We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience with the crocodiles the highlight”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape Coast
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Han's Cottage Botel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Cape Coast
Reviewed January 26, 2013

It is quite difficult to rate this place fairly as standards are so different to what you are used. We went there as a group of eight and overall we had a great time when we stayed at the hotel. My wife and I stayed in one of the A/C rooms but it was relatively cool so could have done without. The rooms are very basic by European standards but it was clean and the staff was in general quite friendly. We also ate in the restaurant, food was OK but service was very slow, we waited at least an hour for our food even though we were pretty much the only customers. We got taxi arranged to go to Kakum national forest and the monkey sanctuary next day, as we were waiting to depart, a fight almost broke out between the taxi drivers as to who was going to take us.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
There are newer reviews for Han's Cottage Botel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 102 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

I want to warn EVERYONE to stay away from this place. The owners of the hotel offer the opportunity to touch 'trained' African Crocodiles. I took advantage of this opportunity and was bit in the face & clawed in the back of the head, I was very lucky to walk away with my life. Since then they have done NOTHING to prevent this from happening again. I am no longer living in Ghana, but hope to reach those of you that are currently residing there or planning on visiting.

Please stay away from this place and, if you have children, do not allow them any where near the crocodiles.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AmandaGhana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Our room was newly refurbished and had the best beds and linen we encountered during three weeks in Ghana. Good shower and bathroom too.
The restaurant had the ordinary food but is very special in that it is built on a pond full of crocodiles! Interesting at first to see them so close. Weird, though, that you can touch one of them for 2 cedis ... Also a wonderful birdlife around the pond, so bring a binoculars.
We stayed 3 nights at Hans cottage in january 2013. It was at least one night too much for us, since there was not much to do around.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvaJac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed one night at the dorm which was clean, spacious, fanned and with an alright bathroom. And at less than 10 USD it's affordable given the following amenities:
There is a nice pool (right outside the dorm...), free WiFi (internet cafe has to be paid for), a restaurant / bar and a large pond with crocodiles. The beer is cold!

Room Tip: I liked the dorm
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I stayed at Han's Cottage will a group of 8 people from the US in May 2012. We loved the birds and the setting, but the water in the shower smelled like sulfur. I am surprised that no one else has mentioned this. Some in my group said that they felt dirtier after showering than before. In my room, you received a small electrical shock when you touched the handles in the shower. Several of the rooms had ants. It is too bad that this place can't fix these issues, because the setting is fabulous. When we were there, small golden birds wove nests that hung from the trees. We enjoyed the food, so stopping for lunch on your way back from Kakum is highly recommended. If you need to pay by credit card, the exchange rate is very low.

Room Tip: Check-out the chalets. They looked fabulous.
Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
Thank hepatica_43402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

wanted to be there only< one day, we stayed there 3!!! nice area... wonderfull hansen ( the owner) ... want to come back there one time, nothing bad to say against that botel.
Dear Hansen... best wishes to ur cute son and ur wonderfull daughter.
Heike from Germany
March 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Our stay at Hans Cottage was pleasant. We got help with booking the room through Hotel Hansonic in Accra and the personnel at the Cottage was very helpful during our stay. The restaurant provided good food in an interesting setup in the middle of a Crocodile pool. Local people recommended good care with food not cooked or grilled since the water supply at the Cottage was probably not working perfectly. We did not expect any problems and the food was overall pretty good.

The location was good near from Cape Coast and the taxi one way cost around 7-8 Cedis. There is taxi chauffeurs hanging on the entrance waiting for the hotel guests, but it might be a better bargain to walk a bit further to hail a Tro-Tro or negotiate a taxi off the street. If you are going to the Kakum National Park, the taxi chauffeurs usually offers to wait during your stay, but the price might get pretty high. We took a taxi there and a Tro-Tro back, which worked fine and was affordable. There is also the Monkey Sanctuary on the way to Kakum, which is a great place to visit. A friendly Dutch couple who welcomes visitors lives at the sanctuary.

Overall this place worked pretty well with good local standards on rooms, internet etc. There was also a swimming pool but it seemed pretty occupied on days. This place had a good value for money not being the most expensive and luxorious, but worked as an okay overnight stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lasse L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Coast
2.1 mi away
Hotel Loreto
Hotel Loreto
#2 of 9 in Cape Coast
34 reviews
10.9 mi away
Brenu Beach Lodge
Brenu Beach Lodge
#1 of 9 in Cape Coast
99 reviews
8.2 mi away
Coconut Grove Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Capital Hill Hotel
Capital Hill Hotel
#8 of 9 in Cape Coast
9 reviews
7.0 mi away
Oasis Beach Resort
Oasis Beach Resort
#3 of 9 in Cape Coast
122 reviews
5.9 mi away
Rainforest Lodge
Rainforest Lodge
#2 of 11 in Cape Coast
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Han's Cottage Botel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Han's Cottage Botel

Address: P.O. Box 1240, Cape Coast, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Central Region > Cape Coast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Cape Coast
Hotel Class:2 star — Han's Cottage Botel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Han`s Cottage Botel Hotel Cape Coast
Han's Cottage Botel Ghana/Cape Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing