We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place !!!”
Review of Johnny's Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Johnny's Place
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Monterrico
Reviewed January 27, 2010

What an amazing place to stay, the weather is perfect, 30-35 celsius everyday !!!!

You will find accommodation for every budget, from a dorm to a private, beach front fully furnished property.

Great hotel to meet locals and tourists from around the world......and friday-saturday night Johnny's is THE place to go out in Monterrico !!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vince66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 258 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2010

When we planned this trip, our first time in Central America, we had one thing in mind beside the sun and the beach : a cultural shock ! You have to understand that my wife and I are travelling with our four kids, 4,7,11 and 12 years old respectively and my mother in law, a wonderful yet not adventurous 61 years old woman. On the first day she almost had a heart attack at where we've landed to tell me on the last day that she would have stayed longer !!! We spended the first 10 days and the last 3 days of our trip at Johnny's place. The food at the restaurant is not fancy but very tasty. The fresh fruit cocktails are best and the bar is packed on week-ends with tourist but also with a lot of local from inland cities. ( That is always a good sign ). The staff is nice and polite, the spot by the beach is great ( there is a turtle shelter close by so make sure you get yourself baby turtles with your kids to put back in the ocean ) with a beach soccer field and a beach volleyball court. Except for saturdays ( party time in all Monterico ) the place is quiet. My children made friends with local kids on the first day and the played together almost everyday. From Jonnhy's Place you can easily get transports to other areas of beautiful Guatemala. At no time security has been an issue. The french canadian owners have been very helpful through our two weeks there. Thank you again...and we will be back !!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irnehebud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2010

i get very little time to get away and when i get to johnnys i know everything will be taken care of for me for my car having a parking place that is secure, a room that is right off the beach, food and beverages that is amongst the best in the region, and prices that are pegged just right. There are more expensive places and cheaper ones, but johnnys does it just right

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CanadaJackGuatemala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2010

best place to stay in Monterrico, fun, many activities, defenetly the place to be!!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndyGuatemala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2010

The ambiance at Johnnys is fabulous! The staff is very friendly and laid back, and will help with any of your needs. We have three sons that travel to Guatemala and have the best time of thier lives when we are in Monterrico. I highly reccomend staying at Johnnys!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chefpfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with friends
Thank CindiMagali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterrico hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Atelie del Mar
Hotel Atelie del Mar
#1 of 5 in Monterrico
233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cafe Del Sol Hotel
Cafe Del Sol Hotel
#3 of 5 in Monterrico
122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Delfin
Hotel El Delfin
#2 of 11 in Monterrico
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hotel Playa Plana
Hotel Playa Plana
#2 of 3 in Hawaii
29 reviews
6.8 mi away
Cocori Lodge Monterrico
Cocori Lodge Monterrico
#6 of 11 in Monterrico
2 reviews
8.1 mi away
Villas Maya Jade
Villas Maya Jade
#2 of 2 in Hawaii
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Johnny's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johnny's Place

Address: Avenida de Los Hotelles, Playa Este, Monterrico 06024, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Santa Rosa Department > Monterrico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Monterrico
Price Range: $18 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On one of the nicest beach in Guatemala, between the Chiquimulila lagoon and the Pacific ocean, you'll find Johnny's Place. The charm and laid back atmosphere is what made Johnny's Place the most popular spot on the beach. Ideal for family retreats or partys with friends! We have diverse housing choices for all tastes and budgets. All our rooms and suites has been recently renovated (2014) with new beds, a/c and new furniture. An excellent choice for backpackers ($6 with breakfast included!), for couples (rooms with a/c, suites, master suites with outside baths and sea views and also for families or groups (private bungalows with swimming pool). the hotel has a large brand new pool and 3 smaller pools for the bungalows. Our restaurant and sports bar is on the beach facing the ocean. You will find hammocks, ping pong table, pool table and cable tv. In the afternoon, you can play beach volleyball or beach soccer or simply watch the sunset over the Pacific Ocean; fabulous! Our menu is varied with choices of appetizers, pastas, pizzas, seafoods, tacos, burgers, paninis, salads, streaks, grilled fish and desserts. Quality of food, cocktails and atmosphere make Johnny's Place the most popular spot on the Pacific coast in Guatemala. Happy Sunset Hour every day from 3pm to 6pm (Q10 beer, Q5 tequila and Q10 Cuba libre!). First and foremost, we want to offer a personalized quality service and create a perticularly relaxing atmosphere which makes you feel home by the ocean. We speak spanish, english and french. It is with great pleasure that we will guide you for your holidays in Monterrico and Guatemala.  Our goal: an unforgettable experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Johnny's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Johnny's Place Guatemala/Monterrico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing