We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Kaveka(Maharepa)
$174
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$284
$272
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Village Temanoha(Cook's Bay)(Great Value!)
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$394
$345
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$294
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$290
$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Hotel Les Tipaniers(Moorea)(Great Value!)
$150
$139
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Hotel Hibiscus(Papetoai)(Great Value!)
$157
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$396
$352
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (3,127)
Filter reviews
3,127 results
Traveler rating
1,968
790
215
95
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,968
790
215
95
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden bungalowour honeymoonfishfrench polynesialuxury overwater bungalowvue barrented a carbreakfast buffetbeach baroutdoor showertravel agentlagoon viewbeautiful propertysnorkel gearentire staydream come truebucket list
Filter
Updating list...
980 - 985 of 3,127 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We spent 3nights at the Sofitel in a garden bungalow. Having been to the islands before we were fine not having the overwater bungalow for our entire 2week vacation, and were definitely not disappointed with the garden bungalow. The room is spacious, well laid out, nice big bathroom, and chairs to relax on the deck. The TV was surprisingly small, but this wasn't an issue as we weren't on vacation to stay in our room to watch TV, were were there for the sun and water and views! Our garden bungalow was still within easy walking distance of the lagoon for swimming, and a short walk from the restaurant/bar/pool and gorgeous beach. The Sofitel beach is absolutely amazing. White sand, clear calm waters, and great snorkeling just a short swim out from the beach! We had the half-board, which included breakfast buffet which is a great way to start the day. Made to order eggs and pancakes, assortment of fruits, cheeses and meats, and more. We dined at the restaurant and were treated to an unexpected dance show, definitely ask which nights there are dancers, as it was a pleasant surprise....they even came around to all the tables to sprinkle flowers! We arranged our vacation through Pacific For Less, with Claudia, and she worked hard to get us the vacation we were looking for (4islands over 2weeks, at nice hotels, for a great deal). Highly recommend both Pacific For Less and staying at the Sofitel Moorea!

Room Tip: Garden bungalows are available on either side of the main building, and the beach and restaurants are all located on one side. If you'd like a shorter walk to food and beach, ask for bungalows closer to the beach/restaurant side.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Sofitel Mo'orea was amazing. We stayed in a garden bungalow with a decent view of the lagoon (there were large tropical plants slightly obstructing our view of the water, but it very private). The rooms were small but were better than we'd expected. The water in the lagoon is crystal clear and great for snorkeling and the beach is large enough to not feel crowded. Everything at the Sofitel was top-notch and we were treated extremely well the 3 days we were there. The staff was exceptionally friendly and spoke english very well - they also encouraged us to learn the island dialect which we attempted throughout our stay. Since breakfast was free with our package, we ate enough to cover lunch which worked to dampen the sticker shock at dinner. We found the best option for us was the restaurant dinner buffet which offered all-you-can-eat variety and was themed differently each night. There was never a wait for breakfast or dinner or any other functions (check in/out etc.) in our experience. As far as activities, free snorkeling equipment was easy to check out and highly recommended. Our last day we took the island excursion which ran around $80 or so per person, but it was worth it in our opinion. We swam with sharks/rays and was a great way to see the entire island. There are certain times throughout the year that whales are viewable. The 2-man crew took HD video and photos throughout the excursion and offered a package (around $80) - we asked and were able to look at some of the video before deciding on whether to purchase. The island provides many additional activities, but we chose to just relax for most of our stay. If we are able to return we will definitely choose the Sofitel again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisC521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We arrived at the hotel at 7am in the morning and we were out by the pool by 8am. Our room was ready at 10am, but unfortunately it was next to construction on the next door hut. Very noisy and we hoped it would stop in the late afternoon. By 4pm they were still hammering and sawing, so I called to complain. Talk about PERFECT CUSTOMER SERVICE!!! They immediately got us another room.. and it was an over-water hut. My hubby and I spent 2 beautiful nights in absolute peace and quiet and with a view to die for. Everyone at the hotel was gracious, friendly and there to make our time the best it could be. Thank you all who worked so hard to make the most of our time. We set up 2 tours and they were absolutely fantastic! Thank you for making a dream come true!!!

Room Tip: We originally booked a lagoon view hut, which would have been fine (if there was no construction going on) and to be honest all the huts seemed very nice!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank love_to_travel32825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

What a pleasant experience thank you Jack from custom tahiti vacations the weather was beautiful!!! The food was excellent the over water bungalow was beautiful the snorkeling under the bungalow was really amazing !!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jsurfsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

If you want a piece of heaven then this is the place to go to. From the moment you arrive in this Island Paradise, the staff and management bend over backwards to make your stay as comfortable as possible - they are an absolute delight!

The beautiful accommodation is dotted amongst picturesque gardens and the lagoon is abundant with coral and marine life - which I found hard to keep out of.

There is no real need to dine outside of the Sofitel Moorea as the restaurants are situated on the lagoon. The food is delicious and if you require special service then nothing is too much of a problem for the staff or management to do for you - I have read a complaint listed here on trip adviser and can only suggest that those people not return so as to keep the harmonious atmosphere in tact.

We cannot wait to book our next holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pocahontas881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews