We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scary but Fun”
Review of Semuc Champey

Semuc Champey
Book In Advance
More Info
$20.00*
and up
Day Trip: Kanba Cave and Semuc Champey Natural Pools from San Agustín Lanquín
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Lanquin
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dallas, TX
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Scary but Fun”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I visited the caves during a school trip. I neglected to read the description for the caves so imagine my surprise when I found out we would be swimming in a cave. I was not prepared to climb rocks, hang on to ropes and walk through waterfalls. It was way out of my comfort zone but I'm glad I did it and I would do it again.

Bring a waterproof camera and water shoes and if you're a female, its preferable to wear a one piece swimsuit or a t-shirt and socks.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank swampangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    817
    115
    16
    4
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leon, Nicaragua
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Most beautiful place in Guatemala xXx”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Semuc Champey is genuinely the most beautiful place in Guatemala, in my opinion. Hidden between sheer cliff walls, no power lines, no houses, nothing but the natural beauty of the crystal clear pools. We went to the pools first and enjoyed a refreshing dip and a little beauty therapy thanks to the company of tiny fishes, we could have stayed there forever but decided to climb up to the mirador to get the full view of this amazing place. A definite must-see for anyone xXx

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A most incredible view!”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

One of the places I was most looking forward to visiting during my backpacking trip of Central America. It didn't disappoint. I did the tour of the underground Kanba caves first and then went on to see Semuc Champey. Both were absolutely incredible - beautiful, tranquil, and exciting. Just make sure to take suitable footwear (no flipflops) as it is difficult to see your footing in the dark caves, and the walk up to the viewpoint at Semuc Champey was slightly less than straightforward. A must see if you are in Guatemala!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Massachusetts
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I went there with my husband and wee were amazed the caves you can't miss it its a hole diferent world, the ride to get to lanquin is very long but the experiance is unforgetable

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank lizz86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We were almost going to miss Semuc because of our time limitations. But SO happy we made it! It was absolutely amazing and we loved spending the day here. We wish we had stayed at El Portal, as it is right next to Semuc and it would have allowed us to visit the pools more than once. The colours are exquisite and the walk up the Mirador is well worth it, just take good hiking shoes as it can be very muddy and slippery in some places. The fish in the water like to nibble on your skin but don't be scared of them!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilovetravel098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Semuc Champey also viewed

Lanquin, Alta Verapaz Department
Lanquin, Alta Verapaz Department
 
Coban, Alta Verapaz Department
Izabal, Rio Dulce
 

Been to Semuc Champey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing