We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Retiro Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Casa Gaia(Coban)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Luna(Coban)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (476)
Filter reviews
476 results
Traveler rating
215
150
51
32
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
215
150
51
32
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riversemuc champeydinner buffetbuffet stylebar restaurantfree nightprivate roombooking shuttlesbathrooms were cleanstayed here for nightsgreat toursuper funbeautiful locationzip liningshared bathroomgreat atmospherelocated right
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
356 - 361 of 476 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Everything about El Retiro is pretty top notch -- the location is beyond perfect, there are tons of things to do in the hostel (ping pong table, sauna, board games, hammocks, a platform for yoga or tanning, book exchange...) the staff are friendly locals who like to have fun, the rooms are clean and simple (yes, there are bugs...NOT bed bugs, but bugs that you would normally find in the jungle!) and they offer lots of great tours to semuc champed, the lanquin bat caves, and tubing. the hostel is also great because you can relax in the hammocks by the river during the day and party in the bar at night if you want to -- they have nightly drink specials and great music. Also, don't miss the huge buffet dinners at night... you won't leave disappointed or hungry.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jill6487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I just coudnt imagine before arriving to lankin, that i'll find so beautifull people in many ways.the people from "el retiro" not just bring me a place to stay in their amazing junglish-valley and lodge but I found my mayan family. they host me, feed me, and shared with me their living way so I could learn a lot from them. I could also be able to share my yoga time with them and their guest, and felt healed by the sound gushing river, and aloud me to meditate and recover my energy from my travells. as I get inspired by the lushed wild nature and share my art in one of the walls of this place. I voluntier here for a month and I can tell this people work hurd to make you spent a happy time wile your hollidays. this was my best experience voluntiering so far!!!
love you always beautifull people.

Malinalli (hostel rincon del viajero.Mexico)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malinalli5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We don't know what else was around but el retiro was a great place to stay. It is right on the river so you can sleep to that sound of water flowing by. The rooms and dorms are pretty spread out and there is a beautiful view of the mountain on the other side of the river. The bar thumps in the distance at night, its not too loud but goes late. The restaurant has some pretty good food and theme nights but is pricey. Toilet are usually clean and some of the showers are hot.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kieranspt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

There was a group of 6 of us that stayed her for 2 nights in a shared dorm was there were no private rooms available. The food was not too bad, the bar was a bit overpriced but that is to be expected. The bathrooms didn't really feel or look clean and there was not hot water. As this place is set beside a river in the jungle there are a lot of bugs. The jungle bugs didnt bother me but the issue was I actually got bed bug bites pretty badly - which was weird because no one else in the dorm got them. I don't think it was their fault, someone else had clearly brought them in but we did notice another room that had mattresses airing outside so it wouldn't have surprised me if there were other rooms that were affected too. A huge positive to this place is we has a great tour and guide to go on the day trip to Semuc Champey. I probably wouldn't stay here again but I am sure there are worse places out there!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank K P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2018, traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews