We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazingly welcoming!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Greengo's Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lanquin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Greengo's Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazingly welcoming!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

I got there late at night and Eitan was there to welcome me, even though i didn't have a reservation. The hostel is the best chilling spot around Semuc Champey with it's own private river! Good wi-fi connection, big rooms and comfortable beds, hot water, a great restaurant and a few hammocks to rest in. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ido H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golan K, Owner at Greengo's Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Ido,
Thank you for taking the time for your review, its greatly appreciated. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Greengo’s Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    45
    23
    15
    18
See reviews for
14
113
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

A great experience in a family atmosphere hotel is new, clean, cozy, luxurious large meals and amazing manager who was happy to help any traveler! Every traveler who plans to go Samok the greengos hotel is the perfect place! Ethan thanks for an unforgettable experience. RH

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golan K, Owner at Greengo's Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Tom,
I could not be more pleased that your visit with us was unforgettable. It is thanks to guests like yourself and your reviews that allow us to provide the experience that we do and strive to improve. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Greengo's offers an amazing value for the region. It's an oasis in the tropical paradise of Semuc Champey. I've visited the region before, but Greengo's offered something completely new and unexpected. The food is delicious, the accommodations surprisingly clean for the remote location, and the conversation incomparable. You just leave the hotel wanting more.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathryn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golan K, Owner at Greengo's Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Kathryn,
Thank you for giving your time with this review. It is guests like you that make what we do so pleasurable. Please do not be a stranger. We look forward to your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

This place is simply magical. It was recently open and the onwer and staff are super super nice (compared to other hotels in central america). They have a restaurant on site and a volleyball court in the center that converts to an open movie theatre on sunday for everyone to watch imcluding the local kids which is really nice.
They have a private river and pools on site and hammocks and tubing. If you need a place to stay this is the place! The taxi drivers will try to convince you to go to other places but don't fall for that, they get commission. Peace:)

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Roy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golan K, Owner at Greengo's Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Roy,
We are always looking for ways to improve our accommodations, our guest’s experiences, and also incorporate the community that surrounds with so much love. Thank you for taking the time to write your review and give us your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,034 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

While on the shuttle from San Pedro (Lake Atitlan) to Lanquin, the driver told us that we must book the hotel in Semuc Champey in advance because there aren't many spaces left and that there are also no places to sleep in Lanquin. Both were lies! Don't fall for it as the driver just makes commission from you. He will call and arrange your space and pick up the cash...
So we initially got done by this trick but then changed hostel to Greengos Hotel (the driver might lie to you and say that they have closed).
The place is pretty remarkable, with modern but natural design, in the middle of the jungle, with a river flowing through the resort, and only a 10 minutes walk from the entrance to Semuc Champey park entrance.

This place offers different kind of sleeping options, a restaurant, organized tours, and even a volleyball court!

Their accommodation includes the following:
Q50 pp for normal dorms
Q60 pp for a private dorm (minimum 5 people). In case you are with friends and don't fancy anyone else joining you.
Q75 pp for a private dorm with a bathroom (minimum 3 people).
Q150 (for the room) for a private room with shared bathrooms.
Q250 (for the room) for a private room with a private bathroom.

We stayed in the Q150 option and absolutely loved it.

The room was spacious, clean, had comfortable beds, and a great airflow inside.

Staff members are extremely friendly and helpful with whatever you need. Toilets and showers are checked regularly and there is 24 hours security on site (Normally at least 2 guards).

What was really pleasant to see was the fact that they host a movie night for the local kids EVERY Sunday! Dozens of very happy local kids gather inside a section of the restaurant and enjoy a Rambo style movie. A very nice gesture.

This place has only been open for 2 months and looks very impressive with a very promising future.

Overall, very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelReviewer1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golan K, Owner at Greengo's Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Guest,
I thank you for making us aware of your experience. We wish there was a way to stop the poor behavior of the other companies but that is unfortunately not in our power. We are glad to hear you arrived at Greengo’s Hotel in spite of the lies that were given to you by the unknown drivers. We appreciate all your feedback and use it to improve our business so that we can better serve our guest and make their stay truly unforgettable. It is guests like you that make this journey so enjoyable for us. We give you our sincere thanks. We are excited to share with you that since your stay, we have added a balcony above the natural swimming pool and have also made it possible to provide hot water to all rooms, increased the restaurant’s menu, and replaced all stairs on the property to improve the safety. Thank you again for giving us your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanquin
85.7 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#45 of 82 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hospedaje Tipico El Retiro
3.2 mi away
Vinas Hotel
Vinas Hotel
#7 of 12 in Lanquin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Posada del Campo
Posada del Campo
#7 of 16 in Coban
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Muro Lanquin
El Muro Lanquin
#4 of 12 in Lanquin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greengo's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greengo's Hotel

Property: Greengo's Hotel
Address: Semuc Chmpey | Comunidad Chicanuz, Lanquin 16011, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Alta Verapaz Department > Lanquin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Lanquin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very Important Information ....please take two minutes to read this. This hotel strictly prohibits external food or drinks on the premises due to the presence of insects, local animals, and nature. The hotel does not accept credit cards due to the huge unstability of phone and internet signal in the area For your safety the doors are locked from midnight to 6:30 am, we can neither receive incoming guests or allow current guests to exit during this time (excluding emergencies only) We ask the following of all of our guests. ARRIVING GUESTS: Guests departing ANTIGUA must depart prior to 12.00pm, otherwise, they will arrive too late to be picked up by the Hotel. Late arrivals will NOT be accepted (Beware that many companies promise things that are not true....if you leave Antigua at 12 pm the earliest that you will arrive in Lanquin is 11 pm!!....please do your research before booking with a reputable agent) you just one DEPARTING GUESTS: If you arrange your own transportation, please do not book any shuttle that departs Lanquin earlier than 8 am. Any arrangements that do not adere to these guidelines may result in the loss of your reservation and any deposits or payments that have been made. Thank you for your understanding. GREENGO`S TRANSPORTATION: Greengo's Hotel shuttles operates between 10am-10pm and depart from Lanquin every hour as guests arrive into town. Our shuttle from Lanquin to the Hotel and from the Hotel to Lanquin costs Q25 each way and can be paid at the hotel. We offer a FREE one-way shuttle for guests with a two-night stay....(Insider Tip!!)....anyone booking their next destination shuttle with us will receive both way shuttles for FREE! We offer a FREE both ways shuttle for guests with a three-night stay. Our shuttle to Lanquin depart promptly at 6:30 am each morning from the Hotel. Please note that any online bookings will be honored when arriving prior to 6 pm. After this time the rooms will work on a first come first served basis and you will be put in the best available room upon your arrival. When booking shuttles in Flores please use a reputable company. There are a lot of shuttle scams in this area so please be aware of this. Also, we do not recommend multiple destination ticket purchases. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing