We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sofitel Mo'orea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Maharepa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Sofitel Mo'orea was amazing. We stayed in a garden bungalow with a decent view of the lagoon (there were large tropical plants slightly obstructing our view of the water, but it very private). The rooms were small but were better than we'd expected. The water in the lagoon is crystal clear and great for snorkeling and the beach is large enough to not feel crowded. Everything at the Sofitel was top-notch and we were treated extremely well the 3 days we were there. The staff was exceptionally friendly and spoke english very well - they also encouraged us to learn the island dialect which we attempted throughout our stay. Since breakfast was free with our package, we ate enough to cover lunch which worked to dampen the sticker shock at dinner. We found the best option for us was the restaurant dinner buffet which offered all-you-can-eat variety and was themed differently each night. There was never a wait for breakfast or dinner or any other functions (check in/out etc.) in our experience. As far as activities, free snorkeling equipment was easy to check out and highly recommended. Our last day we took the island excursion which ran around $80 or so per person, but it was worth it in our opinion. We swam with sharks/rays and was a great way to see the entire island. There are certain times throughout the year that whales are viewable. The 2-man crew took HD video and photos throughout the excursion and offered a package (around $80) - we asked and were able to look at some of the video before deciding on whether to purchase. The island provides many additional activities, but we chose to just relax for most of our stay. If we are able to return we will definitely choose the Sofitel again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisC521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,992)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

915 - 921 of 2,992 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

We arrived at the hotel at 7am in the morning and we were out by the pool by 8am. Our room was ready at 10am, but unfortunately it was next to construction on the next door hut. Very noisy and we hoped it would stop in the late afternoon. By 4pm they were still hammering and sawing, so I called to complain. Talk about PERFECT CUSTOMER SERVICE!!! They immediately got us another room.. and it was an over-water hut. My hubby and I spent 2 beautiful nights in absolute peace and quiet and with a view to die for. Everyone at the hotel was gracious, friendly and there to make our time the best it could be. Thank you all who worked so hard to make the most of our time. We set up 2 tours and they were absolutely fantastic! Thank you for making a dream come true!!!

Room Tip: We originally booked a lagoon view hut, which would have been fine (if there was no construction goi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank love_to_travel32825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

What a pleasant experience thank you Jack from custom tahiti vacations the weather was beautiful!!! The food was excellent the over water bungalow was beautiful the snorkeling under the bungalow was really amazing !!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jsurfsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

If you want a piece of heaven then this is the place to go to. From the moment you arrive in this Island Paradise, the staff and management bend over backwards to make your stay as comfortable as possible - they are an absolute delight!

The beautiful accommodation is dotted amongst picturesque gardens and the lagoon is abundant with coral and marine life - which I found hard to keep out of.

There is no real need to dine outside of the Sofitel Moorea as the restaurants are situated on the lagoon. The food is delicious and if you require special service then nothing is too much of a problem for the staff or management to do for you - I have read a complaint listed here on trip adviser and can only suggest that those people not return so as to keep the harmonious atmosphere in tact.

We cannot wait to book our next holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pocahontas881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

this hotel is first class in every way. Our room, a lagoon view room, was spacious and comfortable and steps from swimming in the lagoon. The hotel grounds are very spacious so the feeling is one of tranquility and quiet. The lagoon has enough coral to offer great snorkeling and beautiful fish. The gourmet restaurant "K" was excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Virginia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This place is gorgeous, has wonderful food, and a great lagoon for snorkeling.

Unfortunately, the Sofitel Moorea doesn't know how to handle customer service issues. We stayed during my husband's birthday, and I ordered him a special "surf and turf" birthday dinner. While the appetizer was excellent, the main course was unfortunately inedible: the steak wasn't cooked thoroughly and the lobster tail was too tough to even remove from the shell. The next morning on check out, I tried to explain the situation to the reception, but the staff wasn't interested in hearing my complaint. He instead asked me to fill out a comment card. I filled out the card, transcribing what I had just said in person to the card. A week later, I receive an automated email from the hotel asking me to fill out yet another survey. Again, I wrote of my experience. Now, more than a month later, no response from the hotel. Nothing as much as "we're sorry you had a bad experience", much less a refund for the meal, etc.

Five star resorts should handle situations like these with ease. Yet it's clear that neither the staff nor management is setup here to deal with issues like this. Really too bad, since the staff was generally friendly and the grounds are absolutely beautiful.

Room Tip: Garden bungalows are cheaper, but have mosquito problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Big deep happy sigh when I think back of our stay in the Sofitel on Mo´orea. The location in the lagoon is amazing, we loved just stepping in to the water with (complimentary) snorkel and flippers to go and watch the many fish that were swimming around. The over the water bungalow was spacious, well appointed and with a view to kill of Tahiti. We loved the a la carte dinner with a very entertaining traditional dance show (we skipped the Chinese buffet option that was available for Chinese NY - great that it was offered but we prefer to not to eat Chinese fried food on an island in the middle of a fish-filled Pacific. Enjoy the really fresh fish while you can.) For our 2nd night, we had Room service which was surprisingly affordable (we were expecting NYC prices) and well catered.
Worth every penny of the splurge!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeroen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maharepa
2.9 mi away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
12.2 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
8.8 mi away
Fenua Mata'i'oa
Fenua Mata'i'oa
#1 of 1 in Haapiti
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel Kaveka
Hotel Kaveka
#4 of 4 in Maharepa
301 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa
8.6 mi away
InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort

Address: B.P. 28, Moorea, Maharepa 98728, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Maharepa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Maharepa
Price Range: $344 - $801 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort is located on the North-East Coast of the island, just 5 minutes away from Temae airport, Vaiare ferries docks, the 18 holes international golf course designed by Jack Nicklaus®. This landmark hotel is built on the longest and most beautiful white sand beach of the island, within a protected marine area maintained by the CRIOBE®.From this hotel, guests have a unique panoramic view on the lagoon and the island of Tahiti. The hotel offers a wide range of accommodation with a total of 113 Luxury Bungalows located in the gardens, directly on the beach or over the water. Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora has the only Luxury Beach Bungalows on Moorea that have unobstructed views of the island of Tahiti, located directly on the beach. Historically, this hotel is the first of the island that built bungalows over the water. Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora has now the largest Luxury Overwater Bungalows in Moorea (83 sq. meters).Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora also features 1 Luxury Villa with 2 bedrooms (150 sq.meters). It has 2 bathrooms, 1 lounge, 1 deck and 1 outdoor jacuzzi®, with a direct access into the lagoon and panoramic views of the island of Tahiti.Dine in Polynesian authenticity at the Pure restaurant with outdoor terrace dining offering complimentary and traditional dance shows every night or choose the barefoot elegance of K restaurant, gourmet dining, feet in the sand experience, with a unique dance show.For light snacks and exotic cocktails or premium alcohols while admiring the view, try the Vue bar overlooking the infinity pool, the lagoon and Tahiti with weekly live concerts. For light snacks and exotic cocktails during a farniente day on the beach, only steps away from the lagoon, try the Beach bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Prestigia, Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Hotel Maharepa
Sofitel Moorea Beach Resort
Sofitel Maharepa
Maharepa Sofitel
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort French Polynesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing