We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced and dirty” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oasis Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oasis Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Cape Coast
Level Contributor
79 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Overpriced and dirty”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We got a room here and immediately regretted it. Stay at the Mighty Victory instead. You can't beat the location of the Oasis, but it's dirty, there are incredible numbers of bugs in the toilets, and it feels like a 24/7 frat party.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FuriousToast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    39
    31
    13
    5
See reviews for
8
14
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights - a lively bar in hotel was great and our room was away from this so the party could continue without disturbing us. The beach huts could be easily accessed from the beach and as a trio of girls we felt more vulnerable here than anywhere else we had visited in Ghana. But the welcome was warm, the staff helpful and the rooms were large and cool. Basic as you would expect - and bathroom area would hVe benefited from a new lick of paint as was looking tired. Would still consider if going back backpacking in Ghana.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mademoiselle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed in the resort for our last few days in Ghana. I was really impressed with the dorms, think we paid a few pounds a night and they were great value. Plenty of toilets which are kept clean, as are the showers. The bar service was very good, the food was slow to come out but as we learnt, that is just the way in Ghana! They had great entertainment on one of the nights we were there and they do a bonfire on the beach some nights too which is great. The staff are very friendly and the locals that hang around the area are great fun too.
Felt very safe and secure on the resort, they have several of guard dogs which are kept on a lead during the day but then roam around at night, they are very friendly dogs and they sometimes even escort you to the toilet at night!
Would definitely recommend staying here, couldn't fault the place and would love to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I spent a long time at this bar - it was a lovely place to relax after a hard day of volunteering on the local newspaper and we had some great times here. But, local thieves know this place as a tourist hangout and I got mugged while walking home. So, if you do go for a drink here kick back and relax but insist on taking a taxi home. Also, do not swim in the sea while drunk I have heard of a few deaths that way and had to rescue someone from the waves myself.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha T
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We travelled from Accra as a group and arrived tired Friday evening to loud music and something resembling a meat market but with tourists and locals! (sorry but its true) Everyone was less than impressed at the noise and was anxious what the accomodation would be like. Pleasently suprised the dorm we had booked out was clean, secure and each bed had clean sheets and their own mosquito net - so points for the dorm. There were lockers in our room but only 1 had a key.

The showers and toilets were outside and often had no toilet paper or hot water. The security guard hang around the shower block making the ladies uncomfortable. There was no where quiet to eat out dinner so we had to return back out to the noisy bar, order and wait there. The waiters were lovely and the food speed was average. The seafood tasted lovely and was priced ok. The breakfasts were shocking. Saturday night there is live entertainment which is great to see. There must be better options around but for groups the dorm is great just go explore other food options.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gypsy_traveller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

I was a volunteer and this hotel gives you a good break from Ghanaian culture if you need it. Nice spot by the beach. Relaxing as long as you keep away from the beach boys. In extremely close proximity to everything. Baobabs is up the road and a good place to get brekky. Beware of the shots. Don't go out onto the beach at night - friends got mugged. OTherwise good vibe.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

The accommodation at Oasis was not bad and there were lockers in the rooms to keep your things, which was quite nice. The man who owns the hotel is quite rude and would prefer to look at his laptop than speak to you, but the rest of the staff are great. However, there were a number of dogs chained up, on rusty leads, throughout the resort (including one puppy). We stayed there three nights and we did not see one of the dogs off its chain once! In the dorm we stayed in there was a dog that howled all night outside (which is no surprise as it was out in the rain)!! Not only did we not get any sleep, it was also quite distressing. For this reason I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cape Coast hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Coast
1.7 mi away
Brenu Beach Lodge
Brenu Beach Lodge
#1 of 8 in Cape Coast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Loreto
Hotel Loreto
#2 of 8 in Cape Coast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
9.0 mi away
Coconut Grove Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Coconut Grove Bridge House
9.5 mi away
Elmina Bay Resort
Elmina Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Elmina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
7.0 mi away
Biriwa Beach Hotel
Biriwa Beach Hotel
#6 of 23 in Cape Coast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oasis Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Beach Resort

Property: Oasis Beach Resort
Address: Victoria Park, Cape Coast, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Central Region > Cape Coast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Cape Coast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Oasis Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Beach Hotel Cape Coast
Oasis Beach Resort Ghana/Cape Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing