We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the worst place I have stayed at...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel El Mangle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monterrico
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel El Mangle
Ranked #8 of 16 Monterrico B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Not the worst place I have stayed at...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed one night with 4 friends in a room with 3 beds. It was clean and tidy. The service was great, everyone was nice and helpful but the price was not worth the room or the location. The pools were not very clean, maybe because of the season. We also ate at the restaurant because we read in our traveling book that they had the best pizza in town; though it was brick oven cooked the pizza lacked flavor. We also ordered shrimp and it seemed like it came out of the freezer aisle- they were the size of nickels. We are planning on going back but won't be staying here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank world_citizen38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
2
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isla Mujeres
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night before moving up the road. We paid 180q for a small, dark, dirty room. There was a mosquito net but it was only half the size of the bed so it barely covered the two of us and we were bitten where it touched our skin. There staff we're dismissive. We moved to Johnny's where we half the price for a nicer room.

The only redeeming features of el mangle are it's two pools and the pizza restaurant is worth a visit. Also some of the more expensive rooms looked a little nicer.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monterrico hotels

Guatemala City, Guatemala
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed for 1 night in this hotel and we had a terrible experience.
We were lucky to see directly a bedbug on our bed so we checked the mattrass and we found many more.....also the room was full off cockroaches... we decided to sleep on the hammock outside even though there were strange people outside the swimming pool and many mosquitos waiting for us. So think twice to book this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ennio Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

This hotel has some nice features including the location on the beach and the restaurant. However, our room was a disappointment because most of the screens were ripped and the toilet did not flush. However, the biggest problem is that there was VERY loud music that played from 8 pm Saturday to 3 am Sunday making it impossible to sleep. the music was coming from down the beach but it still ruined our experience. We would never recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Milsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2011

There is two small swimming pools surrounded by rooms and hammocks.
The atmosphere is cozy.
The decoration has lots of references to 'churches'. It's weird but nice.
The restaurant has two floors with a nice ocean view.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacy911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterrico
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atelie del Mar
Hotel Atelie del Mar
#1 of 5 in Monterrico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.0 mi away
Johnny's Place
Johnny's Place
#2 of 5 in Monterrico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cafe Del Sol
Hotel Cafe Del Sol
#3 of 5 in Monterrico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Soleil Pacifico
Hotel Soleil Pacifico
#2 of 2 in San Jose
3.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel la Guitarra
Hotel la Guitarra
#4 of 16 in Monterrico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mi Paraiso
Hotel Mi Paraiso
#12 of 16 in Monterrico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Mangle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Mangle

Property: Hotel El Mangle
Address: East Beach, Monterrico 06024, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Santa Rosa Department > Monterrico
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Monterrico
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Hotel El Mangle Guatemala/Monterrico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing