We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect kickoff to our honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Maharepa
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect kickoff to our honeymoon”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed here in a beach bungalow for the first half of our honeymoon and loved it! Some will note that it is right near the airport, but you have to put that into context - you are not next to a giant international airport with multiple flights per hour - you will notice a handful of small planes that whir in throughout the day. We spent a lot of time at the pool and on our deck and either did not hear planes, or did not really think they impacted our stay or our ability to enjoy the peacefulness.
The beach here was beautiful and coral to explore right off the sand. The resort lends snorkeling and other water sport equipment for free which was great on days that we felt like being more leisurely and did not venture into the island. The food at the resort was good, but similar to Bora Bora, we found that the quality, variety and value of food was much better if you left the resort and took restaurant recommendations.
The pool area (infinity pool) was clean, private and relaxing, which was a truly great way to begin our honeymoon. The grounds were well-kept and peaceful.
The beach bungalows were great and the deck overlooking the lagoon was a great way to enjoy a morning coffee or an evening cocktail.
We did find that there were much more mosquitoes in Moorea than Bora Bora. We took advice from our travel agent and brought a citronella candle with us for our deck and I always had bug spray on!
Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel for its all-around good service and amenities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,767
    738
    202
    88
    52
See reviews for
229
2,197
47
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed as a family for a week in middle of December - apparently it was just before it got busy. The hotel service was excellent, the weather hot and the water/beach was just beautiful.
We had a garden room, and it was less than 30m to the beach and in many ways we think it was better than the over the water units.

The one trip we'd recommend that everyone does is to take the 1/2-day boat trip around the island that includes some snorkeling - its expensive, but was the highlight of the holiday for us. Lovely, informative crew and a great way to see the island. From what we saw, the Sofitel appeared to have the best beach of all the hotels.

There aren't 100's of activities to do, but there is enough if you plan it out and are willing to spend some $ to keep everyone (including kids) interested.

We'd highly recommend it to anyone wanting the picture perfect vacation.

Some notes/recommendations:
- everything is expensive - the walk to the local shops is about 4k and is well worth it to stock up on beer/wine etc. Recommend walk to the shops after 4pm and do watch out for the local dogs!
- it helps to speak a little french when you are outside the resort, but is not essential in the hotel.
- the menus in the bar, room service and restaurants are ALL different - so if you are wanting some variety while staying, try them all. We found the serves in the bar to be generous and tasty, so ended up eating their quite often.
- Get the buffet breakfast included in your package - its well worth the additional cost. It seems to be commonly accepted that everyone takes a few of the pastries on the table back to their rooms - which we did and appreciated as it meant we didn't have to worry too much about lunch or snacks.
- Many of the local restaurants will come and pick you up and drop you off.
- Smoking near tables where other people are eating is normal (this is still france!)
- Take plenty and sun tan lotion AND bug spray.
- A proper gym would have been a nice addition.
- The international airport on the main island is small and hot - try and plan to spend as short time at it as possible.

Room Tip: If you are getting a garden room, try and get it close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brady1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Great honeymoon, stayed there for 7 nights, bliss! we got an upgrade to the overwater bungalow which we were ECSTATIC about! Fantastically nice people, constantly coming by to service our room and even turn down service till we realized we should put out the DND sign if we wanted a sleep in! Always extra nice about it though.

We had the included breakfast package which was completely worth it as they are not within walking distance of the shops (maharepa is great for food, but you probably need to rent a car, which you can do from the front desk for about 9000 XPF once you include full insurance cover, petrol ( you need to fill up before returning the car) fees, tax etc (was 6800 XPF) before including those items. They bring you to AVIS in vaiare for free which is great.

We snorkelled all day when we werent on tours, rooms service was great no service charge, got a complimentary honeymoon dinner, champagne, chocolates, and t shirt n pareu which was very very nice of everyone. Everyone was lovely, always smiling and very friendly.

The only minor gripe i had was that when things got slightly busy (ie more than 4 tables at vue bar) they got slightly flustered and disorganized and forgot our order twice and even asking us if we were done eating when we hadnt received our last order and i had to go to the counter in the end to check on our drinks and food..but this only happened once! During breakfast when it was slightly more packed, little things that were usually there were accidentally missed out (ie. a teaspoon for coffee sometimes, no butter another, no coffee) but i would definitely return to stay a million times over. Oh and its not good to be on wifi on your honeymoon usually, and i wouldnt recommend the wifi unless really needed as it is quite slow on the island generally and tends to cut out.

Bathrooms could do with a slight refresh/ maintainence/tidy as some mosaics were missing and some fittings were abit greeney at the rims. Bedroom was immaculate, you get s nespresso machine too! Very cool.

Also on our last day for checking out we were due for a late checkout at 12pm and the cleaning lady arrived 10 minutes earlier and stood by our door waiting for us to leave eventhough it was wasnt 12 yet, so felt abit ushered out of the our room trying to grab all our stuff when we were not quite set to go trying to enjoy the last 10 minutes.....was abit awkward!

Dive shop guy is very cool and surfey which is loved, tama the pool/bar/ all around helpful guy was awesome too. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Room 216,217, 218 are standard overwater bungalows but they have premium views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mememe82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado springs
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Our stay was special. When Mr. Ronseray mentioned to my wife she could sit anywhere for dinner, my wife responded that she would like to have dinner at the end of the dock. When we arrived for dinner a table had been moved to the end of the dock with wine glasses and candles. What a romantic dinner. Lucinda our waitress was excellent . She was a pleasure to speak with and the service perfect. They went beyond the call of duty. He also allowed up late check out the next day. This was a top tier highlight of our 14 day criuise tour trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank trderdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We visited several islands while in French Polynesia. Moorea was our first and best. The Sofitel is a beautiful property. When we arrived we were greeted with fresh juice and a lei and provided with a changing room/shower and plenty to keep us comfortable and occupied until our room was ready. Our bungalow was a garden bungalow and was absolutely incredible. The outdoor shower & the decorations were incredible. The bed was very hard which we understand is typical European style. We also had a single disappointing restaurant experience on site where we waited a half hour before any one would acknowledge our presence. The resort more than made up for it though with a bottle of champagne and profuse apologies. Views from the hotel are a once in a lifetime experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LAAFood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maharepa
2.9 mi away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
12.2 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
3.6 mi away
Hotel Kaveka
Hotel Kaveka
#4 of 4 in Maharepa
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus
Hotel Hibiscus
#2 of 2 in Papetoai
673 reviews
8.8 mi away
Fenua Mata'i'oa
Fenua Mata'i'oa
#1 of 1 in Haapiti
110 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort

Property: Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort
Address: B.P. 28, Moorea, Maharepa 98728, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Maharepa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Maharepa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort is located on the North-East Coast of the island, just 5 minutes away from Temae airport, Vaiare ferries docks, the 18 holes international golf course designed by Jack Nicklaus®. This landmark hotel is built on the longest and most beautiful white sand beach of the island, within a protected marine area maintained by the CRIOBE®.From this hotel, guests have a unique panoramic view on the lagoon and the island of Tahiti. The hotel offers a wide range of accommodation with a total of 113 Luxury Bungalows located in the gardens, directly on the beach or over the water. Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora has the only Luxury Beach Bungalows on Moorea that have unobstructed views of the island of Tahiti, located directly on the beach. Historically, this hotel is the first of the island that built bungalows over the water. Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora has now the largest Luxury Overwater Bungalows in Moorea (83 sq. meters).Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora also features 1 Luxury Villa with 2 bedrooms (150 sq.meters). It has 2 bathrooms, 1 lounge, 1 deck and 1 outdoor jacuzzi®, with a direct access into the lagoon and panoramic views of the island of Tahiti.Dine in Polynesian authenticity at the Pure restaurant with outdoor terrace dining offering complimentary and traditional dance shows every night or choose the barefoot elegance of K restaurant, gourmet dining, feet in the sand experience, with a unique dance show.For light snacks and exotic cocktails or premium alcohols while admiring the view, try the Vue bar overlooking the infinity pool, the lagoon and Tahiti with weekly live concerts. For light snacks and exotic cocktails during a farniente day on the beach, only steps away from the lagoon, try the Beach bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Hotel Maharepa
Sofitel Moorea Beach Resort
Sofitel Maharepa
Maharepa Sofitel
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort French Polynesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing