We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent superior service”
Review of Elmina Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elmina Bay Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Elmina
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Consistent superior service”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

As former residents of Ghana, we recognize how difficult it is to convey a vision of what should be provided for hotel guests to staff who have never experienced excellent customer service for themselves. However, at Elmina Bay resort, Ben and Suzie have accomplished this in a remarkable way. The location is stunning, the rooms are tastefully decorated, and the pool is sparkling. But what makes this hotel special is the service. Ben is quick to spark the generator if the power fails, the staff is quick to assist a guest with any luggage or housekeeping, and the restaurant workers proactively call to take orders for the next meal. Everyone is attentive and friendly without being invasive. The only area that could use improvement is the food, which is competent most of the time, but rarely stunning.

Room Tip: The downstairs king rooms have two desks, which is an advantage for business travelers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Wisetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    71
    24
    8
    5
See reviews for
76
68
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is a little paradise, in a very historical location. After working for a week in Accra and Cape Coast, I had two days to rest and spent it at the Elmina Bay Hotel. The location is perfect - close enough but also far away enough from Elmina. I took a very enjoyable walk along the beach to the town itself, cutting through the village on the town’s outskirts, and grabbed a cab back after exploring Elmina. Most of my short time there was spent simply relaxing, swimming, enjoying good food and company of the wonderful, hospitable and super helpful proprietors in this peaceful, serene, beautiful setting. The accommodations are comfortable and clean and the restaurant’s food is very good. A word of advice to travelers from the U.S. - make sure you have an EMV credit card with an embedded chip – standard cards such as we use in the States won’t work when you go to pay. Otherwise, have enough cash on hand to pay your bill. Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerinbklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The best part of the Elmina Bay experience is the seclusion. It is so peaceful you feel like you are on a deserted island, only one with comfortable air-conditioned rooms, plenty of wine and a great dining room. The beach in front of the resort is disappearing due to illegal sand removal up and down the coast, but the owners have created a sand beach on top of a retaining wall so my children did not lack for beach fun. They built castles, collected coconuts and enjoyed the pool. During low tide, we also enjoyed exploring nearby tidal pools full of little creatures for the children to discover. Our host and hostess, the Iduns, could not have been more gracious or accommodating. My only critique is that after a few days at the resort, the menu does get a little repetitive, but they do their best to offer a lot of variety and everything we did order was tasty. Also, make sure you bring your own soaps and shampoos.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MazeyHunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I just finished our second visit to the Elmina Bay Resort in four weeks, which should attest to our high opinion of this property. With no offense to the neighboring Coconut Grove, EBR is newer, nicer, less crowded and less expensive (though to be fair I confess we opted for dinner at the Coconut Grove this time in deference to a better menu with more options).

All rooms offer lovely views of the surf across from the beautiful pool, and the beauty of the sunset -- either from one's patio or the beachside canopies -- must be seen to be believed. A walk on the beach is a delight for photographers (and shell collectors), either west to a fishing village or east to the Coconut Grove -- or even closer, the Stumble Inn, where we enjoyed an excellent but exceptionally reasonable South African chardonnay.

Hosts Ben and Suzi Idum are absolutely committed to service and ensured our stays were a pleasure. I don't believe there is a nicer beach front resort within three hours of Accra.

Room Tip: The resort's WiFi is available in the lobby but we found it sketchy in the room (though a Vodafo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and i recently celebrated her 50th birthday party in elmina bay resort with family and some close friends. It was captioned elmina 2012, and we virtually had the resort to ourslves. We had a barbacue and a night disco on the beach side, full it disco lights, burn fire and a sumptious buffet into the wee hours of the morning.

All our guests were happy it the quality of the hotel, the environment, the history of the town and the local community as a whole. We got excellent services from the staff, the Directors and all the support peronnell who were part of the function.

The sea breeze, neatness, good meals and security we enjoyed for 3 days are worth remembering for a long time. Finally, the seclusion of the hotel gives it a unique feel, and the facilities available are on the increase, and improving. This is a highly recommended resort to everyone. Only one snag, will be very helpful if and when they start accepting MasterCard for payments, this was a bit of a challenge as one people only had visa cards.

Room Tip: I prefare the rooms upstairs, but all the rooms are really lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgbarasa o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

My husband and I had spent a wonderfully relaxing three days at Elmina Bay between Christmas 2011 and New Year, so it was an obvious choice when we were looking for a destination celebration for my 50th birthday. The owners went out of their way to make sure our group was well catered for, and from the time they alll arrived at the resort, they all felt they had stepped into a tropical idyll: coconut trees swaying in the breeze, the constant background of waves crashing onto the shore, amazing sea views from all the rooms, and utter serenity. Ben and Suzi organised local tours to Elmina and Kakum (the walking tour of Elmina is highly recommended, don't just do the castle) , and cheerfully accommodated changes in itinerary for our guests. Even taxis for a 3 a.m.departure to Accra were arranged with no difficulty.

There have been some improvements since our last visit, including better Internet service, a shaded sitting area apart from the restaurant, a volleyball court, and heavy investment in a sea wall, which has really improved the beach. However slow restaurant service still needs work, as other reviewers have said, even with advanced ordering.

We and our party all had a marvellous time at this lovely facility. The owners have a very hands on approach to managing their investment (they were always on hand, in the office or walking around insepcting one thing or the other) and it pays off. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CitySampler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Close to Elmina and Cape Coast, Elmina Bay Resort is an excellent place to stay to relax and enjoy the wonderful environment. Great hospitality and atmosphere for people who appreciate a down to earth but comfortable way of living and travelling!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elmina
0.5 mi away
Coconut Grove Beach Resort
7.6 mi away
Hotel Loreto
Hotel Loreto
#2 of 9 in Cape Coast
33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coconut Grove Bridge House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Takoradi Select
Protea Hotel by Marriott Takorad...
#2 of 14 in Sekondi-Takoradi
59 reviews
13.0 mi away
Anomabo Beach Resort
Anomabo Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Anomabo
84 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ko-Sa Beach Resort
Ko-Sa Beach Resort
#1 of 11 in Cape Coast
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmina Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmina Bay Resort

Property: Elmina Bay Resort
Address: Mbofra Akyinim | PO Box EL 325, Elmina, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Central Region > Elmina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Elmina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elmina Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ocean front hotel with high quality finishes, located in a beautiful setting, but only 10 minutes from historic Elmina Town, and 20 minutes from Cape Coast. All rooms have en-suite showers, TV, wi-fi internet, fridge, dressing area and sea facing balconies. A large and beautiful pool, conference room and gardens provide a serene setting for your getaway, meeting or leisure break.Enjoy balmy ocean breezes, beach side dining, with meals beautifully prepared by our kitchen. Come and enjoy service to make you smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Elmina Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmina Bay Hotel Elmina
Elmina Bay Resort Ghana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing