We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel, not worth 4 stars though”
Review of Hotel Metropol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Metropol
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Ohrid
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel had a very nice room with all the requirements, but when arrived we found nail clippings on the floor and ants (obviously wasn't properly cleaned before our arrival). The location is excellent, right next to a very nice half concrete half stone beach with clear water with little fish that were very fun to feed. Not a big choice in food, but what we did have was all good quality. You had an option of exchanging your money right at the reception, and the hotel is a 5min walk away from a bus stop that leads you to the city center in less than 15mins. If you come to Ohrid I suggest you go to a hotel as further from the center as possible because the water is way cleaner. The prices are also excellent, the food, bus, etc. where very cheap.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katarina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 103 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

I took a group of my students from Australia to Ohrid on a Mosaics tour and we stayed for 9 days at the hotel Metropol just outside from the township of Ohrid. It was one of the nicest experiences I have had in many years. The staff are so accomodating, generous and try their best to make your stay a most pleasurable experience. The food was great, so much so that since my return I have tried to replicate it. Ohrid is a place to be. Relax, unwind and enjoy. We all enjoyed our stay and I plan to return with my husnand next year. The rooms are clean and beds comfy, the views are beautiful. I loved the ambience of the whole experience. Thank you Hotel Metropol.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I could not believe that the room rate was 35 Euros. I had thought it was the breakfast fee but it was the room rate.

It is a 5 star resort but it is more like a 2 or 3 star resort.

The lake side rooms have excellent views to OHRID lake.

The breakfast is below the expectations but for these rates is more than enough.

The rooms have good size and the beds are fine but the best.


The location is out of the city center. It takes 10 minutes to drive to the city center.

If you want to be in the city then this is not the place. Otherwise it will be very boring for you.


Again overall I recommend this hotel in OHRID if you want to relax and recover from the stress.
If you want to have action then stay in OHRID directly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IANA940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The Hotel has very good position, near to the lake, with organized beach. The rooms are stylishly decorated; they have air conditioning and all necessary amenities. The best part about the apartment was the view. The panoramic windows looked out onto the lake, offering stunning vistas of royal blue water.

If you prefer to spend your holiday actively, there are volleyball and basketball playgrounds, table tennis, and a dancing bar for your entertainment.

The best time to visit Ohrid Lake is from May to October.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnkaisercalautit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

It can be nice three stars hotel. The problem is that this hotel has prices like 5 star hotel.
Food, rooms and cleanliness were average.
Only the view for the balcony was amazing, but I think that this view you can find in much more cheaper hotel.
I was at the conference in this hotel and I can say that the conference room (rooms) were OK. Service was poor. People from the reception were friendly, but employees at the bar and in the dinner room were very impolite and unfriendly.
I think that this hotel did not worth for the money.

p.s I was in the accommodated in the "most beautiful" building. There are two or three buildings for this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EliBV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

If a view is important to you, this is the place to stay. Our terrace overlooked Lake Ohrid and we enjoyed the serenity and beauty of the area. The staff was very nice and the breakfast was also good. The only problem is that it was far from town. We were on a tour so it was okay for us but you definitely need a car or will have to take a fairly long taxi ride especially since there are absolutely no restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank handhnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Ohrid is an ancient town settled in the south-west of the Republic of Macedonia, it is an iconic, biblical small city where the Christianity of this region was born and further expanded. It it a birth town of many priests, living 10 and more centuries ago, that were spreading literacy among people and were thus proclaimed to be saints. So it is an old town with an ancient architecture that is unique and very beautiful. About 7 km. from the center of the city there is the Hotel Metropol. It is huge, very well equipped Hotel that has plenty of rooms with a majestic view of the famous Ohrid lake, one of the most deepest lakes in the world with 300 meters dept. The hotel staff is particularly kind and the meals are various in more than enough quantity.The hotel balconies are more than beautifull and the hotel external walls are decorated with works of art showing the macedonian czar Samoil. I suggest anyone to go and spend some weeks there and bake in the Ohrid lake, especially in early and late summer (best at the end of august) and connect to the Ohrid sun and the Ohrid lake on a unique way.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SkopjeIna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ohrid hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#8 of 38 in Ohrid
148 reviews
3.8 mi away
Villa St. Sofija
Villa St. Sofija
#1 of 38 in Ohrid
133 reviews
2.3 mi away
Park Lakeside Hotel
Park Lakeside Hotel
#10 of 38 in Ohrid
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Granit
Hotel Granit
#15 of 38 in Ohrid
108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#14 of 38 in Ohrid
78 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tourist - Metropol Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropol

Address: Settlment Konjsko bb, Ohrid 6000, Republic of Macedonia (Formerly Metropol Lake Resort)
Location: Republic of Macedonia > Southwestern Region > Ohrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ohrid
#12 Luxury Hotel in Ohrid
Price Range: $76 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Metropol 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Metropol was opened in 1975. Last full renovation 2005, and partial renovations in 2014 and 2015. This 4 star hotel has 5 floors with: 110 rooms and 5 suites, plus 1 residential suite. Plus reception level (ground level) with lobby bar, restaurant for more that 600 seats (with terrace). It also has 8 conference rooms with different capacities from 40 to 400 seats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Metropol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropol Hotel Ohrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing