We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty view but far out of town”
Review of Elmina Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elmina Bay Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Elmina
Reviewed April 10, 2013

If you come to Elmina Bay you will find that you are pretty isolated and far from anything in town. Only come here if you want to swim in the ocean or the pool as there isn't much else to do there. The place is clean and the rooms are large though utterly lacking in decor or charm. The restaurant is ok for breakfast.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank foodfreakSMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
There are newer reviews for Elmina Bay Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 242 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Having just returned from a stay at The Elmina Bay Hotel I can't overstate how happy and impressed our family was with the place. The rooms were spacious clean and comfortable, the pool very good as was the restaurant and the general ambience of the whole resort was one of peace and relaxation.

The defining characteristic to me however was the quality, friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff. Ben and Suzi the owners are discreetly attentive however were incredibly helpful and flexible in sorting our transportation etc. for our family. I would very definitely stay there again and would not hesitate in recommending it to others.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndygWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed at the Elmina Bay Resort over Easter, will definately return when I can, Ben and Suzi are good Hosts and I found the staff to be helpful and cheerful.
Room was spotless and well furnished. Only ate the one meal (apart from the breakfast, that was included in the room rate) and the menu was Basic but of a good standard. I would say this location is for those who want to get a way from it all. If you are looking for somewhere with a bit of nightlife then Cape Coast would be a better choice than Elmina, basically a fishing village.

Room Tip: Try to get a 1st floor room for a better view.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 172BobA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed in the beach resort over the Easter weekend and was impressed -
The Rome are clean, good size and well laid out.
The location is excellent and the pool and beach are beautiful. It's a great location for a trip to Elmina and I'd defiantly reccomend it without hesitation.

Only thing that's stopped 5stars was the smallest touches- but that's what makes it right.
Service was a little slow and every time we went to Restraunt we had to get them to serve us. Might be because it was busy because of Easter?
They played local Ghanaian radio at dinner time in the Restraunt which wasn't much for mood setting! Invest in an mp3... People may sit in the bar longer,,,,
The tv in the bedroom never worked. (Although I didn't report it).
They did try and put on some entertainment on the Saturday night which was a nice touch and even gave chocolate with breakfast on Easter Sunday.. Thoughtful..

The food is good but stable and lacked a little personality - just dinner on a plate with no dressing or care.. Good enough food but to get 5star you want that little extra.. ?
And we had one of only two rooms in the place with a blocked view of the sea! Now that's just bad luck surely???

Might sound picky but it was a solid 4star resort which is beautiful and could have turned into an amazing 5star resort with the best of everything with just 1-2 days work and no real cost..

But don't listen to me - go there There is no reason not too...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyTravells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I was there just before Easter 2013, and was really impressed. The rooms were immaculate, the food very good, staff attentive. It can't be easy to keep a really nice place like this going with all the hurdles of being in West Africa. The owners clearly invested in making this a place that should be nice for years to come - such as high quality windows and nice tile floors in the rooms. The place was pretty quiet when we were there - so not the place to rock into the wee hours, which suited us fine. It is a very easy ride into Elmina, and Cape Coast is very accessible for day trips or to participate in some of the activities there (such as WIP drumming lessons). I would absolutely go back again. Note - I gave it 5 stars for value - not that it is really cheap, but rather the place really is excellent and the prices very fair. Finally, I can't seem to unclick "spa" or "fitness center" - I don't think they have either, so ignorte that from my rating

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

we stayed here 3 times: fantastic environment, large well appointed rooms, perfect service, WIFI (also in the room, that's very very difficult to get in Ghana), clean swimming pool, amazing relaxing terrace in front of the room. The location is very good to explore of course Elmina: the interesting Castle, the amazing bay with the fishermen, the outlandish fish market (don't miss it). From here it's easy to go around and explore other far places (like the stilts village Nzulenzu: an heaven!) with the advantage to have an hot shower, clean thick towels and a good dinner waiting for you... Of course we had a driver, the very professional, careful and knowledgeable guide-driver Wisdom (+233244696442 wakpabli@yahoo.com) that made our tours very easy and on-time.
We only regret we didn't have so much time to stay some more days... but we will plan one more trip.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaiusPio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This was the third hotel we stayed at in Ghana and the best: rooms were clean, spacious & both bedrooms air-conditioned. All rooms have beautiful sea and pool views. The restaurant/bar does good food and overlooks the beach. This is a great place to relax. I had a minor health problem during our stay and the owners, Ben and Suzi, could not have been more helpful - their kindness is something I will not forget.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elmina
0.5 mi away
Coconut Grove Beach Resort
7.6 mi away
Hotel Loreto
Hotel Loreto
#2 of 9 in Cape Coast
34 reviews
3.0 mi away
Brenu Beach Lodge
Brenu Beach Lodge
#1 of 9 in Cape Coast
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Coconut Grove Bridge House
13.0 mi away
Anomabo Beach Resort
Anomabo Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Anomabo
85 reviews
9.5 mi away
Oasis Beach Resort
Oasis Beach Resort
#3 of 9 in Cape Coast
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmina Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmina Bay Resort

Address: Mbofra Akyinim | PO Box EL 325, Elmina, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Central Region > Elmina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Elmina
Price Range: $109 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elmina Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ocean front hotel with high quality finishes, located in a beautiful setting, but only 10 minutes from historic Elmina Town, and 20 minutes from Cape Coast. All rooms have en-suite showers, TV, wi-fi internet, fridge, dressing area and sea facing balconies. A large and beautiful pool, conference room and gardens provide a serene setting for your getaway, meeting or leisure break.Enjoy balmy ocean breezes, beach side dining, with meals beautifully prepared by our kitchen. Come and enjoy service to make you smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Elmina Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmina Bay Hotel Elmina
Elmina Bay Resort Ghana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing