We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Lakeside Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Mal Sveti Kliment

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Mal Sveti Kliment
Ranked #1 of 67 Ohrid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane. Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Lakeside Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

This is a beautiful 8 room property near the shores of Lake Ohrid.
I booked the penthouse room (Rm. 8) mainly for the views of the lake from the wraparound windows in the lounge, and also large bedroom windows.
The lady on reception gave a warm welcome and showed me to my room. Maps of the town can be purchased at reception for 100 MKD/€1,50
A typical Balkan brekkie was delivered to the room, and there is a well stocked (and well priced) minibar. There is a small kitchenette if you prefer to cook and eat in, but why would you, when there is beautiful Macedonian cuisine to be had just minutes away.
Ohrid is a stunning town, although at it was low season when I went, many restaurants and bars are still closed for Winter. It is literally a 2 minute walk to the lakeside and I imagine in summer the place is packed.
All of the old churches etc are nearby, take comfortable shoes as there's a fair bit of walking around, and it's pretty hilly too, so access for wheelchairs could be tricky.
All in all, I had a brilliant time and would definitely recommend Ohrid and this hotel if you're visiting Macedonia.

Room Tip: Penthouse all the way. I got a good deal, but I expect the price rises in summer months
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edgey74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    40
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
58
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Tucked away from the hustle and bustle up a little side alley in the old part of Ohrid you come across this fantastic villa. My son and I stayed the weekend of 20th October 2012 for two nights on level 3, access to balcony with the outlook of the lake and port. Rooms well appointed, high decorative ceiling, comfortable beds,spotless bathroom and coming back very late the comfort of 18 degrees in the room considering outside was 8 degrees.
Well worth staying.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mile J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed for two nights in this excepional city and wonderful hotel which is located in the old part of town in very quiet alley, few meters away from the main street. Room are very clean and cosy. We were very worm welcomed by our host who provided us with tips & tricks about getting around Ohrid. Since the hotel is quite small they serve beakfas in the rooms. Getting to the hotel by car was an adventure since streets in the old town are really narrow. Parking is few hundred meters away from the hotel but is freeband guarded. All in all very pleasant stay and definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Getting to the old town by car is an advenutre
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladislav G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koln
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

The object is new and clean.My room was under the first floor,i feel like i stay in a garage,only windows so you can see people legs passing :) The upper rooms had balconies,its bad that there is no parking next to the vila,you have to walk 300meters to the square where you have to leave the car.The parking is payed from the object,but anyway i prefer to have the car close to me.its not recomended for people who have problem with the legs,because its uphill,no wheelchairs!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

This is a great find. The Villa Mal Sveti Kliment or Villa of St Clement the Lesser is a lovely guest house in the very picturesque old quarter of Ohrid. Although only about 60 euros a night, the rooms are very well appointed indeed, with plasma screen, very clean and modern bathrooms, air conditioning and free wifi. We have the most stunning view from our balcony across the rooftops to Lake Ohrid. Breakfast is served in the room by the very helpful and friendly staff. Although the hotel is in a pedestrianised area, they can arrange free parking nearby.

Ohrid is a lovely town with some splendid frescoed churches, great restaurants and beautifully landscaped gardens around the Lake promenade. It's well worth a few days stay.

Room Tip: Worth asking for a higher up room (we were on the third floor) with a view over the Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LosIntrepidos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Villa Mal Sveti Kliment in Ohrid. This gorgeous guesthouse is conveniently located in the center of the old town, a few minutes walk away from the lake shore and many restaurants, in a very quiet and charming street. The rooms are large and very well furnished (including safe, minibar, DVD-player and WiFi). The staff speaks english, is very friendly and helpful, and they serve a copious breakfast in your room in the morning. Free parking spaces are available in a nearby location (about 10 minutes walk). This is the best accommodation we found in Macedonia, it gives extremely good value for money and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kwaku78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergby
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

This little hotel not only offers surprisingly nice and lovely rooms, but also astonishing views of Lake Ohrid. In the room your attention is drawn to the woodcarvings and the panel which really is beautiful decoration. All this makes your stay even more pleasant. The staff is nice and helpful. Included in the price is breakfast which is served in the room by ( in our case) a lovely girl, all making the morning very good. The villa is perfectly situated in the middle of the old town making it a good startingpoint for exploring this breathtaking town with narrow streets and old stone houses. Enjoy Ohrid! We did.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank sob_berggren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ohrid hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa St. Sofija
Villa St. Sofija
#1 of 37 in Ohrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Germanoff
Villa Germanoff
#5 of 37 in Ohrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal View
Royal View
#3 of 37 in Ohrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#6 of 37 in Ohrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Ohrid
Villa Ohrid
#4 of 160 in Ohrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
4.7 mi away
Robinson Sunset House
Robinson Sunset House
#2 of 67 in Ohrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Mal Sveti Kliment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mal Sveti Kliment

Property: Villa Mal Sveti Kliment
Address: Metodi Patcev 10, Ohrid 6000, Republic of Macedonia
Location: Republic of Macedonia > Southwestern Region > Ohrid
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Ohrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Mal Sveti Kliment 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive 4 star Villa, located near the entrance of the old city of Ohrid called Lower Gate, in a quiet alley away from the traffic but just a 50 to 100 steps from the lake and the most exclusive cafés and restaurants. Villa "St. Clement The Lesser" is built in the traditional style of Ohrid's famous architecture and has authentic furniture and hand made carvings. This villa got its name from a small church of extraordinary beauty, the Mal Sveti Kliment church, located right across. From this villa, the guests will have a rare opportunity to enjoy marvellous views of the lake, the quay and the harbour.It has seven rooms, four of them are luxurious rooms with slipping and seating area, 2+2 beds and a balcony with excellent view at the lake, port and the square. Two rooms 2+1 bed and one room with 2 beds.The villa is equipped with central heating with individual temperature regulating.All rooms have air conditioner, bathroom, fan, cable TV, DVD, mini-bar, safe deposit box, direct telephone line, security button.Breakfast , wireless internet and fitness bodybuilding with professional trainer in fitness club "Fit form" are free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Villa Mal Sveti Kliment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing