We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Broke Our Hearts to Leave!”
Review of Stumble Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elmina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stumble Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Elmina B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Broke Our Hearts to Leave!”
Reviewed May 16, 2011

It's a little hard to find, but trust me--you want to find this place!

The location is far enough from the bustling craziness of Elmina and Cape Coast to insulate you from the stress and noise of tourist town--but close enough that a relatively cheap cab ride gets you straight into the thick of things. Best of all, it's directly on the ocean, making a gloriously relieving breeze and gorgeous scenery an omnipresent part of the deal.

Given the choice between the well-laid-out and climate-appropriate dorm-style rooms (insanely cheap) and the private huts in the middle of the gardens (which were flush with butterflies and flowers, even at the end of the dry season), we opted for the second choice. Our local-constructed hut was cool, cosy, dry and quiet; even when other tourists more intent on partying descended onto the beach, all we could hear was the wind and the surf. The self-composting toilets were clean, solid and neutral-smelling, and we thoroughly enjoyed the shower and sink (the water heats with the sun, which was fabulous after a long day!). The beds were excellent--the mosquito net frames were the perfect convenient touch, and really helped you stretch out and get comfy. Charming, culturally appropriate, and looking out directly onto the water. For someone looking to relax without abandoning their ethics, it's basically the perfect spot.

The bar is a comfy bamboo joint with high stools and tables, a friendly cat, and stocks of cheap beer, safe bottled water and cold soda. It boasts a book exchange (ESSENTIAL when travelling West Africa) and a charming frog that occasionally pipes up from behind the rail. The food straddles European brunches and Ghanaian cuisine, all of it delicious and reasonably priced--and the kitchen often takes requests. They use local fruits and vegetables, and make an excellent french toast breakfast!

You won't find friendlier staff more welcoming, or more intent on taking care of you--from the ladies working magic in the kitchen, right up to the management (even the friendly dog was looking out for us!).

Swimming in the Gulf of Guinea is a bit of a silly idea, as rip tides, rocks and rough waters make it dangerous even on the nicest of beaches, so the fact that the sand can be a bit of a challenge to access (approx. 6 ft drop) was fine by us. Watching the waves crash in from the comfortable lounge furniture was absolutely heavenly. One of Ghana's few golf courses is conveniently nearby, if you're into that sort of thing.

The worst part about it was leaving.

If you're in the Cape Coast area and need a place to stay--or just a place to relax-- hail a cab to take you "close to Coconut Grove" and find the Stumble Inn. You'd be mad to stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: Ask the management about recommending a good taxi
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashley_hammell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    37
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
28
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2011

I stayed at Stumble for a few weeks whilst volunteering at schools in Ghana, and I had an excellent stay. Kofi, the manager was excellent, great service, along with all the other staff, everything was very clean, the food was amazing, especially the local dishes such as Red-Red. The location is a fair way from the centre of Elmina, but its a nice 30 minute walk along the beach if you want it to be, which is definitely hot but you get used to it. I stayed in dorm rooms during my time, which were clean and comfortable. I really enjoyed my stay at Stumble, so thanks to everyone there!

Room Tip: All the dorm rooms are the same :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m-james7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

I'm surprised by all the good reviews of Stumble Inn - I felt that there are better "eco-beach-hut" options elsewhere on the coast. Service was friendly, food was fine and huts were nice. This was heavily outweighed by the poor location, a beach that isn't good for swimming or sunbathing and not enough vegetation and offshore breeze to keep cool. Left me feeling disappointed, hot and bothered.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bakkaniya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StumbleInn, Owner at Stumble Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of Stumble Inn on TripAdvisor. Your review naturally caught our attention as it was the first negative feedback we have received.

You seemed to enjoy the lodge itself, with friendly service, nice food and fine huts, so that is a positive, and these are all things we are constantly looking to provide - and improve for our guests. To address your other comments one at a time:

Poor Location – as you'll be aware, we are located between Coconut Grove and Elmina Bay, so right in the midst of Elmina's most prestigious coastline. Our aim is to provide somewhere relaxing, where you can enjoy the coastline, sit with a drink and enjoy yourself in a peaceful environment. Obviously this is difficult in Elmina, but since we’re less than 5 minutes from the town, I hope you’ll agree that we have achieved this.

Beach isn't good for swimming or sunbathing – we have recently been experiencing problems of severe coastal erosion, caused by the illegal sand extraction happening along this coast. It is a serious environmental issue and recent campaigning has forced the sand winners to cease their activity between us and Coconut Grove. We are waiting to see the effects of the stoppage, before creating new beach access, but as with most of Ghana's coastline the strong currents do make swimming advisable for competent swimmers only. We have a close relationship with both Elmina Bay Resort and Coconut Grove, and guests are able to use the pool facilities for a small charge.

Not enough vegetation – this is relatively new site, having opened last July, and we are working hard to “green” the site, with a wide range of plants, our own vegetable garden and lots of fruit trees. We’re working towards growing our own produce for our restaurant and I am sure that our guests appreciate that the gardens will take time to fully mature. At the time of your stay we were also heading towards the end of the dry season, which I'm sure you'll accept makes it hard to keep the garden green!

Not enough offshore breeze – you must have visited at an unusually still time as there is a near constant breeze which cools the entire site – clearly nature wasn't on our side for your visit!

We hope that you could be persuaded to return on another occasion, if only to satisfy yourself that this was an off weather day, and that we are working hard to improve the beach access and vegetation. You can be assured of a warm welcome from Aeron and Sietske and the rest of the team!

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2011

Iv just arrived back from 3 weeks volunteering in Ghana and was lucky enough to stay at Stumble for the duration of my visit. its right on the beach, has a very chilled out vibe and is the perfect place to explore Elmina and Cape Coast from. its a little off the beaten track...and that makes it all the better as you feel as though you have found a hidden gem. Kofe and the team were fantastic, food was brilliant. cannot recommend highly enough!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tissc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

My wife, 21-yr-old son and I spent two weeks in Ghana over the New Years holiday visiting and traveling around with our older son who is living and working in eastern Ghana. We stayed in a number of hotels and guesthouses and the three nights we spent at the Stumble Inn were by far the best. We rented all three of the huts closer to the beach. Don't let the composting toilets put you off. As other reviewers have stated, there is no odor whatsoever and the spaciousness of the bathrooms cannot be matched. Louise and Aubry and the entire staff made us feel right at home. The meals were the best we had in Ghana, especially the red red and palava sauce. You can walk forever on the beach heading west and can swim in the ocean immediately in front of the Inn. Ghana is a place of sensory overload -- colors, sounds, tastes, heat, smells. The Stumble Inn is an oasis of quiet and relaxation. If you are traveling to the Elmina area you owe it to yourself to spend as much time as you can at the Stumble Inn.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FrozeninMKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh,UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2011

This is an amazing wee place just outside Elmina..I only heard about it a few days before travelling to Ghana and ended up staying for 2 weeks. It is located in a pretty stretch of beach right next to the Elmina Bay Resort (it's easy to find if you follow directions for Elmina Bay). The staff were really kind and helpful, there was a real feeling of being made welcome and looked after. Initially, I stayed in one of the huts which was very clean and airy, with an outdoor shower and self composting toilet. Later, I stayed in the dorms at the back, the bunk beds were comfortable and good value for money, the shared toilets/showers were always kept clean.
Stumble is a very good place if you're looking to escape from everything and relax in a beautiful place. Thanks to Louise, Aubry, Kofi and Co for a great time in Ghana..I can't wait to be back!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mel_in_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2011

recently stayed at the stumble inn and did not regret it one bit. an environmentally friendly, beach-front lodge with home cooked meals was just the ticket to relax and unwind for four or five days.
the staff are all friendly, the location is spectacular and as mentioned the food was the best we had in 4 weeks in ghana.
in regards to the toilets, i forget the exact name but they are pit toilets which you deposit some ash after each use - not a problem and there was no smell but it was the first time i had come across them! just be aware. it certainly won't detract from the stay.
definately stay if you are down cape coast/elmina way.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anguswebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elmina
0.4 mi away
Coconut Grove Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Coconut Grove Bridge House
7.5 mi away
Hotel Loreto
Hotel Loreto
#2 of 9 in Cape Coast
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Elmina Bay Resort
Elmina Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Elmina
237 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#2 of 6 in Elmina
17 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ko-Sa Beach Resort
Ko-Sa Beach Resort
#1 of 11 in Cape Coast
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stumble Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stumble Inn

Property: Stumble Inn
Address: Mbofra Akyinim, Elmina, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Central Region > Elmina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Elmina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stumble Inn is a beach lodge just outside Elmina in the Central Region, Ghana. Nestled between 2 resorts, Stumble Inn is a perfect retreat and relaxing eco-friendly lodge. We have 3 en-suite beach huts, family rooms, and dormitories and are totally focused on providing a welcoming environment where anyone can come and stay, eat and join us with a few drinks. The beach front location is perfect for relaxation, but just 5 minutes from Elmina, which is a must see for any visitors. Transport links are good and there are a range of attractions such as Kakum and Cape Coast which are in close proximity. We look forward to welcoming you at Stumble inn! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stumble Inn Ghana/Elmina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing