We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only walking tour option in town..”

Ghanaecotours.com Day Tours
Ranked #2 of 4 things to do in Elmina
Attraction details
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
138 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Only walking tour option in town..”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

You have only one option of an walking tour in Elmina, and this is it. Since there's really no competition, I can't really compare to anything. But all in all the tour was pretty nice. Now the tour is run by two people instead of only one, and I think the guy who did the tour with me wasn't named Felix. We walked around the town for about an hour and he explained to me a lot of things. In the end we went up to the Fort St. Jago for panoramic view of the city. Only thing missing was a visit to fishing market, but maybe that's due to the time of my tour(around noon). Elmina is small and easy to navigate enough to see for yourself. But if you'd like to know more history and background, I think it's worth taking the tour. (Note : price per person increased to 25 cedes).

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kchae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The way to see the real Elmina, not only the castle!”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Most tourists visit Elmina in a short trip by bus. They come the Elmina castle, one of the castles built by colonialists on the Ghanaian Coast for the Gold trade and later the human disaster of the slave trade. All castles on the Ghana Central Coast were declared World Heritage Sites in 1979.

They bear witness to colonialism and the slave trade and many Ghanaians, Diaspora Africans and historically aware people come to visit these important sites. However it has become a hasty business: In a few-hours trip from neighboring bigger and more tourist-prone Cape Coast, visitors come in guided tours, are being charged off in front of the castle, run the tour and off- to the next castle or the beach with the bus.

But here is what they miss. Elmina does not only have another Fort, St. Jago, but its town is larded with heritage sites of local indigenous and colonial history.
And all of this is easy to explore, Elmina is an open, friendly city that deserves more attention that just a hop-off from a tourist bus. Felix Nguah, an experienced Ghanaian tour guide with a vast knowledge about Elmina, its people, history, architectonical styles and more recent development projects offers a 3-4 hour Elmina Walking Tour. With him and other local and international students and tourists you discover the beautiful and vibrant city per pedes and see its many faces and historic places, shaped by many different Ghanaian and International Heritage.

When the colonialists came they built the castle by the sea, in front of an Ashanti settlement. During colonial conflicts the ashanti town was destroyed and today the ruins are overgrown by grass.
The St. Joseph Hill with the Roman Catholic Church, the biggest community in Elmina, overlooks the city.
It looks onto the hill onto the cemetery, where former rich dutch merchants but also local authorities and noblemen were laid to rest,
Down the stairway from St. Joseph we enter the city, alongside the old dutch cemetery
cemetery

The other christian chruch in town is methodist, but there are also more animistic-christian local groups and muslims.
The other christian chruch in town is methodist, but there are also more animistic-christian local groups and muslims.
Alongside several old merchant houses, inherited from Ghanaian families with Dutch heritage, we reach St. Jago Hill
The Fort st. Jago, built by Dutch colonialists to protect themselves better than the portuguese did against them capturing Elmina and the castle.
This is the inner patio of Fort st. Jago, built by Dutch colonialists to protect themselves better than the portuguese did against them capturing Elmina and the castle.
Impressive reminiscences of local noblemen and soldiers are the ASAFO Posts.

Yet, the most important place in town and business of the majority of Elmina inhabitants
the fishing business is as old as Elmina, as the bayside location presented the first settlers a protected and lucrative place. Contact Ghana Eco tours: http://www.ghanaecotours.com/contact-us.html

And yes, Felix also offers to organize a beach trip, there is many public beaches close by where he knows the best hidden spots, or if you want to get back to the touristy feeling, you can still go to the Elmina Grove Beach Resort, a beach resort belonging to the same owner as the Bridge House, where you will have free entry to all facilities if you are a guest at the Bridge House.
http://www.coconutgrovehotelsghana.com/bridge_house/

Near Java Hill, in the Java Museum, you will also find out what globalization meant for the African soldiers (forcibly) serving the Dutch East Indies Armies, in the 19th Century, with personal histories stretching through 3 countries and continents from then to today. This is the description of the Java Museum and contact: http://elwininternational.com/elmina_java.html

Wandering on your own, chatting unobtrusively with local citizens, you may also test local food, visit a soccer-match or a church-service or learn about future plans from the manager of the Bridge House hotel, a pleasant place to stay if you decide to give Elmina at least 2-3 days.
Or try some fresh catch made up in a nice meal at the Bridge House hotel;)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This walking tour of Elmina was one of the highlights of my trip to Ghana. Felix is a very engaging and knowledgeable tour guide, and quite entertaining as well. The tour was interesting and not physically difficult. And Elmina is a photographer's paradise!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tour in Ghana”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The walking tour with Felix around Elmina town was fascinating. The history was a real eye opener and his love of the place is charming. Apart from the tour around Elmina, Felix also booked accommodation for the rest of my tour around Ghana. It was all very easily arranged by e-mail, and when I was travelling he kept in touch with me to make sure everything was going well. I highly recommend Ghana EcoTours.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank westdene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Elmina, Ghana, West Africa”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Our tour guide was great! He really knows the history of this mysterious place. My group was in awe with the beautiful views of the ocean and the marina, so many boats!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yolanda1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ghanaecotours.com Day Tours also viewed

Elmina, Central Region
Elmina, Central Region
 
Elmina, Central Region
Cape Coast, Central Region
 

Been to Ghanaecotours.com Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing