We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little piece of heaven indeed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Stumble Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elmina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stumble Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Elmina B&B and Inns
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
“A little piece of heaven indeed!”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stumble Inn is a little piece of heaven in Elmina! The place is beautiful, the rooms and huts are cosy and clean, and the high point is the staff and the food! The prices are fair and the landscape is amazing! I recommend for sure!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatanAquino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    37
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
28
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

I came to the Stumble Inn following the advice of a colleague who had visited a few times. She described the place as low-key, but nice. She was exactly right.

It took a bit of searching to locate the reception desk upon arrival, but once in our room we were completely content. Because the self-contained beach huts were all booked, we spent the first night in a family room. It was big and spacious and immaculate. Even the shared bathrooms (which I was hesitant about) were clean and easily accessible. The second night in a hut was even better.

The Stumble Inn has a beautiful coastline, even better than its much more expensive neighbors. Though its beach front is inviting, there are not enough lounge chairs, so get to the beach early to claim your spot.

There is a great little bar/restaurant with lots of character. The atmosphere is such that guests are all mingling and chatting. The whole place is really really comfortable.

The only draw back is the lack of electricity means that for parts of the day and night you can hear the loud hum of the generator, but once you're by the beach or in the huts you can't hear it anymore.

Overall, I'd say the Stumble Inn is the perfect place to get away and its affordable rate is just an added bonus.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Afpapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kumasi
2 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

My stay was very short but interesting, I loved the scenery n locality of the environment. The food was good but took some time getting served. The workers were friendly and nice.loved the trees and the way the huts and houses were designed, it was truely a lovely experience.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I stayed at Stumble Inn with a few friends for 3 nights in December 2013.

Firstly, the resort is gorgeous and very charming. Every piece of glass bottle lining the walkway and every plant and flower seemed to be placed with the greatest care. The beach was gorgeous and vacant and literally steps away. There were tons of lounge chairs you could sit in right in front of the beach and for you to use while reading a book and listening to the sound of the waves. Though some of the lounge chair cushions were getting a little old.

I stayed in one of the huts and it was lovely falling asleep to the sound of the waves. The beds were pretty nice and comfortable as well, though my mosquito net was a little small and didn't cover the entire bed. I personally enjoyed the open-aired bathroom as you could shower under the stars (though the water pressure of the standalone showers were better!), but some of my friends really couldn't stand the smell of the eco-friendly latrine! I think this was partially our fault.. we ran out of ashes on the first day and never asked for more.

All in all this is a fantastic place to spend a few days relaxing on the beach while eating delicious banana and chocolate crepes. If you're planning to come and meet tons of people and party.. maybe this isn't the place for you (we didn't really meet anyone, though it was low season) but if you just want to have a few days relaxing on the beach, I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kateyyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We got off the bus at Elmina junction, thinking our room at Stumble Inn wouldn't be far ... correct, but for the fact that the bridge over the lagoon in the centre of town had been closed to cars for a few months already. This is worth checking before you book. After a couple of taxis had offered 90cedi (!) to drive us in the long way round we settled for another trotro down the highway to the turnoff at the far side of the lagoon then a taxi of only about 20cedi along the rough dirt road to the resort. Add in these transport costs and Stumble Inn starts sounding a little less cheap but still fine enough on a volunteer/backpacker budget.

Nice to get there! Lovely garden, good beach for walking (but the undertows are too rough for swimming?), friendly staff - though I would have appreciated some warning about access to the place. Meals were fine and reasonably priced but do keep an eye on your tab and check the handwritten docket before paying. (Ours included someone else's drinks but this was corrected without fuss when we pointed it out.) No banks - take plenty of cash with you.

Elmina township is an interesting walk away along the beach that serves as a very obvious public toilet once you get past the upmarket resorts. You're welcome to walk through the beachfront village/town to the road along the lagoon to the busy busy colourful market and the castle - less than an hour including distractions. Interesting, worth seeing.

For our first night we had one of the nice self-contained round huts at the front. Very cute and comfortable, but there was a problem with one of the windows. For our second night we were up the back in the family room where the lights were almost out. When we asked about this we got a stronger bulb put in but even then we needed torches to get around inside even during the day. Plus there was a problem with the catch on the screen door in that room.

You get the feeling that some time soon they're going to have to put the same effort into maintenance of the buildings as they put into the lovely gardens.

Room Tip: The self-contained huts at the front are nicer if you can afford one and they're not all booked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Amazing place. We could not believe our luck when we only paid 12 cedi for a dorm room and arrived in paradise. I went here twice because it was so great. The first time was an epic night ending with us and the manager dancing on the table whereas the second time was so chilled out and peaceful. You can make this place what you want it -they were perfectly happy for us to put our own music on and party the night away but it's equally good for a restful beach holiday. Love this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This is a small basic resort with a handful of rooms and lovely flower gardens right on the ocean. I camped right next to the sea, a beautiful spot. The accomodation is basic, no hot water for instance, but in the heat of Ghana you probably won't need it. The staff here are very helpful and kind. Dinner has around 4 options each night, at least one veggie, meals are good value. The fruit salad and pancakes at breakfast are great too. Food service is good.

I really hope that the staff keep up the maintainence of this place - it is a very good place to stay, but furniture next to the beach is beginning to show signs of wear and tear and if repairs aren't carried out the place will let itself down. (Same goes for locks on bathroom doors not working...).

Room Tip: I camped - just show up and pitch your tent - at a very low rate! The round huts looked much nicer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elmina
3.2 mi away
Brenu Beach Lodge
Brenu Beach Lodge
#1 of 8 in Cape Coast
92 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coconut Grove Beach Resort
1.9 mi away
Coconut Grove Bridge House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Hotel Loreto
Hotel Loreto
#2 of 8 in Cape Coast
32 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ko-Sa Beach Resort
Ko-Sa Beach Resort
#1 of 9 in Cape Coast
75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elmina Bay Resort
Elmina Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Elmina
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stumble Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stumble Inn

Property: Stumble Inn
Address: Mbofra Akyinim, Elmina, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Central Region > Elmina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Elmina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stumble Inn is a beach lodge just outside Elmina in the Central Region, Ghana. Nestled between 2 resorts, Stumble Inn is a perfect retreat and relaxing eco-friendly lodge. We have 3 en-suite beach huts, family rooms, and dormitories and are totally focused on providing a welcoming environment where anyone can come and stay, eat and join us with a few drinks. The beach front location is perfect for relaxation, but just 5 minutes from Elmina, which is a must see for any visitors. Transport links are good and there are a range of attractions such as Kakum and Cape Coast which are in close proximity. We look forward to welcoming you at Stumble inn! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stumble Inn Ghana/Elmina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing