We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“palapas beach party” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Johnny's Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Johnny's Place
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Monterrico
Certificate of Excellence
colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“palapas beach party”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is the place in Montericco for the beach party scene. Many Euro backpackers and Guatemala city weekend party goers. Fun bar scene and decent food. Don't stay here if you want a quiet weekend. If you can read the yellow box in the attached picture you'll know that this is a party bar.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greyquill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnnysplacehotel, Guest Relations Manager at Johnny's Place, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. We are certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been and I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and its team for any inconveniences or unpleasant experiences you encountered during your visit with us.

Our hotel does surely fill up on weekends but we insist on keeping noises and music down after 10pm and have therefore hired overnight staff so that all our clients can fully enjoy their stay.

A special thanks for complimenting our restaurant, bar and its staff. We make constant efforts in order to improve the quality of food and services.

Once again please do accept my apologies and I do hope that the remainder of your trip to Guatemala was most enjoyable.

Best,
Johnny's Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    65
    22
    21
    12
See reviews for
40
63
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pilsen, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Hotel and position is not bad, but its one of the parti hotels... 3guys at bar at 2am and music behind the window (network window) so loud!
So no quiet... in this way I could not recommend.

Toilets and bath clean and nice styled. Staff friendly.

For party visitors is good place, for travellers that likes quiet night is not comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Václav T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnnysplacehotel, Guest Relations Manager at Johnny's Place, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. We are certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been and I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and its team for any inconveniences or unpleasant experiences you encountered during your visit with us.

I understand that you were unable to fully enjoy your stay with us because of music and noises at night and I am very disappointed.
However, we try to keep noise down after 10pm and do not permit loud music anymore, like we used to during weekends.

Thank you for complimenting the cleanliness of the shared bathrooms and the friendliness of our staff. We make constant efforts to improve quality of food and services.

Once again please do accept my apologies and I do hope that the remainder of your trip to Guatemala was most enjoyable.

Best,
Johnny's Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Spent two week in the mountains of Guate and needed some beach! Head to Johnny's place 45Q for dorms w breakfast! Stayed 5 days got a tan. The Ocean here will beat you up and take your name. So cool off in one of the 3 pools, lay in a hammock and watch baby turtles go out to sea.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snowbirdadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnnysplacehotel, Guest Relations Manager at Johnny's Place, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

A special thanks for complimenting our rooms and affordable prices. Johnny's Place is one of the original hotels in Monterrico and we are fortunate to have a good number of guests (backpackers, couples, families...) that visit us regularly, for a weekend stay or even just a drink at the bar, watch the sunset or join in on a fun game of volleyball.

We hope to be able to welcome you back very soon!

Best,
Johnny's Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Atitlan
Level Contributor
224 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Johnny's Place has the formula down pat. They have secure parking if you need it, nice new rooms (I prefer the new rooms to the older ones), a great menu with the best prices on the beach, cheap drinks, and a nice atmosphere to hang out.
It is a party place on the weekend, so just be aware of this. The week nights are quiet. I can recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayak-atitlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnnysplacehotel, Guest Relations Manager at Johnny's Place, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. We are very happy that you fully enjoyed your stay with us.
Johnny's Place is one of the original hotels in Monterrico and we are fortunate to have a good number of guests (backpackers, couples, families...) that visit us regularly, for a weekend stay or even just a drink at the bar, watch the sunset or join in on a fun game of volleyball. .

Monterrico is a natural reserve worth exploring so make sure you don't miss the sunrise or sunset mangrove tour. We will be happy to arrange all activities and shuttles for you at our reception.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at our hotel soon!

Best,
Johnny's Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
84 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We are backpackers. We just stayed three nights in Monterrico - two at Johnny's place. It is right on the beach, about a three minute walk to the main street and from what I saw the nicest place in the general area. Breakfast was included and that helped with the room price. Not too expensive but more than we were used to paying (120 C vs. 70-100C in the rest of Guatemala.) However, we had not been on the beach before. I think the dorms were 45C weekend and 40C during the week. The private rooms facing the beach were pretty nice. It was big enough to spread our stuff out with a cute table and two chairs. The dorms looked ok as well. What I really liked was the huge fan in the room and the nice screen on the windows. The mosquitoes were horrendous and started right after the sun went down. The amazing breeze that happened all day stopped at sundown as well (Sunsets were fab!) We ended up staying in our room pretty much right after the sun went down because of the mossis and that huge fan and good screen made it nice. The other place only had a cheap ceiling fan and we actually slept with wet towels and got eaten up by mosquitoes. Free WI-FI in the bar area only. The staff was friendly enough and both receptionist spoke really good English. They were helpful and when we asked them questions about getting to El Salvador they actually gave us a quicker and cheaper way. The three pools made not being able to swim in the ocean ok. Bad riptides. Black sand beach nice but wear shoes as it is very hot. The only thing that I didn't like is that there were no windows to lock on the window. It was just screen. Our room was just by the bar so we weren't so worried that anyone would break in but we had about $2000 worth of electronics so it was a small concern. Shared showers were clean, water cold (In that heat, you don't want hot water), good pressure. I liked this place.

Room Tip: I would stay there again if going to Monterrico. Pet Johnny the German Shepard dog. He looks feroc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DONNA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnnysplacehotel, Guest Relations Manager at Johnny's Place, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our beachfront location and our affordable, clean rooms.
Our traditional rooms and dorms do include several delicious and healthy breakfast options in the price-a great deal for backpackers!
Thank you for complimenting our helpful, bilingual reception staff. Friendly, attentive service is something we are making our number one priority here at the hotel. From security, maintenance, housekeeping, reception, restaurant or bar everyone is aware that they must offer patient and friendly service to all guests visiting the hotel.
However, I understand that you were disappointed in the screen windows protecting the inside from mosquitoes. We have installed safety boxes in our rooms so our guests can feel free to leave their money, passports etc.

Johnny and staff are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best,
Johnny's Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Johnny's Place has just added 6 new units...4 down and 2 suites up, overlooking the beach..balconies, views and very Euro in design/finish. The owners are re-doing many things, and it looks better than ever. There's something for everyone: bungalows that fit 4-6, separate suites, dorms for backpackers and the usual 'cheeseburger in paradise'. There's also a separate house for rent but I didn't get to see it. There's major changes at Johnny's and they're all good.

Room Tip: pick the upper suite, MS1...the only problem is that the surf is loud and the waves never quit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paladinAntigua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnnysplacehotel, Guest Relations Manager at Johnny's Place, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel.
We are definitely happy you enjoyed our new facilities.
The downstairs private rooms with clean, shared bathrooms and showers right in front, as well as the brand new Master Suites with terrace, jacuzzi and ocean view, are definitely worth a stay.

Thank you for complementing the variety of our facilities. We do offer inexpensive and clean beds in our dorm, private rooms with or without private bathrooms, our famous bungalows or Casa Karina, a private beach house right next to Johnny's Place, that comfortably fits up to 8 people.

We are currently making numerous improvements regarding rooms and quality of food and service at our beachfront restaurant and bar so perhaps you might stop in and checkout some of our new options on your next visit.

Best,
Johnny's Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed at jonnys place for 4 days through the month of August this place was beautiful. Staff was great. :-) we spoke with the owner several times as he is usually always around very nice gentleman as well as his wife. He was always happily willing to answers all of our questions over coffee in the morning. He speaks very good English.


Every room at this hostel has its own cool off pools which are cleaned daily by the wonderful staff. We spent a lot of time in the pools they where great. The food at jonnys was by far the best food anywhere in montricco, great tasteing and very reasonably priced. Their are many hommocks and little lounging beds for when you just want to kick back and read a book or have a nap.
And best of all jonnys is only a 2 minute walk to town, this is very convenient and allows you to see how the locals truly live. Be aware of the English speaking younger fellow in town he calls himself cynder and will ask you everyday to take you to the turtle hatchery. The locals tell me this guy is very crooked.

The one thing I wouldn't recommend is swimming on this beach. I have been swimming in the ocean many times before and this beach was by far the most dangerous. Rip tide would just suck you in because of the steep slope of the beach. You rarely even see the locals swim. If you do decide to swim be extremely cautious. My brother In law swam out past the waves and it took him a long time to get back to shore he was exhausted and we where very frightened. I would suggest that jonnys perhaps put a couple life preservers tied to long ropes and have them right on the beach as a safety precaution. Anyways this has nothing to do with jonnys as they cannot control the waves in the ocean just be very careful if swimming.
Overal our stay at jonnys was amazing we saw it more as a little resort than a hostel. In my opinion this is the only place anyone should stay in mont ricco. Beautiful place, great staff and great food

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avoxxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterrico hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Atelie del Mar
Hotel Atelie del Mar
#1 of 5 in Monterrico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cafe Del Sol
Hotel Cafe Del Sol
#3 of 5 in Monterrico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Delfin
Hotel El Delfin
#1 of 10 in Monterrico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Hotel la Guitarra
Hotel la Guitarra
#4 of 16 in Monterrico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marbella Eco Lodge
Marbella Eco Lodge
#7 of 10 in Monterrico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dos Mundos Pacifico
Dos Mundos Pacifico
#2 of 10 in Monterrico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Johnny's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johnny's Place

Property: Johnny's Place
Address: Avenida de Los Hotelles, Playa Este, Monterrico 06024, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Santa Rosa Department > Monterrico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Monterrico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On one of the nicest beach in Guatemala, between the Chiquimulila lagoon and the Pacific ocean, you'll find Johnny's Place. The charm and laid back atmosphere is what made Johnny's Place the most popular spot on the beach. Ideal for family retreats or partys with friends! We have diverse housing choices for all tastes and budgets. All our rooms and suites has been recently renovated (2014) with new beds, a/c and new furniture. An excellent choice for backpackers ($6 with breakfast included!), for couples (rooms with a/c, suites, master suites with outside baths and sea views and also for families or groups (private bungalows with swimming pool). the hotel has a large brand new pool and 3 smaller pools for the bungalows. Our restaurant and sports bar is on the beach facing the ocean. You will find hammocks, ping pong table, pool table and cable tv. In the afternoon, you can play beach volleyball or beach soccer or simply watch the sunset over the Pacific Ocean; fabulous! Our menu is varied with choices of appetizers, pastas, pizzas, seafoods, tacos, burgers, paninis, salads, streaks, grilled fish and desserts. Quality of food, cocktails and atmosphere make Johnny's Place the most popular spot on the Pacific coast in Guatemala. Happy Sunset Hour every day from 3pm to 6pm (Q10 beer, Q5 tequila and Q10 Cuba libre!). First and foremost, we want to offer a personalized quality service and create a perticularly relaxing atmosphere which makes you feel home by the ocean. We speak spanish, english and french. It is with great pleasure that we will guide you for your holidays in Monterrico and Guatemala.  Our goal: an unforgettable experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Johnny's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Johnny's Place Guatemala/Monterrico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing