We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for budget-conscious travelers”
Review of Hotel Kaveka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kaveka
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Maharepa
Oswego, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great for budget-conscious travelers”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I first visited Hotel Kaveka 3 years ago. I because I was a budget traveler and it was (and still is) one of the more budget-friendly hotels on Moorea. My 2nd visit was to bring my wife and let her experience the beauty of Cook's Bay. Hotel Kaveka has obviously been improved in the last 3 years. The feral chickens aren't around any more, which can definitely lead to a better night's sleep. Bungalows appear to have been painted, and the grounds are mostly immaculate. Walking around Kaveka you will see all species of tropical flowers and fruit trees planted around the neighboring bungalows. Our Lanai bungalow was clean, comfortable and quaint but did not have air conditioning or screens. Be careful bringing food into the bungalow, if it is left out for long the ants will find it.

The worst part of Hotel Kaveka is the location, which isn't bad at all. Walking to either of the nearby towns, Maharepa and Pao Pao, would take about 20 minutes. Because the hotel is in a bay there is less breeze than other parts of the island, so if you are walking for a while it tends to become quite sticky. Renting a car and exploring the island is the best plan. Kaveka is a good place to stay, but Moorea has much more to offer!

Hotel Kaveka has a small beach just south of the main office. I remember the beach being fairly rough and painful to walk on without water shoes, but it has been raked more over the years and isn't nearly as bad as I remembered. The beach doesn't extend very far out before large rocks and sad-looking corals rise to just below the surface of the water so swimming is pretty limited. Snorkeling is ok among the rocks and off Kaveka's long pier, but much better at the public beaches.

The best attributes of Hotel Kaveka are the unique and delicious restaurant and the gorgeous views of Mount Rotui and Cook's Bay. The restaurant is in the style of an overwater bungalow, and if you get a seat at the edge of the water you can look down at the schools of Mullet and other reef fish swimming below. Throwing some baguette into the water creates quite a show as fish come from all directions to enjoy their dinner. The food is very good and typically expensive for French Polynesia. Visiting this restaurant is much more of an experience to remember given the views, fish-feeding, live music on select nights and atmosphere. Views across the bay of Mount Rotui are spectacular. Cruise ships occasionally anchor in the bay and add to the tropical ambiance. A walk on the pier will give even better views of the stunning peaks of Moorea. We only stayed a night at Kaveka this time, but much of our time was spent enjoying the views from the pier. At night the stars are amazing out on the pier, we just had to block out some of the lights around us.

Overall, Hotel Kaveka is a nice place to stay and I would stay there again. It is a good launch pad to go and explore more of this beautiful island.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prateritum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    116
    57
    21
    17
See reviews for
54
157
35
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seal Rock, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 7nights with wife & daughter, hopped between 3 bungalows. Each was clean & comfortable, with AC, ceiling fan, fridge, microwave; comfy beds. Beach front bungalows were our favorite. We did not notice road noise or roosters, which other reviewers mention.

Staff was friendly and very helpful, as was the boss. We looked at several other sm. resorts while on Moorea, and this was our favorite. I'd return in a heartbeat.

Only downside (minor) was price of food in restaurant - not outrageous by Moorea standards but still spendy. We bought food & beer at local market (15 min walk) to make several meals which kept the budget saner.

Nice snorkeling along reef wall just a few yards off the hotel (access from their pier) - recommend swimming north toward mouth of Cooks Bay - viz, fishes & corals improve. Always felt very safe.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tedzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
381 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 440 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Stayed 6 nights here with the family. Booked on expedia.ca, prices are ok, but you gonna have to pay extras, taxs.... Good location with a beautiful view on Cook’s Bay. You have access to a mini beach or just swim at the end of the pier. The bungalows are ok, very basic but they should start thinking about renovating them. Our shower was clogged most of the time. The A/C was working fine. You got free parking in front of the hotel for your renting car. Kind of disappointing with the breakfast, for the price of 2500XPF, around 30$ CAD, you got a choice of an omelette or 2 eggs with bacon and a selection of a small buffet (fruits/cereals/bread/juices/jam from Austria instead of French Polynesia...) with limited choice, don’t expect much, you are not into a 5 stars hotel here...Kind of expensive for what it is. You should go to the Club Bali Hai Hotel about 2 minutes by car, the breakfast is better, the service too and more reasonable price as well. If I can add, the poor waitress was working a lot, day time and night time, nonstop, 7 days a week. One night, there was a lot of people, only 2 waitresses, we had to wait at least 20 minutes to be served and finally I had to go to the kitchen to tell them what I wanted to order. I guess it’s the Polynesia hospitality, very relax... Your got 5 minutes walk a pizza place if you are tired of eating polynesian food. After all, I blame the management, exploiting employees and offering a bad service to the clients. As well, like many other places in French Polynesia, no free wifi here, you have to buy a card with them, 500XPF around 6$ CAD for 1h. This hotel just wants your money and don’t give a good service. Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulienF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We arrived early and were allowed an early check in which we appreciated after a long flight. We enjoyed a lagoon view bungalow which had an excellent view of Cooks Bay. The aircon was a relief after a long day in the sun and worth the extra cost. The grounds are immaculate. Greg the owner was there and was very interesting to talk to as he has been in Moorea for over 40 years. The location of this property is perfect! One of the best views of Cooks Bay! My favorite thing to do each morning when I woke up was to walk to the end of the pier and jump into the warm blue water for a morning swim. Heaven! The snorkeling was decent with a variety of fish. Keep an eye out for the turtles! It's an easy walk to the village area for groceries and restaurants. We dined in the restaurant only a few times as we had a car and wanted to explore other options. What we did try there was very good. The staff were wonderful and helpful. The rooms were clean and neat. Overall a fantastic place to stay and would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angkor5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The website of this hotel does not do it justice. I was a little nervous, but rest assured - this place is beautiful! The huts are private and perfect, the restaurant is good and the views are AMAZING!!! There is also great snorkeling right off the dock, and you're a 10 min. walk from a grocery store. You could stay at more expensive places, but you really don't need to. I would highly recommend Hotel Kaveka!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaygannMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

My girlfriend and I arrived 830am following a long flight and ferry journey and we were greeted by a friendly and accommodating receptionist Tim, who allowed us into our lanai bungalow earlier than the 12 o'clock check in. The bungalow is basic and could do with a bit of TLC but the beds were comfortable and clean. Toiletries means soap only so don't forget your shampoo.

We used the restaurant twice for an evening meal, and both times the food was tasty and good value for money. We went on the excursion 4x4 safari not the most appropriate name, but worth doing for the driving skills of Tom the driver going up magic mountain.

All the staff were delightful and friendly. Overall for a 2 star basic accommodation with personalised attention it is represented correctly in its advertising

Wend
Swimming in the sea is difficult due to the coral which is protected, but the lagoon is deep enough area o swim in, but is difficult to use due to the slippery rocks.

Greg the manager was really helpful on our last day, as we were waiting for the local bus for over 45 mins to catch the ferry, and he kindly took us to the ferry as he was going that way.

Overall

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I absolutely loved everything about our stay here. The staff were amazing and we got great deals on food package. Amazing snorkelling on our door step, fish feeding and dolphins at breakfast. Room decor slightly dated but why stay in your room when you can snorkel! I will definitely return some day :)

Room Tip: Rooms left of the restaurant, directly into awesome snorkelling
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2013becca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maharepa
1.2 mi away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
6.4 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus
Hotel Hibiscus
#2 of 2 in Papetoai
687 reviews
15.6 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Fenua Mata'i'oa
Fenua Mata'i'oa
#1 of 1 in Haapiti
114 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Les Tipaniers
Hotel Les Tipaniers
#6 of 13 in Moorea
710 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kaveka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kaveka

Property: Hotel Kaveka
Address: Bp 373, Maharepa, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Maharepa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Maharepa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Kaveka 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Kaveka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaveka Hotel Maharepa
Hotel Kaveka Moorea, French Polynesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing