We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at Stumble!”
Review of Stumble Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elmina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stumble Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Elmina B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stay at Stumble!”
Reviewed April 21, 2011

Iv just arrived back from 3 weeks volunteering in Ghana and was lucky enough to stay at Stumble for the duration of my visit. its right on the beach, has a very chilled out vibe and is the perfect place to explore Elmina and Cape Coast from. its a little off the beaten track...and that makes it all the better as you feel as though you have found a hidden gem. Kofe and the team were fantastic, food was brilliant. cannot recommend highly enough!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tissc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    38
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
28
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, WI
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

My wife, 21-yr-old son and I spent two weeks in Ghana over the New Years holiday visiting and traveling around with our older son who is living and working in eastern Ghana. We stayed in a number of hotels and guesthouses and the three nights we spent at the Stumble Inn were by far the best. We rented all three of the huts closer to the beach. Don't let the composting toilets put you off. As other reviewers have stated, there is no odor whatsoever and the spaciousness of the bathrooms cannot be matched. Louise and Aubry and the entire staff made us feel right at home. The meals were the best we had in Ghana, especially the red red and palava sauce. You can walk forever on the beach heading west and can swim in the ocean immediately in front of the Inn. Ghana is a place of sensory overload -- colors, sounds, tastes, heat, smells. The Stumble Inn is an oasis of quiet and relaxation. If you are traveling to the Elmina area you owe it to yourself to spend as much time as you can at the Stumble Inn.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FrozeninMKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh,UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2011

This is an amazing wee place just outside Elmina..I only heard about it a few days before travelling to Ghana and ended up staying for 2 weeks. It is located in a pretty stretch of beach right next to the Elmina Bay Resort (it's easy to find if you follow directions for Elmina Bay). The staff were really kind and helpful, there was a real feeling of being made welcome and looked after. Initially, I stayed in one of the huts which was very clean and airy, with an outdoor shower and self composting toilet. Later, I stayed in the dorms at the back, the bunk beds were comfortable and good value for money, the shared toilets/showers were always kept clean.
Stumble is a very good place if you're looking to escape from everything and relax in a beautiful place. Thanks to Louise, Aubry, Kofi and Co for a great time in Ghana..I can't wait to be back!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mel_in_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2011

recently stayed at the stumble inn and did not regret it one bit. an environmentally friendly, beach-front lodge with home cooked meals was just the ticket to relax and unwind for four or five days.
the staff are all friendly, the location is spectacular and as mentioned the food was the best we had in 4 weeks in ghana.
in regards to the toilets, i forget the exact name but they are pit toilets which you deposit some ash after each use - not a problem and there was no smell but it was the first time i had come across them! just be aware. it certainly won't detract from the stay.
definately stay if you are down cape coast/elmina way.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anguswebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2010

We stayed for two weeks at Stumble Inn and were extremely well looked after by the manager, Roos, and Kofi. We stayed in one of the huts right on the beach and found it such a relaxing place to stay. We also really enjoyed the food, especially the red red and groundnut soup.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank star635924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2010

I am a regular visitor to Stumble Inn as I live and work in the Elmina area. It is far and away the best place to come and relax, meet people and enjoy yourself in this part of Ghana. Well situated on a quiet beach, with a relaxed atmosphere, the coldest drinks I've found in Ghana and extremely friendly staff, you could not ask for much else. The food is awesome and serves a fusion of Western and local dishes. Supper tends to be a fixed menu, however, the chef is very good and can usually accommodate varying requests.

With a volleyball net, hammocks, a well stocked bar, a choice of sleeping arrangements (dormitory or private hut), book swap, great food, stunning location and a varied and interesting clientele, as well as being only a shortish (40 minute) walk into the centre of Elmina, this makes a great place to come and spend a few days. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emgee2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2010

My stay at Stumble Inn was incredible. I stayed in one of the huts. The ocean breeze keeps the hut fairly cool at night. My bed was huge and very comfortable and the hut itself was very clean. The surroundings are beautiful, right next to the ocean. The food was great, especially the pancakes and the red red! Roos, the manager, is so friendly and warm. She will help you with whatever you need to make your stay more comfortable. During my stay, Kobby's dance troupe put on some amazing Ghanaian dance and drumming performances. I even got to take drumming lessons with Kobby:) I would highly recommend Stumble Inn to anyone traveling to Elmina!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1218sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elmina
0.4 mi away
Coconut Grove Beach Resort
7.5 mi away
Hotel Loreto
Hotel Loreto
#2 of 9 in Cape Coast
34 reviews
1.9 mi away
Coconut Grove Bridge House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Elmina Bay Resort
Elmina Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Elmina
239 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ko-Sa Beach Resort
Ko-Sa Beach Resort
#1 of 11 in Cape Coast
79 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#2 of 6 in Elmina
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stumble Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stumble Inn

Property: Stumble Inn
Address: Mbofra Akyinim, Elmina, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Central Region > Elmina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Elmina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stumble Inn is a beach lodge just outside Elmina in the Central Region, Ghana. Nestled between 2 resorts, Stumble Inn is a perfect retreat and relaxing eco-friendly lodge. We have 3 en-suite beach huts, family rooms, and dormitories and are totally focused on providing a welcoming environment where anyone can come and stay, eat and join us with a few drinks. The beach front location is perfect for relaxation, but just 5 minutes from Elmina, which is a must see for any visitors. Transport links are good and there are a range of attractions such as Kakum and Cape Coast which are in close proximity. We look forward to welcoming you at Stumble inn! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stumble Inn Ghana/Elmina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing