We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Stumble Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elmina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stumble Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Elmina B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Relaxing paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

I stayed at Stumble Inn with a few friends for 3 nights in December 2013.

Firstly, the resort is gorgeous and very charming. Every piece of glass bottle lining the walkway and every plant and flower seemed to be placed with the greatest care. The beach was gorgeous and vacant and literally steps away. There were tons of lounge chairs you could sit in right in front of the beach and for you to use while reading a book and listening to the sound of the waves. Though some of the lounge chair cushions were getting a little old.

I stayed in one of the huts and it was lovely falling asleep to the sound of the waves. The beds were pretty nice and comfortable as well, though my mosquito net was a little small and didn't cover the entire bed. I personally enjoyed the open-aired bathroom as you could shower under the stars (though the water pressure of the standalone showers were better!), but some of my friends really couldn't stand the smell of the eco-friendly latrine! I think this was partially our fault.. we ran out of ashes on the first day and never asked for more.

All in all this is a fantastic place to spend a few days relaxing on the beach while eating delicious banana and chocolate crepes. If you're planning to come and meet tons of people and party.. maybe this isn't the place for you (we didn't really meet anyone, though it was low season) but if you just want to have a few days relaxing on the beach, I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kateyyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    37
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
28
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We got off the bus at Elmina junction, thinking our room at Stumble Inn wouldn't be far ... correct, but for the fact that the bridge over the lagoon in the centre of town had been closed to cars for a few months already. This is worth checking before you book. After a couple of taxis had offered 90cedi (!) to drive us in the long way round we settled for another trotro down the highway to the turnoff at the far side of the lagoon then a taxi of only about 20cedi along the rough dirt road to the resort. Add in these transport costs and Stumble Inn starts sounding a little less cheap but still fine enough on a volunteer/backpacker budget.

Nice to get there! Lovely garden, good beach for walking (but the undertows are too rough for swimming?), friendly staff - though I would have appreciated some warning about access to the place. Meals were fine and reasonably priced but do keep an eye on your tab and check the handwritten docket before paying. (Ours included someone else's drinks but this was corrected without fuss when we pointed it out.) No banks - take plenty of cash with you.

Elmina township is an interesting walk away along the beach that serves as a very obvious public toilet once you get past the upmarket resorts. You're welcome to walk through the beachfront village/town to the road along the lagoon to the busy busy colourful market and the castle - less than an hour including distractions. Interesting, worth seeing.

For our first night we had one of the nice self-contained round huts at the front. Very cute and comfortable, but there was a problem with one of the windows. For our second night we were up the back in the family room where the lights were almost out. When we asked about this we got a stronger bulb put in but even then we needed torches to get around inside even during the day. Plus there was a problem with the catch on the screen door in that room.

You get the feeling that some time soon they're going to have to put the same effort into maintenance of the buildings as they put into the lovely gardens.

Room Tip: The self-contained huts at the front are nicer if you can afford one and they're not all booked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Amazing place. We could not believe our luck when we only paid 12 cedi for a dorm room and arrived in paradise. I went here twice because it was so great. The first time was an epic night ending with us and the manager dancing on the table whereas the second time was so chilled out and peaceful. You can make this place what you want it -they were perfectly happy for us to put our own music on and party the night away but it's equally good for a restful beach holiday. Love this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

This is a small basic resort with a handful of rooms and lovely flower gardens right on the ocean. I camped right next to the sea, a beautiful spot. The accomodation is basic, no hot water for instance, but in the heat of Ghana you probably won't need it. The staff here are very helpful and kind. Dinner has around 4 options each night, at least one veggie, meals are good value. The fruit salad and pancakes at breakfast are great too. Food service is good.

I really hope that the staff keep up the maintainence of this place - it is a very good place to stay, but furniture next to the beach is beginning to show signs of wear and tear and if repairs aren't carried out the place will let itself down. (Same goes for locks on bathroom doors not working...).

Room Tip: I camped - just show up and pitch your tent - at a very low rate! The round huts looked much nicer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

A bit difficult to find, the road is not all that great but what a reward upon arrival... The small cottages, round, are nice, clean and fairly spacious. The bathroom is outside. Unfortunately, the composting toilet does not seem to work as well as it should, the odors were a bit much. Closing the door to the bedroom took care of that! There was also a break in the water line so no running water but the staff made sure we have buckets of water to,wash, so all was well! The people who work there were very nice and helpful. The restaurant has a good selection and the food is delicious, the grilled lobsters were to die for! The bread is homemade and delicious in a country where boring white bread is king. The room and food was very reasonably priced... And bonus, the sound of the sea put me to sleep nicely! A definite stay wile in Almina!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Metravellingagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

We had a few days on our own after a small group tour in Ghana. We were intrigued by the reviews and what we read about the Stumble Inn so decided to book there and were not disappointed.

The Stumble Inn is a pretty basic level resort, so it isn't really for everyone and especially anyone looking for luxury. They have 3 (and seem to be building a 4th) individual huts that can sleep 3 or 4 in a pinch. A number of 'family' rooms are also available, but those have shared bathrooms. The round huts seem to be built to resemble the traditional village huts you see all over rural Ghana; but these huts are much larger. We had a nice, comfortable double bed and a single cot in the room. The bathroom is outside, completely open to the sky; an 8' wall provides lots of privacy. Beds have good mosquito nets.

Electricity is only on from 5:30 to 11 pm, but a small solar panel power alight for daytime use - best keep your headlamp or flashlight handy! There is no A/C and no Wi-Fi available. The gentle night breezes made the tolerable for sleeping. Going outside to the roofless toilet in the middle of the night was actually a pleasure, even when there was a light sprinkle of rain.

There is a nice lawn area scattered with palm frond roofed gazebos, with great views of the ocean. The gazebos were great places to while away the time, reading, writing postcards, or just dozing in the shade. The beach is protected by a reef, so swimming is safe. Walking along the beach is great except for the snotty attitude from the adjoining more upscale resorts.

The restaurant is very good with a great selection of dishes for breakfast. You have to order your dinner early so that the staff can shop for provisions. The restaurant also only has those limited hours of electricity so they can't really store items (like meat, fish or chicken) that will easily spoil. Similarly, the beer and other beverages were still pretty cool at lunch time, but decided warmer by suppertime.

Staff were efficient and helpful, if not overly friendly when you talked to them. It is a longish cab ride into Elmina so running in there a bit of a trek, especially on the several kilometers of bumpy dirt road leading up to the Inn. We had already been to Elmina so never bother going again.

This is a great place to relax and unwind if you have had a hectic, busy trip touring around Ghana.

Room Tip: Unless you are on a very tight budget, I'd recommend the individual huts over the family rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob_White22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

This place was hard to find. Once found, there was so little lighting we couldn't find the check-in. Then we learned our room had been given away because the staff thought we were not coming even though it was barely 7pm and we had a booking already. They gave us a discount which was nice (thanks), but the apology felt terribly insincere. The room they gave us in consolation had big spaces in the roofing so we could hear our neighbours and had no privacy. The food was good. The atmosphere was nice. But I'm not sure what all the hype is about...

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicpat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StumbleInn, Owner at Stumble Inn, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Hi there - we're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us as much as most people do. With regards to giving your room away, we usually phone guests on their day of arrival to confirm they are coming, welcome them and see what else we can do for them. Unfortunately we didn't have your details, but this was our mistake, and we will continue to work hard to ensure that these things don't happen.

We really were sorry about this situation, and it's a shame you felt this was not sincere. We enjoyed chatting to you both, gave a discount on your room and provided our special garlic bread on the house.

We purposely have low levels of lighting at the lodge, the beach and quiet location as well the eco-friendly and relaxing nature of Stumble would not be in keeping with bright lights.

We do hope you enjoyed the wedding in Nigeria and hope we can welcome you again at Stumble in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elmina
3.2 mi away
Brenu Beach Lodge
Brenu Beach Lodge
#1 of 8 in Cape Coast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coconut Grove Beach Resort
1.9 mi away
Coconut Grove Bridge House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Hotel Loreto
Hotel Loreto
#2 of 8 in Cape Coast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ko-Sa Beach Resort
Ko-Sa Beach Resort
#1 of 9 in Cape Coast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#2 of 6 in Elmina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stumble Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stumble Inn

Property: Stumble Inn
Address: Mbofra Akyinim, Elmina, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Central Region > Elmina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Elmina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stumble Inn is a beach lodge just outside Elmina in the Central Region, Ghana. Nestled between 2 resorts, Stumble Inn is a perfect retreat and relaxing eco-friendly lodge. We have 3 en-suite beach huts, family rooms, and dormitories and are totally focused on providing a welcoming environment where anyone can come and stay, eat and join us with a few drinks. The beach front location is perfect for relaxation, but just 5 minutes from Elmina, which is a must see for any visitors. Transport links are good and there are a range of attractions such as Kakum and Cape Coast which are in close proximity. We look forward to welcoming you at Stumble inn! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stumble Inn Ghana/Elmina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing