We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beutiful hotel, good location”
Review of Hotel Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Ohrid
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Me and my husband stayed here for few nights and we really enjoyed our stay.
Staff are very helpful,nice and friendly, I enjoyed the food so much ( reminded me of the nice food i grew up with in Macedonia ) gomleze, very nice cheese, fresh salads, eurokrem,fresh fruits just perfect!
We had a nice view from our room and my husband enjoyed having SKOPSKO on the balcony :)
The rooms are clean, beds very comfortable and is very close to the beach ( just across the road).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 19islandcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 147 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

Ohrid is a lovely little lakeside town - but the Belvedere is too far out of town to enjoy it (,4+km), and perhaps 1/2 mile walk from the lake itself.
On the plus side, ther is a very large bar area decorated with a variety of antiques, and a decent restaurant (a small buffet b-fast is incl, tho we found the coffee awfully weak.
Rooms are small, with nice balconies, about 1/2 facing the lake, the others a pine forest. Twin beds pushed together to form a king, no chairs, only a smll stool, ex on balcony which has 2 chairs - free wifi a plus. TV (with CNN)and small mini bar round out the amenities. The bathroom has shower with good pressure, but stall leaked badly and had a great deal of mold around edges. No pool or fitness center. Nothing nearby - neither shopping are3a nor restaurants (ex that in hotel). 2 elevators that seemed adequate and with only 4 floors we only walked down once when they got crowded. - but watch out if they do not stop level with floor to avoid tripping. A bit noisy from iinside hotel (ie, walls thin - halls and adjacent room noise heard), but not from outside.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

As with many of the other reviewers we stayed at this hotel as part of an Insight tour and the stay was very disappointing and fortunately was for only 1 night.

The hotel is very old and dated. The lobby is interesting and full of different random bits and pieces of furniture. The locations is unfortunate as although it is adjacent to the lake it is a fair distance to the main town and thus any attractions/restaurants.

We had both dinner and breakfast while we stayed here. The food offerings for dinner were ok (fish for main was tasty) however the service horrible. They would clear entree/main plates before you even finished eating. My husband was putting food in his mouth as the cleared the plate from underneath him. Breakfast can only be described as a shenanigans. The buffet is this tiny set out on a few tables and it is a mad scramble to try to get any food before it is gone. The breakfast was not very tasty at all.

The rooms were very old and the bed uncomfortable. They had no blackout curtains so they were very bright at night. There was no view to speak of despite being on the 'lake' side of the hotel. The air conditioning unit was so loud in this hotel I ended up giving up and turning it off to try to get some sleep. The rooms are poorly sound proofed and you can hear every noise from the next room/outside.

I would advise looking elsewhere for another hotel although I do wonder how much there is on offer in this small town.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LittleMissShop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is unfortunately the hotel chosen by Insight Tours. Shame on Insight tours for using this hotel. The place is a 3rd class location.
The bathroom was very cramped, the wash basin leaked on to the floor, another was a problem with the drainage system for the shower. There were cracks in the walls indicating a structural problem and the mattress was old and warn out. The room I was given had a very slight view of the lake. My room # 216.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank canuck-x-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was probably the worst hotel we stayed in on an Insight tour in May 2013. The room was dreary and had no view at all apart from a few straggly pine trees. The dinner was a buffet and was totally unremarkable, cold food does nothing for me. The hotel was too far from anything so we were virtually stuck there for the night. Breakfast was just ok nothing to get upset about but nothing to rave about either. All in all not up to Insights normal standard and if I was travelling through here again I would be looking for somewhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank katenbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Hotel Belvedere is about 10 minutes drive from the lake in Ohrid, said to be the 2nd oldest lake in the world. There are probably not many nice hotel options if you want to stay within walking distance to the lake. Belvedere is a vacation hotel catering to tour groups. At the back of the hotel appears to be some forested area with lots of trees. There are lots and lots of antique objects stuffed along the hotel lobby. This means this hotel is not new, but it is relatively well maintained except for some technical glitches. Air conditioning in some rooms stop working at night, and shower control appears complicated with all kinds of options. TV reception is not good or the TVs are just old. Overall, there is a rustic feel to the hotel. One night should be alright. Hotel room keys come in chunky chains, and the receptionist insists you deposit them as you step out of the hotel, and no duplicates would be given.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilltriber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night as part of an Insight Vacations Tour in July 2013. This hotel is not located near the town of Ohrid or anything for that matter, so stock up on water, or anything else you might need before you arrive. This hotel uses real keys. Our room looked tired and dated and desperately needs updating. We had two twin beds pushed together with separate duvets. Both mattresses were springy and worn out. There was a baloney area with a couple of chairs where we had a tiny glimpse of Lake Ohrid. You can walk across the road to the lake in less than 2 minutes, but it is quite the hill to climb up when you return.The windows in our room were very thin and we heard the traffic from the road all night long as well as the conversations of other people who were out on their balconies - this was all with our windows closed! This hotel has two tiny slow elevators, so just take the stairs. There was supposed to be free wifi in the rooms, but we could only get it to work in the lobby or near the stairs. The bathroom was very small and there was only a shower, no tub. Also the shower nozzle would not stay up, so that made for an interesting shower. We had dinner and breakfast here compliments of our tour. Dinner was described as a "schnitzel" interesting interpretation of the word "schnitzel" because I was expecting a fried thin piece of meat, and what I got was just a piece of meat that seemed to be pressure cooked. Breakfast in the morning was interesting. We walked in and there were only a few people there, then we turned around and the place was packed, people were streaming in the front door of the hotel and having breakfast. I don't know where they all came from, but the buffet was chaotic to stay the least and there were not many food choices on the buffet.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lithlith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ohrid hotels
2.3 mi away
Villa St. Sofija
Villa St. Sofija
#1 of 38 in Ohrid
132 reviews
2.1 mi away
Royal View
Royal View
#6 of 38 in Ohrid
111 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Lakeside Hotel
Park Lakeside Hotel
#11 of 38 in Ohrid
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel City Palace
Hotel City Palace
#3 of 38 in Ohrid
61 reviews
2.3 mi away
Villa Germanoff
Villa Germanoff
#4 of 38 in Ohrid
81 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tino Sveti Stefan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere

Address: St. Stefan bb, Ohrid 6000, Republic of Macedonia
Location: Republic of Macedonia > Southwestern Region > Ohrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Ohrid
Price Range: $55 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belvedere 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Placed in the pine forest of St. Stefan settlement, 4 km from Ohrid and 100 m from the lake cost, Hotel Belvedere is a brand that offers wide range of services and comforts enjoying a splendid views on Ohrid lake.With its perfect balance between classical elegance and modern comforts, Hotel Belvedere offers 89 newly decorated rooms, two seminar halls, one modern hotel restaurant and two traditional restaurants in the center of the town Ohrid, piano lobby bar, antique shop, own parking.As soon as you arrive, you will immediately be immersed in a warm atmosphere and unique ambience. From the elegant lobby with classical instruments and antiques to the comfortable furnished rooms with breathtaking views, you will find a true beauty here.The effect of this combination between essential style and focus on details provoke on every guest a desire to return. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing