We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We eat here.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coconut Grove Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Elmina
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We eat supper here after visiting Elmina Castle or Kakum National Park. It has a nice ocean view and breeze. Food is good and prices are reasonable...closer to US prices than when I first started going to Ghana twenty years ago. So were the nightly rates...so now we stay at Anomabo Beach Resort.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank rtwilson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 299 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2012

I work with CTB World Travel & Tours at www.ctbtravelgh.com, and anytime we have groups touring an attraction site around Elmina, we never miss out letting them have a feel of the scenic beach side views of Coconut Grove Beach Resort, its a mixture of modern and rich African touch of their structures.

What most of them enjoy is the morning 100% natural Coconut Milk, the afternoon Coconut Rice and the evening Coconut Soup, They also have a mini Gulf Court for people who cant control the miss of swinging their arms during vacations.

It was such a fun: contact CTB World Travel for a splendid Vacation Package for Ghana.

Room Tip: Choose rooms closer to the Restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asiome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I am excited about the development of the "Village" in this resort. This costs US$35.00 and has basic facilities bed, desk/ chair ( carved pieces of wood like something from Flintstones), and a shower/ wc. No tv etc. This meets the pocket of the low budget traveller as well. Excellent buffet breakfast. Keep it up Coconut Grove.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eventsghana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Very comfortable and beautiful setting but not much sense of being in Africa. Clean, functioning utilities, beautiful rooms. The three of us who have spent time on southern California and Liberian beaches were disappointed in the beach since it was too rocky for body surfing- but I think that is just us and not a comment for most tourists.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliez46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

This hotel is an oasis, but if you're looking for a break, this is the place to stay. The sprawling grounds are spotless, lovely and green with shady trees everywhere. They offer horseback riding, a golf course, an aligator, a petting zoo, a lovely pool (which closes too early - around 9 PM), etc. The food and beverages are expensive by Ghanaian standards, but one must accept that this is a luxury resort and that goes with the territory. I personally loved the restaurant being outdoors (although with a roof), and having several standlone areas for sitting, relaxing, eating and drinking. There is a bar by the pool, and a ping pong table that are fun. We chatted with guests and made new friends. The ocean water is clean and many were swimming. There is nothing I could fault this resort for. They are one of the only places to take a credit card with a very small surcharge, which was very helpful b/c one needs to be constantly going to ATMs in Ghana to get cash because most transactions are cash based. There are many trips one can take from this resort, including a day at Kakum National Park, a day exploring the fishing town of Elmina which is a very interesting place, and the Elmina Fort which was one of the colonizer's forts along the coast where people were held until they could be shipped to the Americas for slavery. After staying here, we went to Kokrobite Beach which does not have a luxury option and the sheets, bedspread, towels, floor, etc. made me long for the cleanliness, peacefulness and beauty of this location.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nelsonp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

I think this is one of the best resorts in Ghana, next to the Atlantic Ocean and in a beautiful setting of coconut trees and greenery. Lovely surroundings. We were there to celebrate the end of 2011 and welcoming the sun of 2012 and we are happy to do that. The resort was fully booked but it was a relief not to see a huge crowd, They are so well spread-out that you never see a big bunch of people disturbing your privacy. The white cottages looked really smart in green settings. We however got rooms at Coconut Village resort which is the next block of the same hotel as we did not book the hotel months back. The village has typical Ghanian village look of round houses and even the rectangle building blocks give a feeling of mud house. They are also nice but a bit run down and I don't think that they spend money to keep them in good condition. The rooms have a bit rustic look as well as rustic decor. Some of the rooms were smelling strong dampness. Anyway, for a night only it was tolerable.. Wish we had the rooms at the main resort overlooking the ocean. But we spent whole day and upto mid night on the beach to enjoy the fresh strong water of the ocean. The beach was clean. It is a bit risky tow swim in the strong current and waves. There were huge rocks along the beach and waves were splasing on t hem. We enjoyed those blasts from the ocean and spent hours together on the beach. At night, the hotel organized huge Bon Fire, crackers and nice fire works to welcome the new year of 2012. It was just wonderful.
The buffet was quite expensive and the food was not up to the standard. It is a pity to see that such beautiful resort serve such food. Even during lunch we ordered fish and they were stale, hard and horrid. I wonder why they did not serve fresh fish!!
We enjoyed our stay because of the lovely surrounding but the food disappointed us. You can see both sun rise and sunset on this sea. It was great.

Room Tip: Take rooms next to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaniz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

We stayed at the coconut beach resort over Christmas, we were happy we came.This place does not offer Luxurious living but it sure does offer tranquillity, peace and a restful environment. The buildings face the sea and you can have breakfast watching the sun rise and the waves crashing. That I found really amazing. The staff are quite chilled out, most times ready to help if you ask. But staff at the front desk in particular are very helpful and ready to sort you out. We received a Christmas package from the Management on Christmas Eve, which we thought was really nice of them.
We enjoyed the A la Carte meals (mostly lunch and dinner). The chicken curry with plain white rice really hit the mark for me. Travellers might also want to try the peppered steak (it is well done for the west African tongue) .
However I found the breakfast buffet a bit lacking in options, toast and sausages maybe?
All in all I can say that it was well worth the time, money and effort to get there.

Room Tip: The rooms between 20 and 30 are nice (bungalows with wooden chairs in front of them to have a rest)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adenrele25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elmina
7.1 mi away
Hotel Loreto
Hotel Loreto
#2 of 9 in Cape Coast
36 reviews
3.5 mi away
Brenu Beach Lodge
Brenu Beach Lodge
#1 of 9 in Cape Coast
105 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coconut Grove Bridge House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
Ridge Royal Hotel
Ridge Royal Hotel
#3 of 9 in Cape Coast
5 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elmina Bay Resort
Elmina Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Elmina
245 reviews
0 mi away
Anomabo Beach Resort
Anomabo Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Anomabo
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Grove Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Grove Beach Resort

Address: Mbofra Akyinim Street, Elmina, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Central Region > Elmina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Elmina
Price Range: $161 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coconut Grove Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Grove Beach Resort and Conference Center is located on a sandy beach in the Historic Town of Elmina. Guests have access to an 18 hole Golf Course, Horse back riding and can swim in the Pool and on the Beach. Also available are Board games, table and lawn tennis, beach volley and soccer as well as a fully equipped gymnasium. We have an animal sanctuary with crocodiles, peacocks, rabbits, parrots and other wild life. We have a variety of rooms to suit honeymooners, families or groups as well as kids play areas and swimming pool. Our Conference Halls can host from 15 Guests to 300 for a meeting or event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coconut Grove Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Grove Beach Hotel Elmina
Coconut Grove Beach Elmina
Coconut Grove Beach Resort Ghana/Elmina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing