, but it's not air conditioned. We found it lovely, but be prepared if you're not used to this type of experience.)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank danicwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Not only does it have a live pelican that lives in the premise, it has the best food. We love the fish dishes and other side dishes we had. We found it at the end of our trip and went there for both lunch and dinner as it was so good.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank amusedadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food!!”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

My group of six stayed in Monterrico in April, 2012 for two nights. We ate here our first night and enjoyed it so much we went back for seconds on night two! The food presentation was just as fabulous as the food itself. We passed eachother's plates around the table and could not compliment the chief any more! If you are in this area, THIS IS A MUST! The food is amazing! The real pelican hanging out by the fountain is the resturant 'pet'. Be careful as that fountain is filled with food (fish) and when you get close to his food he gets a little protective! Just stay in your seat and leave the damn bird alone and you will be fine! enjoy...

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeanCulture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best food”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

You dont expect to find a little restaurant like that in Monte Rico.
Food is excelllent and the portions are huge. A gib white pelican sits in the fountain of the garden most of the time, watching you. A great experience. They have an open kitchen, so you can watch them coooking. Prices are good and the stuff is friendly.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank andres049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Pelicano also viewed

Hawaii, Monterrico
Monterrico, Santa Rosa Department
 
Panajachel, Lake Atitlan

Been to El Pelicano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing