We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“see Ghana Ecotours”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Elmina Castle

Elmina Castle
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Elmina
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The European traders built and occupied many forts along the coast of Ghana in the 15th-17th centuries to protect their trading posts.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“see Ghana Ecotours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

see Ghana EcotoursText, that I have already posted. The castle is impressive and shocking. Still I believe that visiting only the castle leaves out Elmina.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    118
    23
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Don't miss this historical site”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

We visited the castle with our 11 year old daughter. It was fascinating to visit the castle and terrible to think about the things that happened here. Our daughter was particularly affected and interested in the history of the place. We will never forget the "door of no return". If you are in Ghana, try and fit in a trip here.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
138 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“memorable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

The tour guide was very knowledgeable and hearing the account of what went on right where I was standing is something I will remember for a long time. That said, as others have commented the hawkers on the way in, but especially upon leaving are a drag as instead of thinking about what you just learned you're thinking how annoying they are. The museum was a bit disappointing as well.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank MichiganFloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“History very important and the local guides at the site are good.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Liked the way the guide had you go into the areas for the men and women and get a real feel for how dark and cramped the spaces were.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worth the trip to Elmina”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

This is another experience I am really happy I got the chance to have. More than ever it highlighted how human beings can be so cruel to each other and then rationalize it...even using religion. We will all have so much to answer for one day.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DarkandSmooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elmina Castle also viewed

Cape Coast, Central Region
Cape Coast, Central Region
 
Accra, Greater Accra
Cape Coast, Central Region
 

Been to Elmina Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing