We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Maharepa
Auckland Central, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Paradise !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed here for our Honeymoon for 5 nights in an overwater bungalow. it was heaven i have never seen anything like it and we had fantastic weather with only rain at night. the snorkelling is great with so many different fish species. we hired a car and drove around for 1 day it was a great way to go where ever you wanted at your own pace and fairly priced. we called into the Intercontinental on our travels and thought the resort was Huge !! The reef did not look at good. we were told afew times that Sofitel has the best beach and reef on the whole island. I fi was to ever return to Tahiti I would definanlty come back to Sofitel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dulciechitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,681
    704
    194
    84
    50
See reviews for
214
2,100
45
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Just returned from our stay at Sofitel Moorea la Ora. We stayed 3 nights from Feb. 1 - 4, 2013. This resort is a perfect place for people looking to get away and relax. Beautiful location and some the best snorkeling. We stayed in an OWB #121 and it was perfect. We snorkeled right off the bungalow and it was better than almost anywhere in the world. The room was extremely comfortable and private. We had the breakfast plan and despite many other reviews we thought the breakfast buffet was very good. We definitely did not go hungary. We did have snacks at the bar for lunch and the dinners we also very good. Service in the lobby, bar and restaurant was also great even with the language barrier. All of the staff worked extremely hard to make sure our stay was the best it could be. We will most definitely be back in the future. A special thanks to Jackie at Custom Tahiti Travel for setting up this great vacation for us. Finally, take the advice of your travel agent when they tell you to take the ferry to Moorea instead of saving a couple of hundred dollars and flying on the inter-island air pass
(we also went to Bora Bora). We did not take her advice and spent 5 hours at the Papeete airport instead of enjoying Moorea. Dumb mistake on our part!

Room Tip: OWB #121 - the best for snorkeling and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed 3 nights here on our honeymoon. Moorea is a lovely island and a great stop before Bora Bora - it has great snorkeling (more coral) and is bigger so you can rent a car/scooter and drive around to see the island. When we first arrived the door to our hut was broken - after spending over an hour waiting for someone to fix it, I went to the front desk and asked if there was something they could do - possibly, move us to another room. They told me the door would be fixed soon...but another hour went by and I was plain fed up. It was the first day of our honeymoon - we wanted to be by the water not waiting at our hut (since we weren't comfortable leaving our things unattended/unlocked. In hindsight, they probably would have been fine...but it was our first day and we didn't know any better). Finally, I went back to the front desk and pretty much demanded they provide as another room...and that we'd even be willing to pay more for an upgrade if they didn't have a similiar hut available. They ended up offering us an upgrade at no change, which worked out well. Although this door issue ate up 3+ hours of our first day, we were upgraded to an overwater bungalow...so we couldn't really complain. It had a gorgeous view and snorkeling was fantastic right off the porch. Overall, we loved this island and it was the perfect stop before Bora Bora - but this hotel didn't impress us with food. The 2 things I did love though - the AMAZING chocolate croissants and fantastic fresh press coffee. We bought a french press when we got home - just to remind us of our breakfasts in Moorea.

From what I heard, it is one of the nicer hotels on Moorea. We stopped by the Hilton - which was nice - but it had a small beach. In comparison, Sofitel has a nice long beach - I ran down it almost every morning. So, in terms of what's on Moorea, it's a nice spot. I recommend staying here before Bora Bora - we went to the Four Seasons Bora Bora after and that blew us away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beaches1266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We spent four nights at the Sofitel in early January 2013. We stayed in an over water bungalow room 110. The bungalows were well set apart and nicely furnished, though we thought it could have done with a sofa in the room to aid relaxation when it was raining. We had a delux overwater bungalow (which are the bungalows on the righthand side looking from the beach). We had morning sun and afternoon shade on the deck which was a blessing as it was very hot, and we were lucky with the weather only having on rainy morning during our stay. The aircon in the room is fairly noisey so be prepared. There is direct access off the deck to the lagoon which was fantastic, the lagoon is full of tropical fish and we could snorkle from our deck right around the lagoon. The odd number bungalows would have the afternoon sun if that is what you want, the lagoon looked shallower on that side though and all day snorkling wouldn't be possible I think. We thought the best rooms would be at the end of the pier which would be rooms, 118, 119, 120 if you have a choice, these would offer you great views over to the main Island as well as not looking across at other bungalows.
The beach was fantastic with azure blue water and white soft sand. The beach front bungalows looked very nice too. The water sports hut was run by really cheerful guys who were really helpful. We hired a couple of bikes one day to ride into the village and it was a pleasant easy ride. We also hired a car for an afternoon and drove around the Island, this was a lovely experience and one we would like to do again and take our time.
The food at the resort was good but pricey, we didn't have breakfast most mornings, the one morning we did go, the buffet was looking very depleted so we just ordered an omelette which was very good.
There is no free wifi at this resort, though some cafe's on Moorea do offer it.

Room Tip: Choose one of the pier end rooms of the Overwater bungalows; or the beachfront bungalows looked fant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ali_from_Tauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bladenboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

This was most beautiful Hotel that I have ever seen, Bungalows everywhere. The beach was beautiful and peaceful. Great place to snorkel, water is crystal clear. Great for couples.
Would love to go back everything was so clean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msmikieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Illinois
Level Contributor
112 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

This hotel is amazing! Each room is its own building, whether your on the ground or over the water. We stayed in both a luxary beach bungalow, as well as a regular over-the-water bungalow. Both rooms were amazing, but the luxary units are REALLY amazing. In fact, I modeled a reconstruction of my house based on the bedroom/bathroom setup. Not only were the rooms great, but the grounds are incredibly well kept and beautiful. We actually chose this hotel because Frommer suggeted that it was on the most beautiful beach on the island and those people were right! The white sandy beaches and blue waters is what we are still looking for everytime we travel to the Caribbean/Central America, but that cannot be duplicated. Snorkeling is the most exciting I have ever experienced. The staff was extremely nice and helpful as well, and everyone spoke English well. The reason you go to a beach destination is for the beach and this resort has the best beach experience possible in my opinion.

Room Tip: The luxary bungalows may be worth th eextra cost if it is not tooo much more than the regular units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We spent 3 weeks in Tahiti, on 4 different Islands, for our honeymoon. I loved every moment of our stay at the Sofitel. We had an OWB with one of the glass squares in the floor. The food is so good and the presentation is beautiful. The beach is lovely (most of the beaches in Tahiti are). We rented a car for the day and drove around the island... so glad we did. We found great reviews of restaurants on TripAdvisor and went to a few, got pearl earrings and a neckless, and went on a ATV tour. Very fun!

Room Tip: go for an over water bungalow.... WORTH THE EXTRA $!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maharepa
2.9 mi away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
12.2 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
3.6 mi away
Club Bali Hai Moorea Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus
Hotel Hibiscus
#2 of 2 in Papetoai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Kaveka
Hotel Kaveka
#3 of 3 in Maharepa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort

Property: Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort
Address: B.P. 28, Moorea, Maharepa 98728, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Maharepa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Maharepa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort is located on the North-East Coast of the island, just 5 minutes away from Temae airport, Vaiare ferries docks, the 18 holes international golf course designed by Jack Nicklaus®. This landmark hotel is built on the longest and most beautiful white sand beach of the island, within a protected marine area maintained by the CRIOBE®.From this hotel, guests have a unique panoramic view on the lagoon and the island of Tahiti. The hotel offers a wide range of accommodation with a total of 113 Luxury Bungalows located in the gardens, directly on the beach or over the water. Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora has the only Luxury Beach Bungalows on Moorea that have unobstructed views of the island of Tahiti, located directly on the beach. Historically, this hotel is the first of the island that built bungalows over the water. Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora has now the largest Luxury Overwater Bungalows in Moorea (83 sq. meters).Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora also features 1 Luxury Villa with 2 bedrooms (150 sq.meters). It has 2 bathrooms, 1 lounge, 1 deck and 1 outdoor jacuzzi®, with a direct access into the lagoon and panoramic views of the island of Tahiti.Dine in Polynesian authenticity at the Pure restaurant with outdoor terrace dining offering complimentary and traditional dance shows every night or choose the barefoot elegance of K restaurant, gourmet dining, feet in the sand experience, with a unique dance show.For light snacks and exotic cocktails or premium alcohols while admiring the view, try the Vue bar overlooking the infinity pool, the lagoon and Tahiti with weekly live concerts. For light snacks and exotic cocktails during a farniente day on the beach, only steps away from the lagoon, try the Beach bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Prestigia, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Hotel Maharepa
Sofitel Moorea Beach Resort
Sofitel Maharepa
Maharepa Sofitel
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort French Polynesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing