We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“had a wonderful stay...”
Review of Hotel Kaveka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Kaveka
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Maharepa
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“had a wonderful stay...”
Reviewed September 3, 2011

This is not the Intercontinental, or Hilton, which are smart chain hotels with over-water-bungalows etc. It is a small 3* hotel, with a quiet, chilled out, atmosphere, and low-key levels of service to match. I was there in low season, and it may be more lively in high season. It had a charming, almost sleepy, island atmosphere, with more than a dash of Gallic indifference.

I have just read Daisy Larchmont’s recent post, and will save myself some typing by saying that I agree with pretty much all she says.

I treated myself to a beachfront bungalow – which was about 4 ft from the water. The bungalows are simple, but effective. Nothing was luxury, but everything worked! As their own website makes extremely clear, some things which you might expect to be included in other hotels are charged for separately here, but you need to plan for that in your budget, and get over it, and it won’t annoy you (like other posters).

The food, as you would expect from a French territory, was in general excellent (again – avoid the pizzas, leave them to the Italians). The poisson cru with coconut milk, sashimi, steaks, chinese dishes - all excellent. I took a half-board plan which, when taken with the room discount it gave me, was excellent value. Tim – who seemed to be everywhere, running everything, seemed to keep all the balls in the air, and with a smile.

If you are expecting the Interconti, then you will be disappointed – you should go there instead. If instead you want a lower-budget simpler hotel, with a certain charm, a good restaurant, amazing views and good snorkelling, then this is a very good choice.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Voyager212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    115
    57
    21
    17
See reviews for
53
157
35
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
santee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2011

From checking in to checkout the staff were so friendly and helpful making every moment of our stay wonderful. I believe the Hotel Kaveka is located on the most beautiful part of island on Cook's Bay.The sunsets every night were magical. Your view from the bungalows was not just of the ocean like the more expensive hotels. You view the ocean, the bay, the beautiful mountains at the Kaveka. By the middle of the week that we stayed we had kayaked and snorkeled all over the island and we found that the coral reef two steps away from our bungalow had the most fish and the most amazing varieties. Snorkeling here is as easy as being in your bathtub. That is the temperature of the water too. We would eat a wonderful breakfast in the restaurant that is over the water and watch the parrotfish, wrasses, octopus, triggerfish, moorish idols.........Their dock extends over the reef to the deeper portion so you could jump in the water off the pier. At night we would watch the fish and saw a huge ray swim by in the shallow portion. Having drinks on the pier at night, looking up at the stars ....crazy beautiful.
The bungalow was exactly what we needed. It was absolutely clean and had all of the conveniences. We were extremely pleased. The restaurant had great menu choices and everything was so fresh. The coffee in the morning was the best we have ever had. We noticed that the locals would come also to enjoy the restaurant. Certain nights they had entertainment like local musicians and other bands in the restaurant/bar. Everyone enjoyed themselves. Very relaxing too.
They have a shopping shuttle to the town of Marahepa daily. We also liked to walk and bicycle there.
The owner Greg and his staff take care of everything. You have bicycles and kayaks there to rent but you can set up tours/ off-roading etc. I suggest kayaking Cook's Bay.
Best vacation ever. Would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2011

I just spent 10 days at Hotel Kaveka. Ideally located. Very peaceful and restful. This hotel is simple but clean and affordable. Very friendly personnel--Tim, Rosalie and Prisca. I had a beach bungalow and most of the time I enjoyed the beach all by myself! Great snorkeling. At the restaurant you will eat well- I recommend the raw tuna with coco milk. Greg, the owner, will make every effort to make your stay memorable. He recommended many trips which I thoroughly enjoyed--especially the "picnic". We went to an area by boat where we swam with rays and sharks. Really! Sharks were not harmful. If you are on a limited budget, if you are not too picky, if you want to rest, if you like the beach, if you like snorkeling--this is the right hotel for you.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cinetteprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

My 13-year-old daughter and I just returned from an 8-day stay at the Kaveka, We were blown away by the gorgeous setting on Cook's Bay, and found the Kaveka staff to be extremely kind, generous, and caring. Not a day passed without Greg, the owner, stopping by to ask us how we were doing and if there was anything he could help with. ALL the staff were very friendly and helpful.

It was our first time in Tahiti. Our goal was to find an affordable yet unforgettable location with killer views and good snorkeling (healthy reef & good visibility), within walking distance to restaurants and groceries (we only had a car for a few days). After seeing the other highly-rated inns on Moorea, like the Linareva, Hibiscus, and Les Tipaniers, I am SO GLAD we chose Kaveka.

We arrived very early at 9AM, but the friendly manager (Tim) told us our room was ready and waiting! We had booked a beachfront room, their most expensive, but we got a 50% discount for staying 7 nights, so if you are staying for a while it is definitely worth bumping up your room category. There are only 2 beachfront rooms, but just as good IMO are the Lagoon View rooms, which front the rocky reef.

The Beachfront room we had was literally steps away from a small, sandy beach. This location is perfect for young families to relax. I was worried about noise from other people using the beach right in front of us, but the mostly French families there were very considerate and we never had any problems. It really is idyllic, and lovely.

The rooms are basic, not much space to move around in, but you are in Tahiti and won't be inside your room very much. The Beachfront rooms have AC, which we appreciated at night. If AC is important, make sure your room category includes it - some of the rooms (the cheapest ones) do not. There is a small fridge which we used for water, Hinano beer, and juices from the Fruit Juice factory across the bay. They say food is prohibited in rooms, but it's fine to store food in the fridge as long as you do not eat in your room (yuck - ants for sure!)

I am fairly sure the negative reviews here are from people who booked the Kaveka's oldest, cheapest, basic rooms -- the Lanai rooms. These have no AC, no screens, just a fan, and are in the back (no view) by the busy road. Honestly, if you want to save money, just set up a tent and you will be happier!

Now for the acid test- how good was the snorkeling?? In short, the reef fronting the Kaveka was the BEST snorkeling we found on Moorea. Each morning after breakfast we would spot 2-3 turtles on our way along the reef. Just under the pier, I saw several octopi, a gorgeous stonefish (wear your water shoes!!), and schools of moi. The visibility is generally good, as there is no sand to cloud the water. We found that late afternoon was the best time for light conditions, as the sun would filter down and all the reefs' gorgeous colors could be seen.

We bought a meal plan (half board) for $55 US pp., which was a good deal considering the high-priced restaurants in Moorea. Half board means breakfast, plus lunch or dinner. The only criticism I have is to bump up the breakfast choices -- it was limited to bread, fruit, and cereal, plus eggs if on the American plan. I would suggest a selection of fresh French pastries -- croissants and the like -- which are sold in the supermarket down the road, after all. Dinners on the meal plan include an appetizer, entree, and dessert, in addition to a drink (wine or non-alcoholic beverage) and coffee or tea with dessert. It's a LOT to eat but the overall quality is very good. I highly recommend the Poisson Cru appetizer - it's delicious and big enough for an entire meal. DO NOT ORDER THE PIZZA -- it's awful. Allo Pizza down the road is far better. Everything else on the extensive Kaveaka menu was great, but best bets are fresh seafood, steaks, and chinese. For dessert, we loved the Cafe Legionere (coffee, Tahitian Vanilla ice cream, and chantilly) and Tiramisu.

To use the hotel's bicycles or kayaks means paying for the pleasure. I thought the bicycle rental was a bit steep, at 4000 cfp for 4 hours. Even more costly was the kayak rental - they do not have double-seat kayaks, so if you are two people you are forced to rent 2. I can't recall how much it was, but it was more than the bicycles. Other places on Moorea rented kayaks for far less.

We rented a car for 3 days from Albert Tours, the beat deal on the island. It was ~$50 US a day, insurance included. Make sure you know how to drive stick, as they only have manual transmission. This allowed us to explore the island and check out the other hotel options. I was not impressed by the other mid-range hotels on Moorea - they were in less picturesque locations, more remote, and more "scruffy". Likewise, the Hilton, Sofitel, Pearl and Intercontinental did not offer good value, judging by the relative view & amenities per price paid. (But if you are on honeymoon, go for the overwater bungalow and live it up!!!)

We highly recommend booking a Shark & Stingray/ Motu tour. We chose Hiro's Tours based on the reviews. Kaveka would not let them pick us up at the hotel pier (probably due to no commission arrangement), but instead we used the nearby public pier. If you book directly with the tour operator, you can save about 20%. For instance, Kaveka quotes 7000 cpf for the shark & ray tour, while we paid 5000. We liked the tour so much we did it a second time, and got another discount for 4500pp (third time is free!) Very fun, up close with the harmless blacktipped reef sharks and stingrays, and a nice afternoon BBQ on a motu island. It's a full day out, 9-3.

About the WiFi - the hotel charges 700 cpf for 30 minutes. We quickly learned that the hotel does not password-protect its WiFi, so once someone pays for it, it's on for anyone. Also, we would sometimes get free WiFi signals from other nearby businesses, so you don't always need to pay unless you are more ethical than I.

So if you are looking for a good value, gorgeous location, and good food for a relaxing time on Moorea, get thee to the Kaveka, and tell Tim I said bonjour!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Diana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

HELL's half acre also known as Kaveka. If you are traveling to Tahiti save your money until you can stay somewhere worthwhile. The beauty of Tahiti is cheapened by this dump! I stayed at this sorry place for a week and have never been more uncomfortable in my life. You are treated as if you are imposing in someone's home instead of a guest. No attempt is made to make sure your stay is going well. The rooms are old, full of ants, cobwebs and the roosters will drive you mad. The staff is disrespectful and unaccomidating and scowl at your presence. Please do not stay here! Save your money a little longer and stay at another hotel. I hope this message saves one person from this filthy and sad shack located on such a beautiful island. Epic FAIL!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mauiforalidetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawera
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2011

Kaveka Hotel Moorea

My husband myself and our daughter stayed ten nights at the Kaveka Hotel last September. We found that it was a good choice for a lot of reasons. It was not too big and impersonal, very quiet despite a number of young French families staying and also it is situated just inside Cooks Bay so it has the cleanest water. (Not that the bay is polluted). There is always something to look at, whether it be traffic over the other side of the bay far enough away that you cant hear it, or the pineapple plantations, or just activity on the water ie. the occasional cruise ship. It is not uncommon for whales and dolphins to swim into the bay. I was swimming with a turtle. The hotel is within cycling distance of two shopping centres and has push bikes for hire.

Greg the owner is very active in his management role. We found him very personable. He worked very hard to make sure all guests enjoyed their stay. His advice on tours and shopping was invaluable and his English and French exceptional which helped immensely with the language barrier. Nothing was too hard.

We enjoyed a number of tours suggested and organised by Greg and partner Milo. One was to the interior of the Island and through the Agricultural College. We saw things we wouldn’t have known were there otherwise. Another one was to Tiki Village for a wonderful cultural evening and also we went out to the reef and swam with stingrays and sharks and had a fabulous Tahitian barbeque. With all tours you are collected and dropped back at the hotel afterwards.

We had a lovely beachside bungalow over- looking the bay. Our daughter who came with us had a lovely garden one. They were serviced daily to a high standard by friendly staff and had very large comfortable beds.

The restaurant at the Kaveka is truly Tahitian style and is built out over the water. Greg has built on a huge pontoon that reaches from the restaurant to the edge of the reef, which is lit at night and attracts a number of interesting fish. Local entertainers and a varied menu beautifully cooked created a unique dining experience. It was great watching the fish swimming around the reef while we ate. The waitresses were very accommodating and patient given the language differences.

We enjoyed swimming and snorkelling around the reef in front of the hotel. There is a lot of coral in the water but the purchase of reef shoes to wear whilst swimming sorted the problem of grazed feet. Snorkels are also available for hire from the hotel. Car hire is also easily arranged from the hotel with the exception for when a cruise ship is in. No matter hire a bike instead.

We found the Kaveka hotel to be well presented, secure and good value for money. It is a family orientated hotel. With it’s friendly service we are recommending it to any one wanting to visit Tahiti.

Thanks Greg, Milo and staff for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlasHawera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2011

We thought this was the best view on the island! We'd recommend it to those travelers who don't need big fancy hotels, but like smaller places with their own personality, even tho they have less frills. Owner Greg was nice, friendly and helpful. Tim was a joy ! the daily ride to town was SO helpful. (Internet in town is about $6 /hour at cafe) The garden is lovely. The gardener and girls are smiling and friendly. we booked w/expedia and ended up w/ the cheapest cabin 323. no view, no a/c, no screens, (higher priced cabins did) tiny tv had only 1 french channel, little fridge helps, only other amenity was bar soap, but we were comfortable there. A coffee machine would've been nice. There are no "rooms" but little cabins, some doubles. Ours had a king and single bed. Some cabins had a little porch w/ chairs and roof, which would be nice in the rain. They all had a faucet outside. There were plenty of places to sit in the common areas of the restaurant/lobby/pier/garden/beach tho too. Huge TV in lobby gets cnn and espn if you ask. The restaurant was good, portions big enough for 2. Try the sweet and sour shrimp, not the tuna curry. This hotel was a bargain for Moorea, which is not a bargain destination by any means. However it's worth the price, as Moorea and it's people are amazingly beautiful !

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReadyToGoMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maharepa
1.2 mi away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
6.4 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus
Hotel Hibiscus
#2 of 2 in Papetoai
684 reviews
15.6 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Fenua Mata'i'oa
Fenua Mata'i'oa
#1 of 1 in Haapiti
114 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Les Tipaniers
Hotel Les Tipaniers
#6 of 13 in Moorea
709 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kaveka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kaveka

Property: Hotel Kaveka
Address: Bp 373, Maharepa, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Maharepa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Maharepa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Kaveka 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Kaveka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaveka Hotel Maharepa
Hotel Kaveka Moorea, French Polynesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing