We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, restful stay at the Biriwa”
Review of Biriwa Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Biriwa Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 25 Cape Coast B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I recently stayed at the Biriwa Beach Hotel for 5 nights while visiting Cape Coast for work. It was such a relaxing place to stay... Beautiful pool overlooking the ocean, large and very clean rooms, and a lovely little area to sit outside your room, under the shade of some lovely trees.

The hotel arranged for a driver (Kofi) to meet me at Accra airport when I arrived and take me back again at the end of my stay. My flight was delayed on the way there, so I didn't end up getting out of the airport until 23h00 or so... but the driver was right there waiting for me, and got me safe and sound to the hotel. Much appreciated!

The restaurant is also good - I stuck with the basics, but they were all very tasty and the servings were plentiful. It does take some time to be served, but service was certainly no more slow than it was at other restaurants I ate at in Cape Coast. The restaurant staff are very nice and friendly.

The only con I would say are that there were some students from a local school that came and sat by the pool every day, listened to their music loudly, and were quite obnoxious. It is difficult for a hotel to control this, but I felt like they should have said something since the kids were not hotel guests (they would just order drinks from the restaurant).

Will definitely stay at Biriwa on my next trip to Ghana!

Room Tip: I had room 107 for $60 per night - it was listed as one of the rooms that didn't have a view of...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jb9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
There are newer reviews for Biriwa Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 60 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

A pearl on the Ghanian west coast, fantastic for calm days and recreation. We had a fantastic week there, really enjoing the place.

The staff is like night and day. Some very good, some useless and in sad mood all the time. This should be sorted out at such a proud place with long traditions! I wish good luck to Claudia, the owner - she is excellent!

The resort needs some renovation within some years, and hopefully this will be done.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andersen6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed 2 nights at Biriwa Beach in December, 2012. The hotel is absolutely beautiful with manicured gardens, lovely rooms and a stunning pool overlooking the beach on two sides. The accommodation is comfortable, clean and well cared-for and the staff is friendly and helpful. The restaurant is lovely and everything we ordered exceeded expectations.

Thank you, Claudia!

Room Tip: 101 has beach views on 3 sides, but they're all lovely!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ams_in_df
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The hotel is located on a hilltop with beautiful views over the sea and surrounding vegetation. The place is well maintained and the terraces next to the room are shed by big trees and are excellent for reading a book and relaxing. There is a new big, round pool which was clean and cool.
The room we were offered had windows on only one side and was rather dark. Inside it looked a little bit dated, but everything was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The shower had high water pressure!
A good place to go to the beach is the close by Anomabo beach hotel. You will need to pay for the use of their services, but the sea is very calm and shallow and it is excellent for swimming and body boarding.

Room Tip: ask for rooms 105 or 106, these have windows on 2 or 3 sides. 103 and 104 have windows one side only...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sander Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

My wife and I with her brother stayed for four nights in late November. The hotel situation is delightful with great views of the beach and ocean in a very peaceful setting. If you want the best room ask for 101 with views on three sides. The accommodation was very good with excellent air conditioning and a good shower. Swimming in the pool early morning and in the evening was delightful.
The food was good though it did take some time to arrive. The owner was very friendly but we did think that at times the boundary between family and staff was a little blurred.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 101
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Broadmeadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We visited for a week in October 2012 and enjoyed a very relaxing and wonderful holiday. The hotel occupies a beautiful part of the world with stunning views of the unspoilt beach and ocean which is just a few minutes walk from the hotel. As soon as we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by the owner, Claudia, and some of her staff who continued to really look after us throughout the week - nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in room 101 with all the mod cons you would expect and with views to the beach and ocean that were simply stunning. We also spent many relaxing hours in the hotel pool whilst spending most nights either sitting in the hotel restaurant and bar (the ocean terrace) enjoying the food and drinks or walking along the beach and making the most of the beautiful and very peaceful surroundings. This was one of the best holidays we have been on and we will definately be returning!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rspone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

As a culmination to our two week holiday in Ghana, my friends and I had booked 4 nights at the Biriwa. Well, congratulations Claudia, you must feel so proud of your hotel and its staff. As we had experienced several hotels in Ghana during our holiday, we were ready to accept that standards were not as expected at home. The Biriwa was brilliant! Spacious, spotlessly clean rooms and magnificent food. The location of the hotel is idyllic and it is reasonably priced. Should I ever have the chance to visit Cape Coast in the future, this is the only place I would stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MEPWestLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Coast
15.7 mi away
Coconut Grove Beach Resort
19.2 mi away
Brenu Beach Lodge
Brenu Beach Lodge
#1 of 9 in Cape Coast
99 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel Loreto
Hotel Loreto
#2 of 9 in Cape Coast
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Capital Hill Hotel
Capital Hill Hotel
#8 of 9 in Cape Coast
9 reviews
16.2 mi away
Elmina Bay Resort
Elmina Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Elmina
242 reviews
7.3 mi away
Anomabo Beach Resort
Anomabo Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Anomabo
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Biriwa Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biriwa Beach Hotel

Address: Wineba/Cape Coast Road, Cape Coast, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Central Region > Cape Coast
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Coast
Price Range: $111 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Biriwa Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Biriwa Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biriwa Beach Hotel Ghana/Cape Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing