We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly great, just a few issues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Maharepa
Certificate of Excellence
Menlo Park, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mostly great, just a few issues”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We had a great luxury beach bungalow. I'd recommend these rooms over the overwater bungalows because the beach here is really nice. Keep in mind the mosquitoes can be problematic. Thought the bed was a little hard.

Dinners at the bar and main restaurant were great. However, breakfast is VERY overpriced.

Location is great if all you're doing is coming from the airport or ferry and then staying at the resort. However, if you want to explore the island, especially the down, by car or scooter, it's a long ways to the other side of the island.

Staff was great for the most part, but never felt warm.

However, the most infuriating thing was their WiFi setup. If it's not complimentary for you, it's very expensive. I was supposed to have free internet all the time, but to get it they only publish codes that are good for 5 hours of use. Then you have to go back and get another code. You have to make sure you sign out manually or the clock keeps ticking. So if you check your email before bed, and then want to check when you wake up but forgot to manually sign off, you have to go back to the front desk and get a new code. Plus, it's very slow.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinPenguins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier D, General Manager at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dears,

Thank you for your review and feebbacks. always much appreciated.

I totally understand your frustration when it comes to wifi and internet services.
French Polynesia is a very remote archipelago, and simply to have internet available on such island as Moorea is true privilege. The means and technology deployed to make this services available, have still an important cost, and we are unfortunatelly not able to offer free internet and free wifi in our hotel.
Hopefully it should change soon ...

Thank you again to have stayed with us.

Best regards from Moorea

Olivier De Ronseray
General Manager
Sofitel Ia Ora Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,749
    727
    201
    87
    52
See reviews for
224
2,176
47
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We spent 5 wonderful nights here. We arrived at 7:30 am. As recommended by our Custom Tahiti agent, Jackie, we asked for a luxury bungalow. We were upgraded for about$80 a night to a fantastic bungalow and it was ready. We were able to go in the lagoon from our deck to snorkel. We were so happy to just spend most of our time on our decks and in the lagoon. We had the breakfast buffet included on our package. We stayed at the resort for the polynesian show and buffet 2 nights. One night was Chinese and the other was French Riveria. The food here was wonderful. The other nights we ate a Burgundy, had excellent chow mein. At Rudy's we enjoyed the chefs father as our server/host. The stuffed parrot fish was gourmet fantastic. The creme brulee was the best we had in Tahiti. We did wonderful Jeep tour. Our guide, Spirit was fun, knowledgeable and very good at getting us up and down the crazy mountain roads. The stops were great. We recommend buying L'Original Tahiti drink in a quart container for about $12 US to drink on your deck on both islands. So good. Like the best rum punch you will ever have. The drinks at the resort were about $15 each and the ones we had were not good. We purchased in the local grocery store. The beach and Lagoon have a very corraly beach. Don't forget your water shoes. You will need them or have cut up feet. If we were to go again we might rent a car the first day to do some touring ourself and go to the ATM and grocery store. A 5 minute taxi ride to a tiny grocery was $40. We spent about $80 buying water, soda, beer and snacks. A litre bottle of water at resort and restaurants was about $15. We had wanted to go to a big grocery but something was lost in translation. Most of the restaurants pick you up and return you after dinner. Be warned not to be in a hurry as you may have to wait for the ride to return and perhaps for another couple to finish eating before returning. We were not in a hurry but another couple at one restaurant had a temper tantrum because they had to wait for the couple that came in their shuttle to finish eating. Moorea is beautiful. The service at this resort was excellent. I know a small amt of French and they helped me. I highly recommend buying souvenirs in the airport in Moorea. The prices for everything were way cheaper than anywhere else in Moorea, Bora Bora and Tahiti. C'est Magnifique!!!

Room Tip: Get a luxury bungalow on the right side of the water bungalows. The ones on the left had deeper and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier D, General Manager at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dears,

What a great review you just gave us. Thank you so very much to have taken the time to post such great comments. We love to receive and read awesome feedbacks such as yours.

French Polynesia has so much to offer and to be discovered for.

I'm really glad you had a great time here. And I'm looking forward to have you staying with us again soon.

Best regards from Moorea

Olivier De Ronseray
General Manager
Sofitel Ia Ora Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Level Contributor
146 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We spent 4 nights in an lagoon view bungalow, which was nice and roomy but not 5 star quality.

We ate at Pure twice and found the food choices very limiting, thus we opted to eat outside of the resort after experiencing the restaurant's food and slow service. We usually aren't needy people who have to be checked on so often, but when we cannot track down someone to get our check so we can leave, we get pretty cranky. I would not like to spend all my time just sitting around waiting indoors.

WiFi is not complimentary, but if you sign up for their club card you get a free hour everyday. I found this to be absurd. Other hotels provided WiFi free of charge.

Location was pretty isolated and was not within walking distance anywhere. The hotel should have provided some type of shuttle or transportation options for the guest like the Sofitel in Bora Bora

Only thing we liked about this hotel was the beach, everything else was mediocre and I wouldn't book here again. I would try the Pearl or Hilton if I were to visit Moorea again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queenieduong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier D, General Manager at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dears,

Thank you for your review and comments. We appreciate all feedbacks as it's always a constructive for us to improve our level of services.

I'm sorry to read that your stay with us was not up to your expectations. Costumer satisfaction is our #1 goal, and we strive to continuously deliver quality service.

Sofiltel Ia Ora Beach Resort does have the best beach spot of the island, but let's not forget that Moorea is also a remote island and everything is little far from where we are. But it also contribute to the charm of the hotel. French Polynesia is all about being remote from everything and everywhere.

Hoping you'll stay with us again in one of our location worldwide.

Regards

Olivier De Ronseray
General Manager
Sofitel Ia Ora Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We had a wonderful stay on Moorea at the Sofitel. The only reason I didn't give this resort 5 stars was because for a Sofitel, the service in the restaurants left something to be desired.

Good things first: The property is absolutely gorgeous. We were upgraded to a luxury overwater bungalow for free when we had paid for a superior overwater bungalow. The bungalows are very lovely: super comfortable bed, wonderful overwater porch and outdoor shower, espresso machine in the room, beautiful bathroom and shower. There is A/C in the bungalows, but we found that the ceiling fan with open patio doors was very comfortable. The pool is not very big but is super nice and has the bar right there next to it. The beach was also very nice. There are two options for restaurants. We did the tasting menu one night at the K Restaurant, which was great. At Pure, they have a Polynesian show several nights per week.

Again, my only real beef is with the service. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Especially the front desk staff. But in the restaurants (which are billed as fine dining, 5-star joints), it just seemed like the service was not well coordinated at times. At breakfast we sometimes had to ask several times before coffee was brought to the table. At our dinner meals, the check was presented before we asked for it. The somelier came by our table AFTER we had ordered wine. Food was basically just brought to our table and dropped off; there wasn't much discussion about it or really any additional fanfare surrounding the meals. I wonder if this is in some way related to language, as many of the staff seemed to speak conversational English only? This did not spoil our experience by any means, but when you're staying at a 5 star resort and eating pricey dinners, it would be nice to have those little touches that you expect dining at a restaurant of similar caliber, say, in the US.

Room Tip: If looking for overwater bungalows, I recommend #s 110 and higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABQTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier D, General Manager at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dears,

Thank you for your review. We love to receive feedbacks from our guests, as it is the best tool for us to improve our level of services.

I see that your comments are overall satisfactory and you enjoyed your stay in our property, but your experience on our outlets was not up to your expectations. And for that, I'm sorry.
Your comments will be shared with the differents departments involved. As I'm sure it will help them in delivering better services and understand guests' expectations.

Looking forward to have you staying again with us in one of our Sofitel worldwide.

Regards from Moorea

Olivier De Ronseray
General Manager
Sofitel Ia Ora Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Allthough we have been there some time ago, I just need to reinforce that it is well worth it. The reef is gorgeous and if you can book an overwater bungalow, than do so. It is more than you ever dreamed. We liked it far better than Bora Bora or the Maldives.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Li3z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier D, General Manager at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dears,

Thank you for your great review.
I'm really glad to see that you second stay was as satisfying as the first one. And thank you also for being such faithful clients of us.

Your comments will be shared with the entire team, as I'm sure it will serve as a great encouragement to all of them.

Looking forward to have you staying with us again, here in Moorea, or in one of our location worldwide.

Best regards

Olivier De Ronseray
General Manager
Sofitel Ia Ora Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We just got home from this vacation of a lifetime and our first stop was Moorea and we stayed at Sofitel! Top notch all the way! Richard Bondurant at Custom Tahiti Travel did an amazing job of planning the perfect vacation for us!!

Room Tip: Overwater Bungalow as far out on the pier as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skilover7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier D, General Manager at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dears,

Thank you for your great review, and thank you to Richard to have send you to us.
I'm really glad to see that you had a great time among us.

And please, enjoy New-Orleans, the small apple, for the holidays !! City that I love

Best regards from Moorea

Olivier De Ronseray
General Manager
Sofitel Ia Ora Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swedesboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort for three nights before boarding a Paul Gauguin cruise. We arrived really early in the morning and the room was not ready yet, but they let us change into our bathing suits and held our luggage while we hung out by the pool. The room ended up being ready a couple hours sooner than promised. We had a deluxe over-water bungalow and it was great. The bed with the mosquito netting draped over it, the wall of windows looking out over the ocean, the window in the floor with views of the fish below, the two-tiered deck with water access, and the indoor-outdoor shower were all highlights. We couldn't have been more please with the room.
We ate all of our meals on-property (we were with a group and breakfast was included in our package deal). It was very expensive (as is everything in French Polynesia) and just okay. My biggest complaint was the bar service. Since we didn't drink in any other bars I don't know if it's like this all over FP, but the bartenders would give you the makings of a drink instead of a drink. When I ordered a vodka tonic, I was served a can of tonic, a glass of ice, and a shot of vodka. When I ordered a Bloody Mary I was served a glass of tomato juice, a bottle of Worcestershire sauce, a pepper shaker, and a shot of vodka. Strange.
Overall, our stay was wonderful and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Definitely go with an over-water bungalow! Totally worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J9NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maharepa
2.9 mi away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
12.2 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
3.6 mi away
Hotel Kaveka
Hotel Kaveka
#4 of 4 in Maharepa
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Club Bali Hai Moorea Hotel
9.9 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus
Hotel Hibiscus
#2 of 2 in Papetoai
659 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort

Property: Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort
Address: B.P. 28, Moorea, Maharepa 98728, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Maharepa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Maharepa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort is located on the North-East Coast of the island, just 5 minutes away from Temae airport, Vaiare ferries docks, the 18 holes international golf course designed by Jack Nicklaus®. This landmark hotel is built on the longest and most beautiful white sand beach of the island, within a protected marine area maintained by the CRIOBE®.From this hotel, guests have a unique panoramic view on the lagoon and the island of Tahiti. The hotel offers a wide range of accommodation with a total of 113 Luxury Bungalows located in the gardens, directly on the beach or over the water. Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora has the only Luxury Beach Bungalows on Moorea that have unobstructed views of the island of Tahiti, located directly on the beach. Historically, this hotel is the first of the island that built bungalows over the water. Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora has now the largest Luxury Overwater Bungalows in Moorea (83 sq. meters).Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora also features 1 Luxury Villa with 2 bedrooms (150 sq.meters). It has 2 bathrooms, 1 lounge, 1 deck and 1 outdoor jacuzzi®, with a direct access into the lagoon and panoramic views of the island of Tahiti.Dine in Polynesian authenticity at the Pure restaurant with outdoor terrace dining offering complimentary and traditional dance shows every night or choose the barefoot elegance of K restaurant, gourmet dining, feet in the sand experience, with a unique dance show.For light snacks and exotic cocktails or premium alcohols while admiring the view, try the Vue bar overlooking the infinity pool, the lagoon and Tahiti with weekly live concerts. For light snacks and exotic cocktails during a farniente day on the beach, only steps away from the lagoon, try the Beach bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Hotel Maharepa
Sofitel Moorea Beach Resort
Sofitel Maharepa
Maharepa Sofitel
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort French Polynesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing