We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely would come back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Maharepa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed for 5 days there before moving on to another island, and I must say it was one of a kind stay... I was really impressed with the place.

We stayed in an overwater bungalow (217), on the furthest place from land. It was just perfect to wake up in the morning, open the courtain and see nothing but the sea and Tahiti in front. The bungalow was very clean, people were always nice and room service perfect. We did not even went to the beach because diving there in the surroundings of the bungalow was really cool.

On the food side, breakfast was good but in the restaurant it was kind of repetitive and with too much sweet sauce (vanilla, coconut) for my european liking, but again this is a personal opinion that doesn't tuch nothing the whole experience.

We went around the island in a rented car, and for me the hotel is situated in the best possible place.

If I ever go back to FP, will definitevely stay again before moving on.

Room Tip: In overwater bungalows, the 217, 216, 218 are the best situated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,054)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

930 - 936 of 3,054 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

We returned last month from a 6 night stay at the Sofitel, and our experience was outstanding. The property is exceptional - just a few minutes from the ferry landing on a spectacular protected lagoon. Flowering trees, koi ponds, well manicured lawns; everything was beautiful. We stayed in a beachfront bungalow the first few nights and moved into #120 luxury overwater bungalow the last few nights; which has to be about the best room there. Located at the end of the pier, it was more private and quieter and had an unobstructed view across the water to Tahiti.
We found the breakfast to be quite good - strong coffee, omelets cooked to your specifications, plenty of juice, fruit, pastries, cereals, pancakes, etc. We had a very enjoyable dinner at the K restaurant was well. Enjoyed a happy hour or two at the bar also. Received a very enjoyable massage at the spa; super relaxing.
We did not experience the sort of issues I've seen mentioned in some other reviews. Service was very good to excellent for us. Cooks at breakfast were quick to please. We had an issue with the locking mechanism on a door and it was quickly fixed. A concierge stepped in and saved the day when a tour abruptly cancelled one morning by rebooking us elsewhere. The cleaning staff were outstanding. The bar was busy and loud Friday night, but never were we adversely affected by parties, locals, etc.
We loved our OWB and did not want to leave. The bed was so comfortable, we slept extremely well. We loved sitting on our deck. We were up most mornings at sunrise to watch the light. Snorkeling right off our deck was extremely good - I kept seeing more and more marine life the more times we went out including rays and eels.
You can get along quite well without leaving the resort, if that is your desire. Plenty of food options, a large enough place that you can find your privacy, a variety of exercise possibilities, and the fantastic lagoon.
A few specifics:
Do be aware the water south of the pier is rocky/full of corals and not a place to swim. You will want to have water shoes or fins on. North of the bungalows, the white sand beach is the primary swimming area.
You can pickup snorkel and fins that you can keep for the duration of your stay.
I rented a bike (by the hour) and road down to the Champion Grocery - less than 15 minutes away.
Really not anything at all to walk to; maybe one pearl store across the street.
The pareo show in the restaurant in the evenings is entertaining and educational.
We did have pizza delivered on day; I believe it was from Allo's and was dropped off at the front gate.
We made our arrangements through Jackie at Custom Tahiti Travel; who was very professional and extremely patient and helpful.
During our visit we also went our with ATV Moorea, rented a car and circled the island one day, and had the motu picnic/shark and ray experience with Albert Tours. We had dinners out at Rudy's and Les Tipaniers and a fantastic lunch at the not to be missed Snack Mahana.
That's about it. We really believe this was a perfect place for our honeymoon (both the island of Moorea and the Sofitel) and we really appreciate everyone at the Sofitel and the other people who took care of us along the way. Plenty of beautiful memories we';; keep until we can return...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coastaleddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Sofitel supposedly sells you magnifique experiences... Unfortunately, we felt overcharged for an average vacation at this hotel. The good news are that my comments are mostly about service - and that can be easily improved!

Location
Sofitel Morea is located on a beach, very close both to the ferry port (where boats arrive from Papeete) and to the airport.
As for the beach, although the sand is white and the sea is of postcard blue, it has many coral sediments and therefore it is not soft to walk on. (You may want to bring those shoes to wear in the beach) We enjoyed snorkelling there, though!

Activities
If you're planning to have an active vacation, don't come here. Besides snorkelling, there are only a few sports activities at the hotel (kayak, paddle) and they all are paid for! (Even aquagym!) Also, there is no gym and the pool is too small to swim in (but quite nice, actually, except on weekends, when it gets full of locals and very noisy)
We did a full day excursion in the hotel boat. It is a good option to get to know the island, and to do the typical sharks & rays experience. Only two comments for the hotel: please try to start on time, and don’t advertise you will offer cocktails when there are only soft drinks on board.

Rooms
We stayed in a beach luxury room. Be aware that the rooms farthest away from the reception (in this category, 401 is the closest, 425 is the farthest) are in a zone of the beach particularly full of coral sediments and rocks and therefore is not pleasant.
Rooms were spacious and clean. On the downside: the bathroom got really hot during the day, service was unreliable (we broke a glass once and called housekeeping but no one came over to clean it), and the bed wasn't comfortable (we had 2 single beds together instead of one king bed).

Food and restaurants
Breakfast was good, but I missed some healthy options (e.g., no skim milk).
Dinner at main restaurant was quite good on the first nights - we had half board and we were given a choice of a starter, a main course and dessert. However, on our last night, a Friday, the hotel got full of locals and they served a buffet dinner, instead. Food quality dropped significantly. For lunch, there were several good a la carte options (including salads). We did not try the specialty restaurant since no one was able to tell us how much more we would need to pay (!).

Service
Service was very poor. There was no reliable time for pool service (towels, etc.) to open – and the same applied to the water activities boot (where they give you the fins). Anytime we tried to call housekeeping or room service, it took hours. Reception staff always doubted what you told them. And so on…

Room Tip: I would't go for a beach bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank worldtrav11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The Sofitel La Ora was located next to a beautiful beach on a wonderful lagoon and amazing view of Tahiti. My husband and I stayed at another hotel on a different part of Moorea and the beach was much better at the Sofitel. The snorkeling here was good but there are other locations that are better.

The Bungalow was amazing. We had a Garden Bungalow and honestly it was great. It was clean, spacious and had an amazing shower and plenty of storage to unpack and feel at home.

Everyone was very helpful and we were impressed with the staff's English.

The only thing I would mark the hotel down on was the food options. At the restaurant Pure there was the same menu for Lunch and Dinner and everything I tried was not very good. My husband liked a few of his meals so maybe its just my taste.

Overall it was a great stay! I would highly recommend the Sofitel if you are staying in Moorea.

Ann

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank akhid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed in a garden bungalow close by the restaurant. No problem with traffic and noise at all. Our room was roomy and clean. The restaurant staff were friendly and attentive. Breakfast was good with good selections but the a la carte was disappointing. The fish entrée was dry and chewy. Didn't have a chance to try the gourmet restaurant.

This hotel is located in the east side of the island and not close to the market. The concierge is very helpful in making arrangements for transportation though.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamam201305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Having stayed at many Sofitel hotels before, I chose to spend a couple of days at the Sofitel Moorea while visiting this tropical island. The location of the resort is beautiful and the beach in front of the hotel is one of the best in French Polynesia. Unfortunately, there was one issue that affected my positive overall experience of this place in a negative way. As far as I was able to find out, the hotel hosts regularly party weekends for the local youth – and one of these parties exactly took place during my stay. That day, the pool area was closed to all paying hotel guests and only partygoers were allowed to go there. At the same time, loud music was played and could be heard all over the resort. The pool area as well as the beach was crowded with young people getting drunk. Some partygoers stayed at the hotel for the night, which is why they continued their private party with their own music and alcohol on the balcony of their villa, a long time after the official party was over. It was impossible to find a good sleep until late at night. This is not how I expected my stay at the Sofitel Moorea to be, especially because I didn’t receive any pre-notice about this party taking place at the hotel premises. Should you plan to spend a couple of quiet and relaxing days at the Sofitel Moorea (and the place is really great as long as there is no party!), check with the hotel first if one of these events is planned during your stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank globaltraveller_1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here for four nights in one of the over the water bungalows. The view was incredible, and the room great. The beach is one of the better beaches on the island. Snorkeling off the balcony was good, but we had been spoiled by better snorkeling one of the other islands.
My preference is for a little less luxury, but it was a great experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinnesotaFamily2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maharepa
2.9 mi away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
12.2 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
8.8 mi away
Fenua Mata'i'oa
Fenua Mata'i'oa
#1 of 1 in Haapiti
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus
Hotel Hibiscus
#2 of 2 in Papetoai
740 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Kaveka
Hotel Kaveka
#4 of 4 in Maharepa
304 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort

Address: B.P. 28, Moorea, Maharepa 98728, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Maharepa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Maharepa
Price Range: $403 - $629 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort is located on the North-East Coast of the island, just 5 minutes away from Temae airport, Vaiare ferries docks, the 18 holes international golf course designed by Jack Nicklaus®. This landmark hotel is built on the longest and most beautiful white sand beach of the island, within a protected marine area maintained by the CRIOBE®.From this hotel, guests have a unique panoramic view on the lagoon and the island of Tahiti. The hotel offers a wide range of accommodation with a total of 113 Luxury Bungalows located in the gardens, directly on the beach or over the water. Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora has the only Luxury Beach Bungalows on Moorea that have unobstructed views of the island of Tahiti, located directly on the beach. Historically, this hotel is the first of the island that built bungalows over the water. Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora has now the largest Luxury Overwater Bungalows in Moorea (83 sq. meters).Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora also features 1 Luxury Villa with 2 bedrooms (150 sq.meters). It has 2 bathrooms, 1 lounge, 1 deck and 1 outdoor jacuzzi®, with a direct access into the lagoon and panoramic views of the island of Tahiti.Dine in Polynesian authenticity at the Pure restaurant with outdoor terrace dining offering complimentary and traditional dance shows every night or choose the barefoot elegance of K restaurant, gourmet dining, feet in the sand experience, with a unique dance show.For light snacks and exotic cocktails or premium alcohols while admiring the view, try the Vue bar overlooking the infinity pool, the lagoon and Tahiti with weekly live concerts. For light snacks and exotic cocktails during a farniente day on the beach, only steps away from the lagoon, try the Beach bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Prestigia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Hotel Maharepa
Sofitel Moorea Beach Resort
Sofitel Maharepa
Maharepa Sofitel
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort French Polynesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing