We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect lagoon location - pity about the construction noise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Maharepa
Melbourne
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The perfect lagoon location - pity about the construction noise”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just stayed five days at this gorgeous location. Loved the gardens, the quiet Eurpean feel, the traditional buildings. Definitely worth taking an overwayer bungalow - swimming and snorkelling of the deck was amazing. Had the best ever relaxation massage at the spa. English speaking guests appeared in the minority - most of the staff are cheerfully multilingual. I absolutely adored this place but I am frustrated that for most of our stay we had 8-9 hours a day of banging and drilling from the construction of a pegola thing very close to the OWBs - considering the extreme tranquility of the resort I was stunned that this wasnt worth a mention or an apology even afer I veryolitely asked the recpetionist to speak to the manager and ensure he appreciatwd how loud t was. The noise genuinely reduced the enjoyment of the guests and there are many ways thr hotel management coud have acjnowledged this. So I conclude - gorgeous place but a serious lapse of judgement by the management, hence 4 points rather than 5.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier D, General Manager at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dears,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback.

I would like first to present my apologies for the inconvenience of the construction during your stay. Those repairs were unfortunately out of our control, and we had no other choice at this time but to do those repairs.
On the other end, I will check directly with my staff why, regardless of my directive, nothing was done for you to make your stay more enjoyable.

Your comments will be shared with our entire team. I am sure this feedback will serve as a training tools, to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Sincerely,

Olivier De Ronseray
General Manager
Sofitel Ia Ora Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,725
    719
    200
    87
    52
See reviews for
221
2,152
47
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Loved the fact that the best snorkeling was right off our balcony! We saw something new everyday! Our over water bungalow was a bit small but coming here after spending 5 days in Bora Bora at the St. Regis, we were a bit spoiled on room size. The snorkeling along with the view made up for it. This resort is located on the best beach on the island and is a marine reserve. The snorkeling off the balcony was even better than Bora Bora! Housekeeping would leave a plate of fresh island fruits and waters everyday and French macaroons at turndown which was a nice touch. The room was very clean and the property is breath taking! Be sure to understand your meal plan before you decide where to eat at the resort. This got a bit confusing here. They have a high end restaurant here but is very pricey and not worth it if you have the meal plan, as you will have to pay an extra charge. The 2 onsite restaurants are Pure and K. Note K is the high end one. It was very good but not worth the money for us. Pure is the other (which was included in our meal plan so there was no cost for our dinner or breakfasts) which provides a nice buffet breakfast and dinner. There is a nightly performance here while dining worth seeing. Do note they have bikes, kayaks, paddle boards and more, available for RENTAL. So plan on that expense. Surprisingly more families here than expected. If planning a trip here with young ones check out discount airfares on air Tahiti. This would be a great Island to take a family trip. To circumvent the island in a rental car only took us a few hours and that was taking lots of stops to see all the sights. Be sure to check out the pineapple plant and the beach at hotel Tipanier. The kite surfing here is Amazing!! The Sofitel is very close to either the ferry or airport so this would depend on which you would prefer and your budget. Be sure to pack your bug spray and some afterbite just incase. The no see ems will get you here if you're not prepared.

Room Tip: The over waters are amazing but the others seemed pretty nice also. Some are just off the beach and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1porterpup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier D, General Manager at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dears,

Thank you so much for your comments regarding your stay with us at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback. And thank you to have taken the time to do it.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure your observation will serve as an encouragement, and training tools, to all of our staff, as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Olivier De Ronseray
General Manager
Sofitel Ia Ora Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We began our dream honeymoon at the Sofitel in Moorea. They picked us up from the ferry dock and brought us to the resort for check-in. They welcome you with flower leis and juice, which is very nice. We arrived very early in the morning and our room was not going to be ready until the afternoon, plus it began to rain, so we couldn't exactly walk around to kill time. We slept in the lobby until we had a room to go to. Luckily the lobby was very pretty with lots of seating, so it wasn't a terrible place to be. They had automatically upgraded us to a better suite (Luxury Beach Bungalow), which was great! Our hut was literally RIGHT on the beach, with the ocean straight in front of us. The resort does also have over-water bungalows, but I might say that being directly on their gorgeous beach was better (especially if you are going to be traveling to other islands during your visit to French Polynesia where you'll be staying in an over-water bungalow elsewhere). I loved the Gauguin-inspired headboard in our room, and the bed was very comfortable. Everything was clean and we loved the beautiful bathroom that featured an *almost* outdoor shower. We used room service once during our stay and the food arrived promptly and was delicious. They have two restaurants on the property, one called K and one called Pure. K is nice because it has a sand floor and they have dancers that perform while you eat. The food was very good there, and definitely more on a gourmet scale. Pure is the main restaurant where they serve buffet breakfasts and also buffet dinners. I loved all of the French breads that they would serve every day, and make sure to try the tiare jam!!! The beach is fabulous and we saw many breath-taking sunrises! The only problem is that it gets a little bit congested during the day, it was nice being able to snorkel right at our beach though. The grounds of the resort were very beautiful and the view of Tahiti was stunning at all times of day. We went on the Moorea Circle Island Tour excursion, and it was a great way to see all of the sights on the island. I would recommend this tour. Every Thursday they do a traditional Polynesian in-ground oven, which is very interesting to see. They then serve the food from the oven in the buffet that night as well as putting on a dance. The internet is a big problem at this resort. You can pay extra to have access to the WiFi... But it barely works. It's not worth it to pay for it, and if they're going to charge so much for it, it should at least work. Moorea is quite laid-back, which is important to keep in mind if you're expecting French Polynesia to be super luxurious. This place is more of a beach haven.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoldyLox8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier D, General Manager at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dears,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement, and training tools, to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Olivier De Ronseray
General Manager
Sofitel Ia Ora Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed here to celebrate our Honeymoon. It was a wonderful trip. We loved our bungalow! It had the lagoon in front of it with a beach that was shared with the 2 or 3 other bungalows surrounding it. We were lucky to enjoy the lagoon almost exclusively to ourselves during our stay. The room was very spacious with gorgeous views. We were able to relax and spend time together soaking up the sun, snorkeling in the lagoon and eating great food. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet every morning (it was included in our stay). The wait staff were always warm and wonderful! We only had an issue with one of the concierges (Adelaide) who was rather rude to us because we did not speak French. Sofia, who did not speak any English, was more helpful to us than she was. The spa was wonderful for massages! We also enjoyed the one night we spend in an over water bungalow. It was beautiful!! We would love to come back and stay at this resort in the future :) It was very relaxing and special for us!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jaquie34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier D, General Manager at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dears,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement, and training tools, to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Olivier De Ronseray
General Manager
Sofitel Ia Ora Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed at the hotel in August 2013, 26-27 degres and quite windy on the lagoon (overwater bungalows).
Very warm welcome and friendly service. Most staff from Moorea/tahiti and proud to welcome you on their island. Very good service overall, very smiling staff. We definitely felt at ease there.
The beach is the most beautiful on the island, in terms of colors, view (tahiti island), beautiful fish (you can walk in the sea and see them without snorkelling), the sand is white but not thin though, sometimes hurts your feet. Make sure to bring coral reef shoes if you do want to walk further away. The beach is quite long, you can easily walk from the hotel to the other end.
Two restaurants: K and Pure. Pure serves snacks for lunch and buffet or a la carte menu in the evening.The food is very good, healthy and quite varied, the portions are not big though. K is more gastronomical, the portions are still quite small but it is excellent. The restaurant is right on the beach and has a beautiful setting. Only bfast was included in our booking, the prices at both restaurants were reasonable (for Swiss standards) if you don't take any appetizer or dessert. bfast is average (if you're looking for continental bfast such as cereals/juice/fruit/bread). Didn't have pancakes, eggs or any other of the hot dishes. No freshly squeezed juice, the bread is hardly eatable (no taste).
Luxury overwater bungalows are spacious, very nice bathroom and terrace, but quite windy so cannot really enjoy direct access to sea. Bungalow 116 is right in the middle of coral reef, so difficult to swim there.
Wifi could be complimentary, at least in the lobby or at the restaurants. Otherwise about $5/hour. Wifi does work quite well around the hotel though.
Cab fare from the airport: 1500XPF.
Moorea is beautiful, rent a car, going around the island will take about 2-3h, no restaurants/shops nearby, but a supermarket by the harbor.

Room Tip: Luxury bungalows (116) are very spacious, really nice bathroom, terrace, beautiful view but quite wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vaneCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier D, General Manager at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dears,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement, and training tools, to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Olivier De Ronseray
General Manager
Sofitel Ia Ora Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Location is very good in one of best beaches of the island. It's unfortunate that there is a too laid back approach from the staff and attention to details. Sunbeds are cheap and not enough for the guests, the beach is full of broken corals and seaweed broght from the rough sea. There is no luxury in the service you receive despite paying for it. The bungalows on the other hand are very confortable and bathrooms are to dream of! Do not pay extra for the beach front, you can see the sea from the garden ones. Everything is to be paid extra, 5€/h for internet is a rip off! Food is very good, so is the wine selection but table service is far from being a luxury standard, included a cat going around during breakfast. Staff not professional enough for a self called and priced luxury hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carlettog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier D, General Manager at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dears,

Thank you to have taken the time to share your comments with us regarding your stay at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort. We make an opportunity to every and any feedback we receive.

I'm sorry to read that your experience here was not up to your expectation. French Polynesia and Moorea are expensive destination. Expensive for our guest and also for us, as hotel operator.
To be able to provide a wifi connection (and some other amenities) on a small island in the south pacific is truly an high tech performance and it does have a cost. A small fraction of this cost is being billed to our guest.
Let's not forget that Moorea is located at 8hrs flight from the first land. And most of everything has to been directly imported to Moorea.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. Your comments will be passed along the teams.

Best regards from Moorea
Sincerely,

Olivier De Ronseray
General Manager
Sofitel Ia Ora Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We often stay at Sofitel hotels but this was the least satisfactory we have encountered and, in the opinion of our party of two couples, did not meet international standards..
Our reception on arrival was excessively drawn out. Names on our booking form were misspelt, we were told we were booked on a pre-paid breakfast and lunch basis. Under protest the receptionist consulted someone higher up the chain and finally agreed the half board was breakfast and dinner.
We were booked into two separate bungalows but all luggage was delivered to one.
The lock on bungalow 504 was broken. It took two separate technicians to get it operating but was not fully repaired three days later. The safe in room 504 also failed to open and had to be taken away for repairs.
The room guest book was written in French and English but the English version left out important information included in the French version (potability of tap water and basis of supply of bottled water was one example). The form for reconfirmation of onward flights was written purely in French.
For three days our restaurant bill was inaccurate with attempts to bill one or other of the couples on an a la carte basis.
In most sea resort hotels non- motorised equipment like kayaks is included in the price. Sofitel Moorea wanted in excess of XPF 1000 per hour for the use of a kayak.
The WIFI service was so slow it was not worth paying the hourly charge.
Against this the staff were generally warm, friendly and helpful, except they usually did not speak English. The Bungalow was spacious, well equipped and with an excellent King sized bed. The Pearl Restaurant food was generally very well prepared and in good variety and quantity.
The problem with Sofitel Moorea for non French speakers seems to lie in the inefficiency of the management and the systems they have in place. An attempt to meet with the reception manageress to discuss concerns appeared to be deliberately blocked. Despite a prior appointment she appeared only just as we were boarding our departure vehicle.

Room Tip: Garden room 504 was well sited close to reception, beach and restaurants. I would not pay the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GrahamChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier D, General Manager at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dears,

I'm very sorry to read that your stay among us was not up to your expectations, as it seems that you encoutered several issues.Thank you to have taken the time to share it with us.

We are aware that barrier language remains a limitation to our service excellence for our international guests, and we are working diligently in providing adequat training

The challenges you have mentionned have been shared with the entire team and will help us in delivering better services in the future.

Hoping to have you staying again with us in one of our property worldwide.

Regards

Olivier De Ronseray
General Manager
Sofitel Ia Ora Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maharepa
2.9 mi away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
12.2 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
3.5 mi away
Club Bali Hai Moorea Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel Kaveka
Hotel Kaveka
#4 of 4 in Maharepa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus
Hotel Hibiscus
#2 of 2 in Papetoai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort

Property: Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort
Address: B.P. 28, Moorea, Maharepa 98728, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Maharepa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Maharepa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort is located on the North-East Coast of the island, just 5 minutes away from Temae airport, Vaiare ferries docks, the 18 holes international golf course designed by Jack Nicklaus®. This landmark hotel is built on the longest and most beautiful white sand beach of the island, within a protected marine area maintained by the CRIOBE®.From this hotel, guests have a unique panoramic view on the lagoon and the island of Tahiti. The hotel offers a wide range of accommodation with a total of 113 Luxury Bungalows located in the gardens, directly on the beach or over the water. Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora has the only Luxury Beach Bungalows on Moorea that have unobstructed views of the island of Tahiti, located directly on the beach. Historically, this hotel is the first of the island that built bungalows over the water. Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora has now the largest Luxury Overwater Bungalows in Moorea (83 sq. meters).Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora also features 1 Luxury Villa with 2 bedrooms (150 sq.meters). It has 2 bathrooms, 1 lounge, 1 deck and 1 outdoor jacuzzi®, with a direct access into the lagoon and panoramic views of the island of Tahiti.Dine in Polynesian authenticity at the Pure restaurant with outdoor terrace dining offering complimentary and traditional dance shows every night or choose the barefoot elegance of K restaurant, gourmet dining, feet in the sand experience, with a unique dance show.For light snacks and exotic cocktails or premium alcohols while admiring the view, try the Vue bar overlooking the infinity pool, the lagoon and Tahiti with weekly live concerts. For light snacks and exotic cocktails during a farniente day on the beach, only steps away from the lagoon, try the Beach bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cancelon, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Hotel Maharepa
Sofitel Moorea Beach Resort
Sofitel Maharepa
Maharepa Sofitel
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort French Polynesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing