We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hans Cottage in September 2011”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape Coast
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Han's Cottage Botel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Cape Coast
Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Hans Cottage in September 2011”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Our stay at Hans Cottage was pleasant. We got help with booking the room through Hotel Hansonic in Accra and the personnel at the Cottage was very helpful during our stay. The restaurant provided good food in an interesting setup in the middle of a Crocodile pool. Local people recommended good care with food not cooked or grilled since the water supply at the Cottage was probably not working perfectly. We did not expect any problems and the food was overall pretty good.

The location was good near from Cape Coast and the taxi one way cost around 7-8 Cedis. There is taxi chauffeurs hanging on the entrance waiting for the hotel guests, but it might be a better bargain to walk a bit further to hail a Tro-Tro or negotiate a taxi off the street. If you are going to the Kakum National Park, the taxi chauffeurs usually offers to wait during your stay, but the price might get pretty high. We took a taxi there and a Tro-Tro back, which worked fine and was affordable. There is also the Monkey Sanctuary on the way to Kakum, which is a great place to visit. A friendly Dutch couple who welcomes visitors lives at the sanctuary.

Overall this place worked pretty well with good local standards on rooms, internet etc. There was also a swimming pool but it seemed pretty occupied on days. This place had a good value for money not being the most expensive and luxorious, but worked as an okay overnight stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lasse L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    30
    37
    11
    13
See reviews for
18
22
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

The hotelbuildings are several not so pretty big blocks and need some shine up. So does the garden area. But we enjoied to take a walk on the marked off walking paths around on the rather large hotelarea. There was an area with rabbits and some bassins with fish breed for use in the restaurant.The room was basic but clean. The pool also looked nice and clean. The restaurant was nice we could sit outside an watch the thousands of weaver birds building their nests. We could watch, and even touch, the crokodiles of which we saw three laying on the ground . (I guess they had had a large meal before the guests were allowed to touch them). The staff was kind and we were very satisfied with the place.

Petersen, Denmark

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marianne59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Unique spot, with it's own African charm, peaceful. Room clean and tidy and all basic necessities are well met. Excellent conference room. Good food. Lovely pool to cool down in. Internet facilities. Staff are friendly and helpful. Loved it! Recommend it 100%. They need your support!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SilviaKirkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

I was embarassed to read some of the reviews re Hans Botel. People should not go to a rapidly developing country if they expect all the comforts of home. I found my visit there a once in a lifetime experience. I will remember it forever.

Room Tip: remember you are in Africa, not the Bahamas. You want luxury, go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank winona h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Greater Accra, Ghana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We visited hotel and we have only one good thing to say. The room was clean. To start off the hot was not flowing and we had to get some 'electrician' to come and spend almost 30 minutes fixing it.
Then we had to endure extremely loud unpleasant music from the pool side till 6pm. Dinner was nothing interesting.
Oh, breakfast, breakfast was the worst, dry bread and butter served in someones wedding souvenir cups,some of which were cracked, but it did not end there , there was no option to have a chocolate drink for breakfast and no juice as well.
If you going there because of crocodiles, sorry we have to burst your bubble, there are almost no crocodiles there. just one 'baby' crocodile and one medium sized one.

It is not worth your time or your money. Our advice as fellow holiday makers ' DO NOT GO THERE!!!!'

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeRuby_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2011

there is this saying the best way to experience life is to see for you self, i stayed in Hans cottage for a week and it was truly a place you should stay when you are in cape coast. affordable clean room, great environment and really friendly staff. there were little problems ,but it was still wealth being there, it truly a place to be.

see and feel for your self.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daniel w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ge
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2011

We stayed there one night and I would certainly not recommend it..The staff is very poor and very unfriendly. The room was clean and that's about the only positive comment I can make. Go there to see the crocodiles then leave!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kar035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cape Coast hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Coast
2.1 mi away
Hotel Loreto
Hotel Loreto
#2 of 9 in Cape Coast
32 reviews
10.9 mi away
Brenu Beach Lodge
Brenu Beach Lodge
#1 of 9 in Cape Coast
96 reviews
8.2 mi away
Coconut Grove Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Capital Hill Hotel
Capital Hill Hotel
#7 of 9 in Cape Coast
9 reviews
7.0 mi away
Oasis Beach Resort
Oasis Beach Resort
#3 of 9 in Cape Coast
118 reviews
5.9 mi away
Rainforest Lodge
Rainforest Lodge
#2 of 10 in Cape Coast
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Han's Cottage Botel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Han's Cottage Botel

Property: Han's Cottage Botel
Address: P.O. Box 1240, Cape Coast, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Central Region > Cape Coast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Cape Coast
Hotel Class:2 star — Han's Cottage Botel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Han`s Cottage Botel Hotel Cape Coast
Han's Cottage Botel Ghana/Cape Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing