We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best u can get in Cape Coast”
Review of Oasis Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oasis Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Cape Coast
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Probably the best u can get in Cape Coast”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

I stayed there for 4 nights in Feb. 2012.

First about the complaints other travelers had, mostly concerning the service: it's true, the service is mediocre. BUT: this applies to whole Ghana. Later, e.g., I stayed at a 5* hotel in Accra for a conference - and it was the same. So in my opinion, the service in tourism is just totally underdeveloped in Ghana, and Oasis just fits in.
Prices for food: true, it could be cheaper. But you don't have to eat there, there are some good options outside.
Finally cleanliness: could be better, ok, but it's really ok. I didn't have any problems.
About the noise and parties: there is some party on some weekdays, but you can escape to some more quieter places on the premises so don't worry.

My impression:
+
great location, good food (apart from the prices), cheap dorms, mosquito nets on each bed, beds ok, mostly clean toilets, urinals separately

-
bad service, food prices, music directly at hte bar sometimes too loud, no real place to wash your laundry

Compared to other places in Cape Coast (there are not too many!): definitely the best option

Room Tip: choose an upper bunk in the dorms to get some air from the ventilator
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matraquilho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    43
    33
    14
    6
See reviews for
10
17
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Holte
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

I travelled to Cape Coast in November and stayed at the Oasis Resort with friends. We stayed in the dorm which was about 10 cedi for a night, and not at all bad, if you don't require anything extravagant. The dorm is a hut with a ceiling fan and bunkbeds which are in decent condition. They do have mosquito nets though, which was nice!
It's located right on the beach which is amazing to wake up to. I recommend that you wake up around 5.30 one morning and watch the Ghanaians pull in their fishing nets while singing! It's a fun experience.
A lot of rastafarians are "locals" at the Oasis and thus in the weekends there is lots of music at night and the Friday we were there saw a great party. The beach IS full of sand flies though, so make sure to bring a towel, and beware of the water which can be very rough.
A downside to The Oasis is that the food is terribly overpriced and quite bad. So if you do stay there you'll be better off walking 5 minutes to the nearest chop bar and get a local dish for 2-4 cedis instead.
On the whole I would recommend the Oasis, as it does have a nice atmosphere to it and the accomodation is pretty good. And there are warm showers which, when having been in Ghana for a while, is a luxury in itself!

Room Tip: Go for the dorms: they are cheap and nice too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

As relevant background, we are travelling the West coast of Africa. We have stayed in 100 places in 9 countries over the past 4 months. I hope that qualifies us to provide an opinion on the Oasis Guest House (my first review of anything, ever).

And I was encouraged to take this step out of sheer frustration. This place is located on prime real estate: beach front with waves crashing onto its doormat, and in the heart of a chilled out traveller town. Yet it fails. Why? The answer seems obvious - the management. However, these clowns earn special mention.

First, there is the look of blank surprise when you arrive and ask for a room. What, you want me to stop reading my magazine and help you? Come on.

Second, the staff are entirely untrained. Not their fault, but not great when you are waiting for your drinks and have been forgotten about.

Thirdly, and lastly, the so called manager uses the bar as his own private club, at which he is most definitely the first priority. Not cool in any way.

This place had a reputation as a fun party place, but I saw no evidence of this. It is a tired has-been and, if I were you, I just would not get my hopes up.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bearbones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cape Coast hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2010

Our stay at Oasis was one of the worst we experienced in Ghana. Immediatley upon arrival the staff were extremely rude and unhelpful (we probably should have looked elsewhere at that point, but we really liked the location). The women who works reception/check-in was especially rude as was one of the bartenders. The restaurant serving staff were very pleasant though. The rooms in this place are terrible and dirty. We had a self contained hut right by the beach, but the bed and the bathroom were both pretty sketchy. The grounds around the rooms are also dirty and unkept and completely uninviting. The bar/restuarent offers a great view of the ocean and Cape Coast Castle, but overall the place has a really seedy vibe and we spent as little time there as possible. I absolutely do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Azeret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2010

A few minutes walk away from cape coast castle. We booked the night before and when we arrived there was a bit of confusion as to whether or not we had booked. The whole resort has a very laid back feel to it! Eventually got our rooms sorted. It is as it says, a beach resort so you are right on the beach front which is pretty and nice to sit and relax by the sea. There is a bar and a restaurant and quite loud music in the evening! The food was good although the service was quite slow. The menu had sooo many different things on from pizza and pasta to jollof rice but evyerthing we ordered was available! We stayed in an ensuite hut which was OK however the mattress didn't smell very fresh! It was OK for one night. Its got an average rating because of the service but the location and the food were good.
PS. Watch out for a taxi driver called John who may try and do deals with you for transport to Cape coast - don't let him rip you off!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aa2wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Coast
12.5 mi away
Brenu Beach Lodge
Brenu Beach Lodge
#1 of 9 in Cape Coast
96 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Loreto
Hotel Loreto
#2 of 9 in Cape Coast
32 reviews
9.0 mi away
Coconut Grove Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Capital Hill Hotel
Capital Hill Hotel
#7 of 9 in Cape Coast
9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coconut Grove Bridge House
13.9 mi away
Ko-Sa Beach Resort
Ko-Sa Beach Resort
#1 of 10 in Cape Coast
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oasis Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Beach Resort

Property: Oasis Beach Resort
Address: Victoria Park, Cape Coast, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Central Region > Cape Coast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Cape Coast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Oasis Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Beach Hotel Cape Coast
Oasis Beach Resort Ghana/Cape Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing