We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome snorkeling, food OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Maharepa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2014

The snorkeling here is absolutely awesome - a huge lagoon teeming with live coral and aquatic life. On-site dive company took us on an awesome snorkel tour outside the reef. Food was decent, but nothing special. Service was a bit "lumpy" depending on who you interacted with - I often felt like someone had their hand in my pocket the way they pushed the onsite restaurants and tours.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnWohlfahrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier D, General Manager at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2014

Thank you for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Sofitel Moorea

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,019)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

724 - 730 of 3,019 reviews

An Accor traveler
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed July 4, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Olivier D, General Manager at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

My wife, our two children and I stayed for 4 nights in June. Because there were 4 of us we could not book an overwater bungalow and by happy accident decided to book the deluxe two room villa. The hotel essentially took two bungalows and connected them by building a beautiful living room between the rooms. When we entered the villa, my wife was astounded and convinced we were accidentally given an upgrade! It was like having a private home on the beach. From the decor, the extremely comfortable beds, the fantastic view of Tahiti across the water from our "living room", to the beach, literally steps from the porch, we could not ask for more. The staff were fantastic and always made us feel like honored guests. The grounds and gardens are very well maintained, quiet and peaceful. The villa is at the end of the property and near the public road that circles the island. The road is just past some shrubs by the entrance to the villa but is not visible and you only hear cars when you are on that side and outside. Inside the villa and on the beach side/porch it's not noticeable. The water is very shallow by the villa and to swim you need to walk a short distance toward the overwater bungalows but this takes less than 5 minutes. The snorkeling is very nice. The best coral is out past the overwater bungalows but even out there not very deep (6-10 feet perhaps). An easy snorkel route would be to enter the water to the left of the overwater bungalows, swim out past the furthest one, then drift with the surface current from the daily trade winds and come back in on the sheltered side of the bungalows swimming in and out of the pillars for a surreal experience. There is an endless variety of corals, fish and other strange creatures to see and we snorkeled everyday seeing something new every time. Even though we were only half way through our trip and heading to Bora Bora next, we were very sad when we left Moorea and the Sofitel. That says a lot!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Douglas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier D, General Manager at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2014

Thank you for your comments, we are happy you enjoyed your stay at Sofitel Moorea

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

My wife and I greatly enjoyed our 4 night stay at Sofitel. We found them by working with Claudia from Pacific for Less and she put together a great package for us. We had a wonderful garden bungalow with prime view of the lagoon, bountiful breakfasts, and snorkel gear. The lagoon is a beautiful snorkel area.

If you're looking for a great place to stay while in Moorea, I encourage you to look at Sofitel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rsmrekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier D, General Manager at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2014

Thank you for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Sofitel Moorea

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We were vacillating on Intercontinental vs. Sofitel and got a better deal plus fatwallet cashback with Sofitel so went that route. No regrets - great staff, very nice accomodations, lots of options, and good food!

Sofitel is the first hotel from the port (Faaa International to port in Papeete, take 30 min ferry (taxi is 2000 CFP airport to port) and then 10 min tax (1300 CFP). It is the furthest from most of the island restaurants but has the best beach of all the hotels (worth the give and take, especially because the hotel food was very accessible and tasty). We always take a inland bungalow for cost (just as good, plus no mildew/musky smell risk). Lots of space, AC, wifi available. They have two restaurants and the bar, which is opened with snacks/food for most of the day as well. Two meals will more than tide you over with snacks between unless you plan on staying up late... then the third would likely be necessary. Tons of activities kept us tired by 7/8 p.m.

Staff were very courteous/warm, everything was very clean and grand, and their lagoon/diving options were amazing considering you are literally exiting your bungalow, walking 10 feet into a warm bay, and have access to reefs. We'd stayed in Bora Bora a couple years before and did NOT have this ability. There were tons of fish, healthy coral, an octopus, eel, etc.

Mosquitoes are not a problem, however the black flies will bite so bring some benadryl.

Very happy, would recommend and would return. Staff memorize your preferences and interact more than just general niceties. (I had coffee ready for me, my husband juice) and the food was very good.

Tahiti is such a great opportunity if you can afford the airfare. Room, food, activities (island tour, quadding) for 8 nights for 2 = 5k. Just enjoy what will become your favorite warm weather location ever!

Side tip I wish I had known: LAX to PPT via Air Tahiti lands really early usualy (4:20 a.m.) Make sure you have an early check in or just pay for an extra day because it was very unpleasant trying to wait it out until 2 p.m. check in. The hotel staff were very good about it - having restrooms, changing areas, showers, luggage storage so you can use the facilities but we were pretty tired. I hope you plan better than we did! (similarly on leaving 11 p.m. flight, hotel until 3:15 ferry but on Saturday midday all of Papeete's port shops and tourist attractions were closed)

Room Tip: There is a small market - if you take the walking path north up the main road you hit the gas statio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JESSICA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0566GM, General Manager at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear Madam,

We thank you for taking the time to tell us your nice experience at the Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach resort.
We will share your comments with our team.

We hope to see you again in our Worldwide Sofitel resorts

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We were fortunate to stay here for seven nights..originally booked for four but after one day nowhere else competes so cancelled original booking at another destination and stayed here.
We had an overwater bungalow and this was magic..the array of beautiful fish just swimming in the clearest water was breathtaking. Our room was gorgeous spotless and just amazing.
It is fabulous what Sofitel are doing to protect and continue the marine reserve on this beach...the MOST BEAUTIFUL water We have swam in.the snorkeling right outside our bungalow and surrounds was phenonamal perhaps even better than the Northern Yassawas..the coral purple and violet and the fish species amazing.
The staff particularly in the restaurants were lovely helpful and went out of their way to accommodate without the slightest hesitation, the food ..just Devine..We definitely will return and bring others..We honestly would find it difficult to choose another place in the world that could come close for a tropical holiday..next time two weeks or more

Room Tip: Once you've stayed in an overwater bungalow...we'll..it simply is tres magnifique
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angel4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier D, General Manager at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2014

Thank you for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Sofitel Moorea

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed three nights at this property in March 2014. Although we've repeatedly visited Temae Beach (where the Sofitel is located), this was our first stay at the property. I was particularly excited to visit as it was the only one of the "big four" resorts that we had not stayed at. We've been repeat guests at the Pearl, the Intercontinental, and the Hilton, but the Sofitel's policy on kids (given our kids' ages--they were 13 and 15 on this trip--we can't put the four of us in a single room and there had been no adjoining rooms) had prevented us from staying there previously. They recently added a two bedroom villa to their room offerings, however, so I was all "Sign us up!"

The two bedroom villa is interesting. It is located at the very end of the strip of beach bungalows furthest away from Temae Beach. It used to be two beach bungalows and then the Sofitel joined them in the middle with a lounge and added a few amenities like a super-deep outdoor tub in the master bedroom and a large front porch with a jacuzzi. There is a king-sized bed in both of the two bedrooms, and at least one futon bed in the living room. It's a huge space--at least 1900 square feet. The decor is a mix of modern and Polynesian--very pleasant. I wanted to pack up their Lucite chairs and take them home with me (obviously, I refrained!)

Some observations:
* The mattresses and bed linens are outstanding. Loved the gauzy curtains around the bed!

* Loved the indoor/outdoor feel of the bathrooms, with the little garden behind the glass wall in the shower (which can be opened). It was just so pretty!

* There is nowhere to eat as a family of four. We used the coffee table and sat on pillows Japanese-style. On the other hand, there was no upcharge for room service! The menu was the same as their main restaurant and it was lovely to be able to order food at a reasonable-for-Tahiti cost.

* The deep soaking tub in the master bath looks so pretty… but we found it fairly unusable. It filled up constantly with bits of leaves and other plant debris as it was open air and, after running the water for half an hour, was still only about a foot filled (with another three or so to go). I gave up on it after two tries.

* The jacuzzi tub on the front porch is, indeed, heated. You don't always find heated jacuzzis in French Polynesia, so I loved this.

* Despite being "new" (the villa has been available for less than a year), the bungalows are "older"--there was mold and chipping in the master bath shower, for example. It's very comfortable, but it's missing the "swank" factor of the Hilton's Garden Villa.

* The "private garden" that the website advertised was hilarious--a few waist-high plants separating the space from the nearest other beach bungalow and a patch of flattened sand/earth beneath some lovely tall trees. You have plenty of space and privacy (which is great), but it's no "garden."

* The view from the bungalow over the lagoon is gorgeous. I saw a small baby shark swimming by one morning. It's easy to get in and wade as well, although you're going to want water shoes here as it's not sandy. If you walk out until you're parallel with the furthest overwater bungalows, there are some very nice coral heads for snorkeling.


We had some issues:

* The lock to the main sliding door (the one that opens onto the porch) snapped off completely the first time we used it. There was apparently no replacement lock available on the property and, since it was Sunday, the hardware store was shut. The maintenance man installed a hook-and-eye "lock" for the night and we decided to just roll with it.

* You can hear some traffic noise, both inside the bungalow (not much) and when you are on the porch (more). The bungalow is truly not that far from the road, although there is an enormous chain link fence and a huge ditch between the back of the bungalow and the road (so no one is going to be wandering in).

* Musty. The bungalow was extremely musty, as were the bed linens. I Febreezed and Febreezed, but the musty smell never went away entirely.

The Sofitel is a very European property and they have a very European pool scene. The pool itself is not large, but it is a very pretty infinity pool with gorgeous daybeds/loungers. There is an extremely good-looking and very nice pool guy providing towels all day long. The best part, however, is that you can get poolside drinks and meals service from the adjacent restaurant. We did this one day and it was lots of fun.

The beach at the Sofitel was absolutely glorious and the lady at the dive shop/water activities place was a true gem. We hired paddle boats, swam, and snorkeled to our heart's content. The Sofitel truly has the best beach location of the four resorts on Moorea--it has the longest and sandiest beach along with some gorgeous water color. The best snorkeling (and it's outstanding) is found if you swim straight out until you're parallel to the beach and lined up with the furthest-out overwater bungalow. There are also some amazing coral heads between the two arms of the overwater bungalows. I'd happily return to this property, but I'd want to go in one of their premium overwater bungalows and not the villa. The villa offers space but, at its price point, is expensive and the amenities just aren't there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank amf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maharepa
2.9 mi away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
12.2 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
8.8 mi away
Fenua Mata'i'oa
Fenua Mata'i'oa
#1 of 1 in Haapiti
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel Kaveka
Hotel Kaveka
#4 of 4 in Maharepa
303 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus
Hotel Hibiscus
#2 of 2 in Papetoai
727 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort

Address: B.P. 28, Moorea, Maharepa 98728, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Maharepa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Maharepa
Price Range: $353 - $644 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort is located on the North-East Coast of the island, just 5 minutes away from Temae airport, Vaiare ferries docks, the 18 holes international golf course designed by Jack Nicklaus®. This landmark hotel is built on the longest and most beautiful white sand beach of the island, within a protected marine area maintained by the CRIOBE®.From this hotel, guests have a unique panoramic view on the lagoon and the island of Tahiti. The hotel offers a wide range of accommodation with a total of 113 Luxury Bungalows located in the gardens, directly on the beach or over the water. Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora has the only Luxury Beach Bungalows on Moorea that have unobstructed views of the island of Tahiti, located directly on the beach. Historically, this hotel is the first of the island that built bungalows over the water. Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora has now the largest Luxury Overwater Bungalows in Moorea (83 sq. meters).Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora also features 1 Luxury Villa with 2 bedrooms (150 sq.meters). It has 2 bathrooms, 1 lounge, 1 deck and 1 outdoor jacuzzi®, with a direct access into the lagoon and panoramic views of the island of Tahiti.Dine in Polynesian authenticity at the Pure restaurant with outdoor terrace dining offering complimentary and traditional dance shows every night or choose the barefoot elegance of K restaurant, gourmet dining, feet in the sand experience, with a unique dance show.For light snacks and exotic cocktails or premium alcohols while admiring the view, try the Vue bar overlooking the infinity pool, the lagoon and Tahiti with weekly live concerts. For light snacks and exotic cocktails during a farniente day on the beach, only steps away from the lagoon, try the Beach bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Prestigia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Hotel Maharepa
Sofitel Moorea Beach Resort
Sofitel Maharepa
Maharepa Sofitel
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort French Polynesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing