We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,397)
Filter reviews
3,397 results
Traveler rating
2,131
861
234
104
67
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,131
861
234
104
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overwater bungalow our honeymoon fish french polynesia vue bar beach bar rented a car dinner buffet outdoor shower travel agent beautiful property dive shop entire stay snorkel gear ferry terminal dream come true bucket list
Filter
Updating list...
1,094 - 1,099 of 3,397 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We've just come back from our honeymoon staying at Sofitel Moorea, and in one overall word - amazing.

We stayed in the garden bungalows for our first few nights, and although our particular villa seemed to attract quite a lot of noise from gardeners and golf carts, the villa itself was truly luxurious.

We were lucky enough to enjoy three nights in the over water bungalows - I would highly recommend this, it was one of the best experiences of my life. Fantastic bungalow, stunning views to the sunrise, and the chance to go snorkelling literally by stepping off the deck - pure bliss!

Only let down for us was that the service was not quite up to scratch - some errors were made here and there and unfortunately all the small things added up. The manager and front desk assistance was great when we mentioned our concerns however, and if Sofitel Moore can notch up their service just a little bit, it would be an absolutely perfect place.

Thanks!

Room tip: Overwater bungalows, ask for one of the rooms at the end looking out to the sea (looking towards Tahiti).
Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DTGregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2018

Ia ora na from Moorea
Sorry for the delay, and thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort.
We are delighted to have been able to welcome you and share with you our corner of paradise!
We will take your feedback into consideration in order to improve. We hope to welcome you again very soon!
Mauruuru!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We visited this fabulous hotel in Oct 2012 as part of a 40th wedding anniversary trip. Before leaving home I'd e mailed the General Manager M de Ronseray to ask for a quiet room with a good view and water not too deep ( we'd booked a deluxe overwater ) as I'm not a great swimmer. he replied promptly that he and his staff had chosen just the room for us with a perfect view of Tahiti across the lagoon.
Our first impressions were great. We flew over the hotel on our 5 minute flight from Tahiti and in no time at all were at the resort. Instead of standing in line at reception we were led to a comfy lounge, given leis and cold drinks, and a cool towel so clean off. On signing the register I noticed that we'd been upgraded to a luxury overwater and the lady helping us mentioned it was the best room in the resort. From here we went by golf cart to the end of the pontoon and thre was our bungalow, 119, with a perfect view of the lagoon and Tahiti. the room inside was magnificent with wonderful views of calm turquoise water , coral and the mountains behind. As a welcome treat there was champagne and sparking water and fruit. On the bed there was a beautifully wrapped picture book of Moorea, a pareu and a t shirt.
Most days we dropped into the lagoon first thing in the morning. there were few people around and it was so calming to swim quietly among the fish and coral.
After a day or so we received a cll that they wanted to give us a cake !!! Saturday evening a wonderful chocolate and strawberry confection was delivered to our room, complete with candles.
The room was huge. Windows everywhere to look down into the clear water. Behind the bed was a handy storage area for coffee things, tc and frig. Thhe bathroom area at the back was beautifully appointed and there was a huge open shower.
Around the hotel we found several restaurants and a big bar. We had breakfast included in our room rate so didn't have to worry there. I believe it was at least $25 otherwise. There were beautiful pasrties, fruit and yoghurts plus all the usual cooked breakfast items.
Our only problems in this paradise were 3 things. The meal portions were too big and heavy and expensive. We often would have been happy at night with a snack but when we went to the bar to order the "snack " it was huge and full of caalories. We solved this issue by ordering one main course room service and splitting itt into 2 portions to eat on our wonderful deck over the lagoon.
second problem was wind. By having this superb setting at the end of the jetty we were often windy when the rest of the resort was in the calm. We solved this by opening our sliding doors and bring our ourdoor chairs inside . Third problem was that although the room was massive there was only one comfortable chair. The second person had to sit on the bed ( or on the outdoor lounger that we'd brought in ).
Oh, I almost forgot --- the bed was the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in. If it hadd fit in our cases we'd have smuggled it with us.
Everyone made us so welcome and we'd love to return. Thank you M De Ronseray and your staff.

Room tip: overwater at the end of the pontoon , facing the island of Tahiti
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stellajim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2018

Ia Orana from Moorea,
Sorry for the delay. But what a wonderful sharing of experience! We are delighted to have welcomed you to our corner of paradise!
We do our best to make you live a real Polynesian experience. A unique experience.
The teams are very touched by your comment and thank you very much.
See you soon at Sofitel Moorea, Mauruuru!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had the time of our lives at the Moorea Sofitel. The setting is paradise. Our over-the-water bungalow was perfect - beautiful, comfortable, peaceful - a dream come true. The room was spacious and well appointed. AC turns on only when sliding doors to deck are closed. We had doors open all day because the ocean breezes are wonderful. The room had a small fridge, Nespresso machine, safe, TV (although we never turned it on). The bathroom was extremely clean and beautiful. The shower had a wonderful view and doors you could open - felt like you were showering outside (with privacy). The staff at the Sofitel was fantastic! We felt like we were leaving friends when we checked out. The food and drink were excellent (although we had dinner off site two out of three nights). As everything in FP, food is expensive, but we had excellent meals. We have traveled the world and haven't stopped talking about our days at the Sofitel since we left; it is a unique and special place. It was, without a doubt, the most relaxing vacation we've ever had. After leaving Moorea, we went on an 18 day South Pacific cruise that was wonderful but we can't stop thinking about our time at the Sofitel!. When we booked, we debated between being in one of the bay hotels (Hilton or Intercontiental) or in a more out fo the way spot were the Sofitel is. We ABSOLUTELY made the right choice. The water in Maharepa is the best hands down. Bora Bora was beautiful but there is a quite charm about Moorea that had us feel right at home. Can't wait to go back!

Room tip: While all the Sofitel is fantastic, if you can afford it, splurge on an over-the-water bungalow!
Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2018

Ia Orana from Moorea,
Sorry for the delay. But what a wonderful sharing of experience! We are delighted to have welcomed you to our corner of paradise!
We do our best to make you live a real Polynesian experience. A unique experience.
The teams are very touched by your comment and thank you very much.
See you soon at Sofitel Moorea, Mauruuru!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

After 24 hours of travel time were happy when we finally arrived at this beautiful resort. It was 2 hours before check in and our room was available. We stayed in garden room 500. Very private and comfortable room. The first day was slightly overcast. Went to the beach and did some snorkeling. The next day we took bikes to the grocery store, which is about a 20 minute ride. Stocked up on some wine and snacks. Then the rain came and it rained for the remaining 3 days we were there. (After here we went to the Sofitel Private Island and the weather was beautiful so the rain didn't ruin my trip.) Due to the weather we kept putting off our scooter trip around the island. They offered to rent us a car instead so we chose that option to drive around the island. It was a Sunday, and what I didn't know is everything is closed on Sunday. Everything. Even the grocery store. I wish we would have picked a different day, but still drove around the island to enjoy the scenery. The food was excellent, the resort so comfortable. the staff is helpful and friendly. There was no language barrier. Great service. Had room service one night and a cat came to visit us on the porch and help us finish our dinner. Bring the bug spray as the mosquitos will visit as well! Thank you Sofitel for an amazing and comfortable stay!

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TikiKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2018

Ia Orana from Moorea,
Sorry for the delay. But what a wonderful sharing of experience! We are delighted to have welcomed you to our corner of paradise!
We do our best to make you live a real Polynesian experience. A unique experience.
The teams are very touched by your comment and thank you very much.
See you soon at Sofitel Moorea, Mauruuru!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Nice sandy beach with good access to the sea that is deep enough to swim. Even if the resort is not small the privacy is quite fine. The room is well designed, e.g. air-con is not facing the bed, the bathroom has regular doors ;-).

Room tip: beach bungalows are very nice, the so called lagoon view bungalows are some time facing the over-water bungalows; you can find it in the map on the hotel website.
Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dalibor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2018

Ia ora na from Moorea
Sorry for the delay, and thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort.
We are delighted to have been able to welcome you and share with you our corner of paradise!
We will take your feedback into consideration in order to improve. We hope to welcome you again very soon!
Mauruuru!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews