We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“authentic and vibrant”
Review of Elmina lagoon

Ranked #3 of 4 things to do in Elmina
Attraction details
Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
362 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“authentic and vibrant”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

it is one of the best place to see and discover in Ghana. Even though it is just next to the Elmina Castle - turist attraction that stays empty and dead - lagoon is like a volcano of energy. Don't miss a walk along the beach covered with boats and harbor.
Great place to take photos but be careful as people dont seem to like be photographed.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank very-sunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    7
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
““Magnificent spectacle of boats, fishermen and market traders””
Reviewed January 19, 2013

One of the best bits of a holiday in Ghana is just watching everyday life – and it doesn’t come more interesting than standing on the little bridge in the early morning watching the fishing canoes coming in with their overnight catch and landing their fish at the fish market on the quayside. The canoes all have outboard motors and are brightly coloured with religious texts on the prow. Each boat has about 10 men and has been out fishing overnight. There must be between 50 and 100 boats jostling to unload their catch. Because we had a guide well known in the area we were able to go down to the quayside and see the activity. On the quayside the traders - almost all women- are buying the fish and the dispatching it in massive woven baskets perched perilously on their heads, There were literally 100’s of people on the quayside, including an evangelist conducting an early morning service. Each day we passed through El Mina we saw a steady trail of people going to and from the quayside. Needless to say, the thing to eat in the area is the array of fish which have been caught – grouper was our favourite.!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank chilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharpsburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A photographer's delight”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

The harbor, with its hundreds of colorful fishing boats provides an endless supply of subjects to photograph. The town is bustling and the fish market is an event well worth the effort. I do not know if the fish market is open every morning, but it was open early (8:00) on Monday morning when I was there. The fishermen came in from a night of fishing and sell there catch to the villagers.
I spent the night at the Bridge House hotel which is a great choice, conveniently located right on the harbor.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bob21782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salt lake city, ut
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic people-watching”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We stayed in the Coconut Grove Bridge Hotel, so we had an excellent view from our window (and later from the terrace as we ate breakfast) of the fishing boats coming in and the market.

It was a beautiful, fascinating sight, with women arriving early and setting up food stands, dozens of men waiting perched on the bridge for the fishing boats to come in, and just lots of hustle and bustle everywhere.

The boats were beautiful and most of them had some sort of foreign flag flying from the foremast, which our taxi driver told us was just for show; they used to fly signal flags, but now that everyone has cell phones, they just call each other if they need to communicate. It was nice to see lots of US flags both on the boats and in the taxis; it's heartwarming to go to a country where they so openly like Americans (it helps that the Obamas had visited Cape Coast in the previous year).

The lagoon and market were great. Our driver told us that they are there every day except Tuesday, when they let the sea rest.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank barbizondamazon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
730 reviews
596 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,427 helpful votes
“The heartbeat of the town.”
Reviewed April 23, 2011

Elmina Lagoon provides the pulse of the fishing village that surrounds it. The place reminded me of Jerusalem’s Old City or Kumasi’s Kejetia Market: an overflow of activity as people go about their daily routine, in this case setting out to sea to catch fish in a wide array of colorful boats. It is an interesting experience walking through the streets by the shore as one takes in the atmosphere. I found an excellent vantage point at Fort St. Jago, a small hill just north of Elmina Castle. Worth a quick stroll through the area to take in the pageantry.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank midway42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elmina lagoon also viewed

Cape Coast, Central Region
Cape Coast, Central Region
 
Elmina, Central Region
Accra, Greater Accra
 

Been to Elmina lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing