We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“right place and nice staff”
Review of Utopia Eco Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lanquin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Utopia Eco Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
grenoble
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“right place and nice staff”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I really liked my 3 days in Utopia. Chocolate tour was really interesting thanks the staff (Remi). All volunteers were avalaible and smiling! The place has a great view!

I just regret that there is no local food...i am just so found of it!

I met a very nice and cool people among tourists there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pierreleroux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John h, Owner at Utopia Eco Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Hummm!!! I'm not sure what you mean by no local food.....Its all local food. All ingredients are purchased from the market in lanquin or Coban and cooked from Scratch every day by local employees. We serve several typical dishes that are from the village of Semil itself. You have to keep in mind that if you want to try all our dishes you must stick around a while since we rotate our meals around.
I hope you enjoyed your stay and please come visit again we do take special requests into consideration so next time let us know if your really hungry for something we try to accommadate our guests whenever possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    90
    61
    35
    14
See reviews for
27
152
74
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This place is amazing, but let down by a few minor things. The views and central meeting area are absoltely fantastic, but the shared bathroom rooms are positively claustrophobic, although very fairly priced at 150Q per night. The dorm is also open above the meeting area, so no room for any privacy or peace. The food the first night we were there was great and there was plenty of variety, but the second night all we received was a bowl of soup and a side plate with coleslaw (no dressing) and a bread roll that was so sweet it was sickening. Such a shame because 24 of us had been canyoning, tubing. climbing, etc and it just wasn't substantial enough. Although I'm having a bit of a winge, don't be put off, but take some snacks in case you go hungry. It was all worth it in the end.

Room Tip: The private rooms are a good size, but a bit pricey at 375Q and the tents are also good, but a bit o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLMac55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed at Uptopia Eco Lodge and had an amazing time. John and Pam are fantastic and made our stay incredibly comfortable. We did the chocolate making course, booked our cave and Semuc Champey tour through them, and took a tube ride from Semuc Champey to Utopia. My husband is not vegetarian but loved the food. I could not say anything bad about this place! The staff went above and beyond to meet our requests.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nicole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Our favorite place to stay in all of Guatemala. We went on the cacao and Semuc Champey tours and both were wonderful. All the staff made us feel right at home and we're very accommodating when we wanted to extend our stay. -Luke

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibsluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We had three rooms in total over three nights.

It was anything but luxurious but the view and atmosphere were great. The owner lets the place down with simple things:

- no fire extinguishers to be seen anywhere
- no matches in the rooms - you have to go out and chase a box down if you want light
- towels cost extra - bring your own
- water costs! they charge to fill your own drink bottle. the only drinking water on premises is chargeable. The only time I seen this during two weeks in Guatemala
- some beds were missing sheets - only had fitted where others had both
- no blankets - take a sleeping bag
- food was only vegetarian. it was ok

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitch G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Out of all of Central America this would be in my top 2 places to stay. The staff is incredible and the owner and his sister are awesome people. Very easy to sit on their swinging bar seats, have a coffee or a beer, and just shoot the breeze with them. They are very informative about the area around them and have some crazy tales to tell about their past experiences. The vegetarian food is awesome, great veggie burgers.

The rooms are simple as you would expect form a bamboo like house but comfy none-the-less. The beautiful view of the hills and the organic coco plants just add to the list of things I loved about this place. Its a very short distance to Semuc and Utopia will set up guided tours with a fun staff. On the way back you can jump off the bridge and tube back to the hostel. I will say, this was cold, tiring, occasionally painful, and long, but was an adventure in itself. A few river beers helped with the cold.

If I went back to Guatemala I would make sure I visited here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Egg7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2014

THOSE ON SPECIFIC DIETS should think twice or plan ahead - while it's all vegetarian food they offer, beware if you are lactose/gluten intolerant (we are both). There is no menu - you get what you are given. So we had to ask them to take things out/put things in the food, which they were totally nice enough to do for us, to the best of their ingredients.

Definitely a beautiful spot - hard not to be. A modern building and the most expensive cabins are nice, but NO HOT WATER for the rest of the guests unfortunately. We slept around - in the dorm and in 2 other of their room options. All more than sufficient. No power in the rooms so you use candles which is actually really nice.

Wifi is pretty on and off - actually off >50% of the time, so don't come here with any urgent work to do or contact to be made, as we had tried and thus failed miserably... But awesome friendly helpful staff who did their best to accommodate us with our specific requests! Definitely big ups on the staff, they were cool.

But... I don't see where they get off calling themselves an eco hostel...? There is absolutely nothing 'eco' about this place... The activities they offer are pretty awesome and lots of fun - they will definitely help you get the most out of the area - but this place is in no way an eco hostel, doing something to positively benefit the surrounding environment... Bit of an advertising green-wash there.

Regardless of any of my complaining I would still recommend checking it out and spending a night or two. It's a wonderful place to wake up and start your day.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Batphone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John h, Owner at Utopia Eco Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
There are many things that make a place Eco friendly. We do several of them but perhaps you didn't notice.
1 thing that we have worked very hard on is to take care of the river. We have made certain that non of the sewer / black water from Utopia enters the river we have put a very good system in place to handle this,
2 we also recycle all bottles and aluminum cans.
3 We have planted ground cover to prevent run off / soil errosion into the river.
4 We do not use any bug sprays or harmful chemicals on the property
5 we only use biodegradable soaps and cleaning products
6 many of the gray water lines have been routed to water other plants and trees on the property so as to not waste the water since its all taken from a spring on the property NOT from the river.
7 We are also working all the time towards growing as much of our own food as possible. At this time we have planted several hundred, cocoa trees, orange trees, coconut trees, banana and plantain trees, coffee plants, Mango, avocado, papaya, onions tomatoes and other herbs.
So we may not fit into your vision of a ECO property but as I said there are many many things we are doing that people just don't see.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lanquin hotels
1.0 mi away
Greengo's Hotel
Greengo's Hotel
#1 of 14 in Lanquin
318 reviews
3.7 mi away
Vinas Hotel
Vinas Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lanquin
31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Posada Casa El Zapote
Posada Casa El Zapote
#2 of 2 in Lanquin
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Mirador De Lanquin
#13 of 14 in Lanquin
2 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hospedaje Tipico El Retiro
0.0 mi away
Hostal Vista Verde Lanquin
Hostal Vista Verde Lanquin
#11 of 14 in Lanquin
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Utopia Eco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Utopia Eco Hotel

Property: Utopia Eco Hotel
Address: Utopia St. by the River, Lanquin 16011, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Alta Verapaz Department > Lanquin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Lanquin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Utopia Eco Hotel unique tropical accommodation & eco farm set amongst beautifully landscaped tropical gardens secluded from the hustle and bustle and some of the greatest adventures to be had in Guatemala.Whether you are looking for a hotel, hostel or camping or are just passing through and want to spend a few nights vacation on the hidden gem of Semuc Champey, Utopia Eco Hotel is where you will be able to do as much or as little as you like. Situated on the Rio Cahabon, You will find our established Cabanas nestled in amongst exotic flora and fauna providing unique lodge accommodation in Semuc Champey.At Utopia Eco Hotel we offer a wide range of activities; hiking, bird watching, river tubing, caving, Chocolate making classes, Semuc Champey tours, or why not just relax in one of our many hammocks located on the river shore? Everything is within your reach when you stay at Utopia! psThere are NO ATM Machines in Lanquin or the Sumec Champey area & no Credit Cards are accepted anywhere at this time. Note: here at Utopia Eco Hotel we do accept Pay Pal & USD but only bills in good condition. such as no torn or marked banknotes. Our Exchange rate is 7.5. We can also accept credit cards now but only when the internet is working good. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing