We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grebnos Stone-house Apartments
Ranked #3 of 74 Ohrid B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We arrived on a rainy day and were warmly greeted by Pavel and the housekeeper. The room was warm and cozy, although there was a chill outside. Our view of Lake Ohrid was to die for. Pops (Pavel) was so helpful with information, even a discount coupon to one the the nice restaurants in town. BTW, he is in the center of the Old Town; walk one way and get to historic churches and other sites and good restaurants, walk the other way for the same. He was always available to give advice or info. That really made a difference. He had arranged a ride for us all the way from Belgrade. He is also able to arrange rides to any place in Macedonia.

The view, the location, and Pop's personality made all the difference. Would love to go back and use Grebnos as a base for more sightseeing in Macedonia.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BARBARAChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 91 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

Yes, Grebnos is the kind of lodgings that makes you long for the Macedonian South once you are back home. T'ga za jug (= 'longing for the south') - both the title of a poem and the name of a Macedonian wine - is a phrase that perfectly fits the place and its landlord, as the unsurpassed view from the stony balcony over the lake and the old city is sure to become one of the most dazzling memories of your stay, and the landlord, a wine specialist who will go out of his way to make you discover and love his country, will most certainly make you want to come back before long. Needless to say my partner and I had a really great stay in Ohrid last summer at Pavel's snug, perfectly-situated and well-equipped lodgings. Outspoken Pavel and his son Stefan proved to be very helpful, friendly and yet unobtrusive hosts who never failed to meet whichever requests we might make in terms of tourist information, appliances or food tips. The day trip to Pavel's private beach is a must-live experience which will leave you with the feeling that paradise may exist after all... On a more down-to-earth level, Grebnos' private car park is a real asset for motorized guests as the cobble-stoned, narrow, sloping streets of the old town surrounding the lodgings are not the most convenient type for parking. The shared kitchen is also unquestionably handy for those who want to try their cooking talents on the incredibly cheap, healthy, tasty produces of Ohrid's nearby huge and colourful market. An unforgettable stay for people in search for more than just the usual impersonal type of accommodation and hosting.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Em J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We visited in November: 3 adults and 2 children (4 and 6). We were very lucky with the weather which made our stay even more enjoyable.

Grebnos is located in the heart of the old town in narrow cobbled hilly streets and was therefore diffcult to find. At the time of booking the owner offered to meet us (we drove) which made arrival stress free. They have easy-access parking nearby.

We were welcomed into rooms 1 and 2. As the name suggests, Grebnos is an old stone building full of character and charm. The panoramic view of the lake from the balcony is the showstopper. It's a good-sized balcony with space for relaxing and has a shared bbq. We spent many hours relaxing and enjoying the view. We had free use of the shared kitchen and each room had a fridge and en-suite bathroom.

The owner, Pavel, was welcoming and friendly but respected our privacy giving us tips on walking trails and restaurants. The location is excellent - you are in the old town and a few minutes walk from the harbour, restaurants shops and sights.

Highly recommended for a great value authentic stay in old town Ohrid with fabulous views of the lake.

Room Tip: Room 1 has the balcony with direct access to the BBQ.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FigRolls90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Our stay in Grebnos House was a truly refreshing acquaintance compared with a typical hotel. The landlord, Pavel, is extremely helpful and friendly - a real character with a lot of laughter and a loud voice :) We were even collected from Ohrid airport by Pavel’s son. Our room was very clean and comfy with twin beds, refrigerator and own shower room/toilet. Our terrace was BIG with climbing plants, lemon tree, dwarf conifers, gorgeous sun flowers etc and a view that is hard to beat: turquoise Lake Ohrid stretching out with boats floating here and there, the tiled roofs of houses and cobbled streets below and far in the distance the silhouette of mountains surrounding the lake. Sipping wine on sunbeds at sunset or having breakfast at the table on the terrace in the morning is unforgettable. We were there for 11 days from 17th August and the sun shone every day except on the day of our departure at 7 am. We prepared our breakfasts in the communal kitchen but ate otherwise outside, the prices are so reasonable there. Pavel was also very generous offering samples of delicious peppers or sweet pavlova when passing in the kitchen. Pavel took us to his private beach and we enjoyed a delicious meal of trout with aubergines and peppers, which was prepared there in front of our eyes. It was great swimming in the crystal clear lake and sitting in plastic chairs (in the lake!) with tiny fishes cleaning our legs. The hut and the whole milieu as well as food preparation was superbly primitive. Well worth it as we had a boat trip along the shore to a nearby mountain spring as well! We had many interesting conversations with Pavel in English. A very memorable holiday we certainly had in Grebnos House.
One big advantage of Grebnos House is its location right in the heart of the old town. The lively shore streets and harbour are very close and Grebnos is high enough to offer superb panoramic views over the town and the lake.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a superb terrace
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ViitasaariFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Having read such superlative reviews on Tripadvisor, it was hard not to be a little disappointed on arrival at Grebnos. At least at first. We started off in room 3, which was located near the front door and the kitchen, which made us very aware of all the comings and goings in the house. Also, the room was very hot and had no airco. It did, however, have that magnificent view people had been raving about. The beds were comfy and the room was very clean on arrival. As is normal in Macedonia, however, the room was never cleaned nor were towels changed during our stay. We really had to ask for them. Later we moved to room 1, which was a totally different story: the room is beautiful, a lot more private and has a terrace twice the size of the other rooms. So, if you're thinking of staying here, do try and get room 1! It's fabulous.

The apartments are located at the top of a rather steep and long incline, which can be quite challenging in the heat.

Our landlord Pavel, who speaks very good English as well as Dutch offered ourselves and our neighbours an excursion to his private beach, including a boat ride and a trout dinner. It was a wonderful day, but did cost 45 euros per person - the price wasn't entirely clear beforehand, so make sure to ask. Macedonia is a very cheap country for westerners in terms of food and taxis, but excursions can be quite pricey. Grebnos does have free wifi and a kitchen, in case you want to do your own cooking.

I did see a little scorpion once, but it seemed more scared of me than vice versa and scuttled off immediately.

All in all we very much enjoyed our stay, but at 49 euros a night we could have probably got a room with airco elsewhere. This place is really for people who want something more individual than your average hotel experience.

Room Tip: Room 1 is magical, so try and get that one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pidorka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I visited the beautiful Lake Ohrid on my honeymoon with my new wife. We had heard many wonderful things about the area and were very excited for our visit. Unfortunately, after numerous correspondences with the owner via email to setup the perfect stay, we arrived to find that the accommodations were completely different than advertised and we were forced to roam the streets of Ohrid to find new accommodations at the peak of the tourist season. If a private bathroom or double bed are at all important to you, I highly recommend avoiding this place. Despite significant pre-planning and conversations with the owner, we arrived to find a room with two separate single beds and no bathroom (only available bathroom was down two halls and around a corner, past the communal kitchen/bar and computer/internet room). Although the owner, Pavel, was very responsive via email during our trip planning, when we showed up at 5 o’clock in the afternoon, he was drinking alcohol and was completely unapologetic about our room even after I showed him a print out of our email correspondence with his promise that we would have a double bed and a private bathroom. When I told him that we could not stay at Grebnos and would have to find new accommodations, he did not seem surprised (though demanded that I pay him anyway). I am confident that I am not the first person to be disappointed with Grebnos despite the stellar reviews on Trip Advisor. Had I read of such an issue with Grebnos on Trip Advisor, I never would have booked a reservation – There are many great places to stay in the Old Town. I thought I should submit a review in case others are planning a special trip and value having a private bathroom or double bed.

Despite our bad experience, I do want to give a balanced review of Grebnos in case other travelers have different priorities. In looking for the ideal place to stay for our honeymoon, I was looking for 4 things:
1) Central location – CHECK – Grebnos is located in the heart of the old town (the Old town is not very big so it is easy to walk everywhere)
2) Wonderful views of the lake – CHECK – The views from the decks outside of each room have amazing views of the lake – just as advertised
3) Private Bathroom – Although we had specifically requested a private bathroom, we were given a room with no attached bathroom and access to a bathroom 30 meters away down two halls and around a corner, past the communal kitchen/bar and computer/internet room. Although the owner advertises that 100% of the rooms have private bathrooms, when we arrived, the owner told us that there are 4 rooms at Grebnos and 3 have private, attached baths (though we were not able to confirm the private bathrooms in the other rooms) – despite our prearrangements, the owner did not hold a room with a private bathroom for us. The location of our bathroom was VERY inconvenient and VERY public (You would also have to get dressed to use the bathroom during the middle of the night – the room has no air conditioning and it does get hot in Ohrid during the summer months so you may not be sleeping with much on…).
4) Double bed – Although I know double beds are not always common in European hotels, we were able to book a double bed in all 9 of the hotels we stayed in on our extended trip. Grebnos was the only disappointment for us and our experience was particularly frustrating given the advance planning we made and the promise by the owner that we would have a double bed.
Overall, our experience with Pavel and Grebnos was inexcusable and was the disappointing low point of our amazing honeymoon. Although other travelers may not prioritize the private bathroom and double bed as much as we do, I would caution using this hotel as our interaction with the owner was also not very pleasant (he was drinking alcohol and unapologetic about the obvious mistake even after showing him our email correspondence and his promise of a private bath and double bed)

That said, I would highly recommend a trip to beautiful Lake Ohrid!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MikeMont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grebnos, Owner at Grebnos Stone-house Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Every single room of Grebnos has It's own private bathroom. The whole object of Grebnos is not even 30 meters ( we wish it was though :) ) Yet, this guest claims that the bathroom is supposedly 30 meters away from the room.

No comment on that any further.

Some people are never satisfied. We never had such critics from any of our guests. Maybe it says more about negative spirited guests than about Grebnos. All our reviews on Tripadvisor are positive and says enough.

Lastly, Grebnos is a private accommodation. It's where the owner lives. Can't the owner drink a glass of wine at HIS OWN house around dinner time, 17:00. ?

Maybe for these guests a hotel is a more suitable location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Staying at Grebnos is like dropping in on an old friend to stay for a while. Pavel aims to make your experience enjoyable but unpressured, as least like a tourist hotel as possible. He has succeeded and exceeded our expectations. He arranged a driver for us, taxis, suggested a few sights and restaurants and even invited us to join he and his family to visit his beach house down south, on the lake.

We had many a discussion with Pavel and enjoyed his hospitality! We highly recommend Grebnos to visitors to Orhid.

Room Tip: All rooms have balcony views over the lake and part of the Old Town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PHILQUINN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ohrid hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa St. Sofija
Villa St. Sofija
#1 of 38 in Ohrid
132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa&Winery Mal Sv. Kliment
0.1 mi away
Apartments Rosana
Apartments Rosana
#7 of 74 in Ohrid
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Luccia Apartments
Luccia Apartments
#8 of 172 in Ohrid
39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Jovan
Villa Jovan
#6 of 74 in Ohrid
35 reviews
4.7 mi away
Robinson Sunset House
Robinson Sunset House
#2 of 74 in Ohrid
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grebnos Stone-house Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grebnos Stone-house Apartments

Address: Metodi Patcev 19A, Ohrid 6000, Republic of Macedonia
Location: Republic of Macedonia > Southwestern Region > Ohrid
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Ohrid
Price Range: $40 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grebnos Stone-house Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grebnos Stone house apartments, located in the heart of the city of Ohrid in Macedonia is the perfect place for your stay. All the rooms are made of stone walls, giving you the feeling of a cave. The rooms have magnificent views over the Ohrid Lake. You can overlook everything and still keep your privacy.Where is a lake, there is a beach! We also have our private Grebnos beach along the shore of the Ohrid lake where you can relax, take a swimm and just enjoy the beautifull nature of the Ohrid region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Grebnos Stone-house Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing