We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great People and Beautiful Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostal El Portal de Champey
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great people, atmosphere, friendly and funny employees, beautiful view. They have a great central area to hang out, play giant Jenga, and get to know your fellow backpackers. Unfortunately the food is really not that good, and because of its location you are kind of in a pickle. I would advise trying to bring food, at least for breakfast, so you don't need to pay for any crappy meals.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 311 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed only two days and one night and we liked it!
BUT we kept our bags in our room "Maya I" (under roof of a hut) and in the morning with the staff at the reception to enjoy the Semuc Champey water!
At the end, they stole us 1200 Quetzales (so more than 120 USD) well hidden in our bags!
So instead of rating 5 stars, we unadvise you to go there if you don't want to get stolen maybe more than us!!!!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank SebetAurel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

the road in was 'difficult' as it had rained recently (offseason)but the staff were great, friendly and helpful. The lodgings were clean, spartan and comfortable. The food was simple but good. The views are excellent and the grounds neat and clean. The electricity is only on from 6pm to 10pm, so bring a flashlight. It was quiet and I liked it.

Room Tip: pick a single room with private bath in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paladinAntigua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The hostal is in great location - just next the falls of Semuc Champey. Most people stay in neighbour town Lanquin, and this means they have to take a bus for almost one hour to get to Semuc Champey.

If you stay in El Portal, you do not need to bother, as you are really next door to the waterfalls.

The hostal is a good place to meet people as well. We have met two couples while we were there and both were great fun.

Now, watch out how you book the hostal. If you can, try to book the hostal directly with the staff by calling them, We have heard that doing so is cheaper. We have booked through an agency and paid 200 USD for 2 nights with almost everything included (transport from Tikal, private double bungalow and all the tours in Semuc Champey).

For 200 USD, we thought it was a bit pricey, as the bungalows are very simple. Still, we had a great time there and the staff of the hotel treated us very well.

For booking, Just bear in mind that it is difficult to communicate with them - they only accept phone calls.

Room Tip: If you can, avoid the rooms that have people staying upstairs. Ask for a 1 floor bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helviolc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Amazing location, but that's about it. Seems power does not always go out at ten. (As we had read before going there) music blared, very very loud, until 10.30. Then the very drunk group that had been trying to keep the party going continued to yell, hoot and holler until shortly after midnight.
Might have better luck depending on the current tourists, but definitely seemed to be flooded with young backpackers traveling with mommy or daddy's credit card and looking to party.
(Also the most expensive beer prices we encountered in guatemala)
But great location

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krusty64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights in simple room under roof. No extra comfort (no el. plugins) and we have to use your own moskyo net... but toilets clean.
Price/value/location... good.

Eccelent maya chocolate, recommended to teast.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Václav T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Best location out there and friendly staff. You feel like you're boarded a backpacker machine when you get there. It just feels like they've done everything a million times before. They play loud music at night during the electricity hours and we would have preferred silence since we don't spend our lives in the jungle. When the music shuts off, you can hear the insects and frogs, which is much more pleasant.

We booked our bus trip to Flores through them and it was awful. We backtracked to drop people off, pick others up and even do an oil change while we all waited. What was supposed to be 8hrs turned into 12 hrs. I think any other transport option would have been better. Even chicken bus. Do your research and don't do what we did. Lanquin probably has other options.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank killercaribou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lanquin hotels
3.4 mi away
Hospedaje Tipico El Retiro
2.9 mi away
Vinas Hotel
Vinas Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lanquin
39 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aruma Eco-Hostal
Aruma Eco-Hostal
#14 of 14 in Lanquin
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Posada Casa El Zapote
Posada Casa El Zapote
#2 of 2 in Lanquin
32 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hostal Oasis The Traveler
3.4 mi away
Hostal Vista Verde Lanquin
Hostal Vista Verde Lanquin
#10 of 14 in Lanquin
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal El Portal de Champey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal El Portal de Champey

Address: Colonia Belen Lanquin, A.V | Semuc Champey, Lanquin 16011, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Alta Verapaz Department > Lanquin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Lanquin
Price Range: $23 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal El Portal de Champey 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an Eco-Hostel located a few meters of the National Park Semuc Champey, the caves of Water (K'amb'a) and the majestic River Cahabon. We offer a variety of options to stay in the midst of nature that offers incomparable peace. We have the best options to take tours with the best prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Hostal El Portal de Champey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal El Portal De Champey Hotel Lanquin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing