We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Elmina
Post
Inbox
Search
  
Ways to Experience Elmina Castle
from $242.31
More Info
from $226.66
More Info
from $165.00
More Info
from $282.06
More Info
Reviews (450)
Filter reviews
450 results
Traveler rating
254
159
29
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
254
159
29
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews slave trade cape coast tour guide world heritage site trading post excellent guide eye opening sub saharan portuguese castle history west ships ancestors bracelet africans british
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 450 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The Elmina castle might bring you to tears when you're taken round and told the stories of the plight of the slaves that once passed through this place. It's a nice place to be and has good management, the tour guides ar great and has the history at their finger tips

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank evanstours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020

It is hard to give a 5 star rating for this dungeon of horrors. The rating is for the staff and the country that saw fit to maintain this place so that we never forget the horror that was the transatlantic slave trade. Every African American who visits Ghana must go to this place and experience what our ancestors experienced. It is unforgettable. And let not the irony escape you of the horrors that took place right next to the beautiful seaside setting.

Date of experience: February 2019
2  Thank Cruzin404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2019 via mobile

As I walked into the castle I felt humbled. I felt the presence of my ancestors straight away. It was a real eye opener. I fulljoy the tour. Learned a lot.

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank Ghanaqueeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2019 via mobile

A good place to visit.alot of anciet history in there .A very emotional tour but totally great place

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank Tour23983987162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2019

The castle is very well preserved. The guide that we had was a master story teller who told the history of Elmina with a lot of passion. His understanding of the history was in depth and he also provided great commentary. To allow us to experience a fraction of what the slaves experienced, we were placed in some of the dungeons with the doors closed.
There are a couple of great shops where you can buy books and dvds about the history of the castle. In addition you can purchase some Ghanian souvenirs.
The view over the town of Elmina is fantastic.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews