We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Elmina Bay Resort
Nearby Hotels
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Twitter Paradise(Elmina)(Great Value!)
$20
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dawson Lodge(Elmina)(Great Value!)
$19
Booking.com
View Deal
$34
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$24
Jumia Travel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$13
Booking.com
View Deal
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
HotelQuickly
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveler rating
137
74
25
8
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
137
74
25
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscape coasthot waterrestaurant barlovely poolfruit juicepalm treesoverlooking the oceanrelaxing stayred redricewonderful placecoconut grovefishaccraseabeachcastle
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 249 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed here in March 2013, out of the 4 hotels we stayed at, this was the best. If you want some r&r then it is a great place to stay, pool was excellent and rooms were very comfy, clean and lots of space, plus free wifi too. For breakfast you choose off a menu, it was good and quite sufficient. The restaurant was really good for dinner too, we normally leave the resort and try out other places, but we thought the food was excellent and good value, so we ended up eating there every night, jollof rice was v.tasty! ... Coconut Grove is short walk along the beach but didnt look very inviting. Recommend the tour around Elmina Castle, hotel can arrange a taxi. Also hotel is at the end of a long dusty bumpy road, a few minutes up from cocunut grove entrance. Once tourism catches on in ghana, this place will be fully booked!

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms are good
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chicken_or_beef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

If you come to Elmina Bay you will find that you are pretty isolated and far from anything in town. Only come here if you want to swim in the ocean or the pool as there isn't much else to do there. The place is clean and the rooms are large though utterly lacking in decor or charm. The restaurant is ok for breakfast.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank foodfreakSMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Having just returned from a stay at The Elmina Bay Hotel I can't overstate how happy and impressed our family was with the place. The rooms were spacious clean and comfortable, the pool very good as was the restaurant and the general ambience of the whole resort was one of peace and relaxation.

The defining characteristic to me however was the quality, friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff. Ben and Suzi the owners are discreetly attentive however were incredibly helpful and flexible in sorting our transportation etc. for our family. I would very definitely stay there again and would not hesitate in recommending it to others.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndygWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed at the Elmina Bay Resort over Easter, will definately return when I can, Ben and Suzi are good Hosts and I found the staff to be helpful and cheerful.
Room was spotless and well furnished. Only ate the one meal (apart from the breakfast, that was included in the room rate) and the menu was Basic but of a good standard. I would say this location is for those who want to get a way from it all. If you are looking for somewhere with a bit of nightlife then Cape Coast would be a better choice than Elmina, basically a fishing village.

Room Tip: Try to get a 1st floor room for a better view.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 172BobA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed in the beach resort over the Easter weekend and was impressed -
The Rome are clean, good size and well laid out.
The location is excellent and the pool and beach are beautiful. It's a great location for a trip to Elmina and I'd defiantly reccomend it without hesitation.

Only thing that's stopped 5stars was the smallest touches- but that's what makes it right.
Service was a little slow and every time we went to Restraunt we had to get them to serve us. Might be because it was busy because of Easter?
They played local Ghanaian radio at dinner time in the Restraunt which wasn't much for mood setting! Invest in an mp3... People may sit in the bar longer,,,,
The tv in the bedroom never worked. (Although I didn't report it).
They did try and put on some entertainment on the Saturday night which was a nice touch and even gave chocolate with breakfast on Easter Sunday.. Thoughtful..

The food is good but stable and lacked a little personality - just dinner on a plate with no dressing or care.. Good enough food but to get 5star you want that little extra.. ?
And we had one of only two rooms in the place with a blocked view of the sea! Now that's just bad luck surely???

Might sound picky but it was a solid 4star resort which is beautiful and could have turned into an amazing 5star resort with the best of everything with just 1-2 days work and no real cost..

But don't listen to me - go there There is no reason not too...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyTravells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews