We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”
Review of Hotel Kaveka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Kaveka
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Maharepa
Reviewed August 20, 2014

My husband & I stayed at the Hotel Kaveka during part of our honeymoon. We were there 3 nights before returning to Tahiti. The staff was very, very friendly & accommodating! Tim, one of the employees there was pleasant & friendly to us our whole stay. The view from the hotel is gorgeous! You can snorkel right off the beach or the hotel dock & the snorkeling is great! We stayed in one of the bungalows on the beach. The room was clean, modern (thanks, air conditioning!) & nicely decorated. The hotel was quiet & peaceful. It is also significantly cheaper than the other hotels on the island, particularly the chain hotels. We ate breakfast in the hotel one morning & dinner one night. The food is good & only a teeny bit more expensive than the local food trucks. It was a relaxing & wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Briana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 301 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2014

My wife and I stayed 5 days, the weather was great, the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, provided insight to the best beaches, local food trucks to eat. We stayed in a beach side bunglow with AC. We called ahead, made our arrangements over the phone, had a followup email sent with confirmed prices for our bungalow,. had no problems at checkin. We did research on the places to stay on Moorea, many of the high end hotels were way out of our price range, we took a chance on the Hotel Kaveka and were plesantly surprised to find the grounds, hotel, staff and rooms were well kept, friendly staff. Some of the bunaglows only have ceiling fans, you have to specify whether you want AC or a ceiling fan, prices are different. The bunglows had just been updated and were very nice. We snorkled right off the hotel dock, it was great, many different kinds of fish swimming among the coral. We took a underwater camera and got great pics. The breakfast menu was sparse, we ate there the first morning and then found a store and bought pastries, bread, juices each morning for breakfast and ate breakfast on our bunglaow deck, right on the beah, went to the local food trucks for dinner - excellent. we ate dinner one night at the hotel, prices were just a bit more than the food trucks, but was very good. I would highly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: The beach bunglows 303, 304, 305 have just been upated, are right on the beach, great views, have de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Some quick Tahiti facts.
1. The water is crystal clear, but the bottom is rocky. Bring beach water shoes.
2. Bait and switch of tourist services is noticeable. Lock prices in first.
3. Pateete has lots of graffiti and obviously large income division. It is very urban and a little uncomfortable. Go straight to Moorea Island instead, much more pleasant and beautiful.
4. The ferry from Pateete to Moorea Island is about $38 U.S. roundtrip
5. Bring a voltage converter and lots of money, this place (Tahiti itself) is expensive.

Hotel Kaveka,

Booking websites brought up Hotel Kaveka as the price bargain for Moorea Island. At around $100 per night, we expected a basic hotel and hopefully clean facilities. Unfortunately that is where the bait and switch came in. When we checked in, the front desk agent, told us that for the rate we go, our room would have NO A.C., just a fan. Now at a minimum, would any of you expect a room to have NO A.C., unless the whole property was that way?

We decided for only one night, we'd deal with it (cool island breezes in our minds). NOT!
You see the room we had also was dirty and it had no screens or mosquito nets. Within 5 minutes of entering the room, the mosquitoes actually tried to carry my wife off to another island.

When she complained, she was told, "we said there was no A.C.". My wife responded, "but you didn't tell us there were no screen to protect us from mosquitoes". The front desk agent just smiled. They made us pay about $45 more to get a bungalow with A.C. That was the switch. That's an increase of almost 50% in order to have a good night's sleep. Wrong!

Location:
-The resort is only about 15 minutes from the ferry docks on the main road that encircles the island. It is on Cooks Bay, not on a beach front. However, it has a long deck that jets out into the bay, and good swimmers seem to enjoy jumping off of it. There was great beach though, about 10 minutes from the hotel, going back towards the ferry docks. I'll insert some of photos of it

Room:
-Admittedly, the bungalow that we finally ended up with, was kind of cute. It was small (well very small), had the island motif, a good bed and shower. It was also cleaned thoroughly (not like the initial unit that hadn't seen a wiped down for weeks).

One thing! Although we had to pay more for this unit, they didn't give us one with a view to the bay, although at least three of those units were unoccupied that evening.

Other Items:
-Wifi is not free, not even in the lobby like most hotels. You have to pay 700 pf for 30 minutes. That is about $8.75. Breakfast menu is also expensive. It was about $35 for the so called, "American Buffet" breakfast, for just me. My wife got the continental breakfast.

Unfortunately, there weren't a lot of places open at that time, so we stuffed ourselves silly with food and only gave in again to food temptation late that night at the hotel, that was about $40 and I just ate off my wife's plate.

Bottomline: I cannot recommend a hotel that doesn't include even the basic expected services, for the advertised price of their room and forces you to upgrade just to be comfortable. The physical facility itself is fine, if you don't mind having to constantly work to get a fair deal.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has AC, before you book. The booking website, didn't specify that there was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Lifetraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavekaMoorea, Manager at Hotel Kaveka, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

“We are saddened in that we could not make your stay here at the HOTEL KAVEKA a memorable vacation, as we relentlessly try our very hardest to accommodate and enhance our guests to experience the real and authentic Polynesian hospitality for a reasonable price.

Nevertheless, I have to correct certain statements – as it is obvious that you are having difficulty in accessing the exchange rate (converting French Pacific Francs to United States dollars), as you state the price of 38$ USD for the round trip fare per person on the fast ferry catamaran operating between Tahiti and Moorea which cost is exactly 25$ USD
(Please refer to the http://www.aremiti.pf website).

You are maybe also a little confused concerning the extra charge for the upgrade to a garden air conditioned bungalow which we offered you - whereupon you insinuate an extra charge of 45$ USD????? This charge was actually 35$USD (Please take the time to review once again the booking.com website)

Your ‘bait and switch’ comment is also kind of puzzling even deceitful, as the booking.com website has very clearly described that the lanai bungalow is ‘not’ furnished with air conditioning whereas all the other superior categories have A/C built-in, and this is also clearly outlined on the website. (Please take the time to review once again the booking.com website)

Also understand that the HOTEL KAVEKA is one of the few two star properties on Moorea that actually provides A/C – many similar hotels on Moorea don’t even offer this.

Furthermore – by offering the lanai bungalows without A/C enables the hotel to offer the very best rates to our valued guests at a very reasonable price, as ‘the user pays’, or ‘you don’t use you don’t pay’.

I don’t understand your remark about the hotel location not being on the beachfront!!!!!! Please visit our website at http://www.hotelkavekacom or booking.com website, or expedia website, or hotel.com website or agoda.com website, or even TRIPADVISOR website all have described this property as a beachfront property and all have photos of our beachfront property including a beautiful white sand beach, maybe you are mistaken and confusing this with some other hotel?

After researching your comment regarding internet fees, I can only state that the majority of hotels on Moorea, (and also in many other countries around the world) are also charging for internet.

Here listed below are the three options in dollars of our breakfast plans:


Firstly - We have a our American self-service breakfast all you can eat ''
Breakfast '' is served from 6:30am thru till 9:30am and it includes :
- Fresh island fruit juice.
- Fresh island fruit.
- Cereals.
- French pastries.
- hot plate of eggs any style with bacon, ham or cheese.
- Fresh French bread with an assortment of local jams.
- Tea - coffee - chocolate.

The price of this is .....................................................2.500 C.F.P. per person (approximately 27$USD and not 35$).

Secondly - We have a our buffet self-service breakfast all you can eat ''
Breakfast '' is served from 6:30am thru till 9:30am and it includes :
- Fresh island fruit juice.
- Fresh island fruit.
- Cereals.
- French pastries.
- Fresh French bread with an assortment of local jams.
- Tea - coffee - chocolate.

The price of this is .....................................................2.000 C.F.P. per person. (approximately 22$USD and not 35$).

Thirdly - We have a our Continental self-service breakfast which is served from 6:30am thru till 9:30am and it includes :
- Fresh island fruit juice.
- Fresh French bread, and pastries with an assortment of local jams.
- Tea - coffee - chocolate.

The price of this is .....................................................1.000 C.F.P. per person (approximately 11$USD and not 35$).


To summarize: we try everyday to improve our family operated hotel, by offering nice clean accommodations at reasonable rates so that our valued guests can continue to return and visit with us.

Sincerely Yours.
Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

I was at Kaveka Hotel last month and being a first timer in Moorea, I must say my stay was an unforgettable and memorable experience. I came with my sister all the way from Singapore. It was the best trip ever. The bungalow rooms were beautiful, his hotel has the best scenery of Cooks Bay and his restaurant served the best food. Everybody at the hotel are full of smile especially Tim, the reception guy.
The owner of Kaveka Hotel, Mr Greg Hardie, was a man with excellent and warm personality because tourists from other hotels came to visit his restaurant especially to try his delicious cuisine. He never fail to put a smile on the faces of tourists staying or visiting his hotel. He will visit each and every table to make sure that their food are prepared with so much love and of top quality. Lastly, I have to say that Mr Greg, you made my holiday a dream come true! Mauruuru, Mr Greg Hardie!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KiwiGal2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Such a neat place to soak up the amazing scenery and relax on the beach. Only place to eat on the water while watching the fish. I was lucky to watch a turtle swimming by at the end of the wharf. The bungalows are clean & have all you need. The staff are so friendly and accommodating. I highly recommend staying.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stevie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Nice but simple bungalows with all what you need. Remarkably good restaurant at reasonable prices compared to local price level. Beach is quite small and to enter the water a bit difficult because of stones/corals - reef-shoes strongly recommended! Central location - walking distance to Maharepa.

Room Tip: Beachfront bungalow - watch the sunset and relax with a drink.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wolfram G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Compared to the rest of the Pacific the Hotel Kaveka must be more than two stars. But probably not three. The rooms are okay, but quite worn down. The food is no big deal, and the breakfast tends to get boring after a couple of days. However, the restaurant is over water and you can feed the colorful fish directly from your table. The snorkeling at the end of the little private pier is fine - watch out for turtles! The location in Cooks Bay is fine, too - with great views of the mountains. The beach is the smallest in the world. The over loaded single receptionist and waiter is eagerly friendly and helpful, but tends to get stressed - and we had a really bad welcome experience. Rent a car and circle the Island yourself - and do swim with sting rays and sharks at the Tipaniers Hotel. Unforgettable! (Rent a kayak for an hour for 1.000 xpf = €8 - the crazy experience is only 7 minutes out.) Furthermore, go to church in the beautiful catholic church in Haapiti on Sundays at 7.30am.

Room Tip: Lagoon view is great because of the mountains on the other side of Cooks Bay. Beach view is a laugh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JanHolstebro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maharepa
1.2 mi away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
6.4 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus
Hotel Hibiscus
#2 of 2 in Papetoai
721 reviews
5.2 mi away
Fenua Mata'i'oa
Fenua Mata'i'oa
#1 of 1 in Haapiti
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Club Bali Hai Moorea Hotel
6.6 mi away
Pension Tarariki
Pension Tarariki
#10 of 13 in Moorea
37 reviews
15.6 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kaveka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kaveka

Address: Bp 373, Maharepa 98728, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Maharepa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Maharepa
Price Range: $161 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Kaveka 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kaveka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaveka Hotel Maharepa
Hotel Kaveka Moorea, French Polynesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing