We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great start to our honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Maharepa
Certificate of Excellence
Stamford, Connecticut, Usa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great start to our honeymoon”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for the first 3 nights of our honeymoon. The ride from the airport was short and easy, were picked up by a shuttle that was organized by our travel agent. We were greeted with cold towels and pineapple juice, both were needed after a whole day of traveling! They even have showers for guests to use before the rooms are ready. We arrived about 10 am, so we had plenty of time to sit by the gorgeous infinity pool and take in some of the breathtaking sites. Every picture we took at this resort looks like a postcard, its incredible! We loved a lot of things about this resort, starting with the friendliness of the staff. The food was excellent for resort food, which is good considering there are not too many restaurants in Moorea that would provide transportation. We had most of our meals at Pure Restaurant, which is located next to the pool. The food was not as overpriced as everyone says it will be. The hamburger was our favorite item on the menu. Breakfast was excellent as well, you eat right on the water. A beautiful way to start the day! I would highly recommend using our travel agent, Pacific for Less, as they made our trip easy, organized and extremely affordable! I look forward to working with them again. I would definitely go back to this hotel!
Just don't forge the bug spray!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,789
    746
    204
    88
    53
See reviews for
234
2,222
46
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin, USA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed at Sofitel Moorea in July for our honeymoon. The first advantage of this resort is that it's easy to get to from Papeete as you can take a ferry and short cab ride to the resort. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The service was very good at the resort. We stayed in an overwater bungalow (room 119) which was at the end and provided very good privacy. The room was very clean, comfortable and the experience of staying over water is worth the price. In our opinion there is very good value in terms of price compared to other resorts. We enjoyed ordering room service and dining on our bungalow deck. This also was far more reasonable in terms of price than dining at some of the restaurants. If there is 1 drawback, the cost of food was a little outrageous, but that is standard throughout French Polynesia. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed a romantic and beautiful setting for our honeymoon. We would love to go back someday!

Room Tip: Request your room in advance to make sure you can enjoy a more private setting. We loved room 119.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJKTRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

My husband and I traveled here in Dec. for my 40th Birthday. I was torn about staying on multiple islands, and was back and forth about whether or not to stay at the Hilton as we are Honors members there. I am SO glad I chose the Sofitel!
About 2 weeks before our departure, I contacted the manager of the resort via email, and sent an email through tripadvisor requesting certain bungalows based on other reviews I had read. We were originally booked for 4 nights in a Deluxe Garden Bungalow, and then 3 nights in the Luxury Over Water Bungalow. To my absolute surprise and pleasure we received a response from the resort on the day of our departure, that the manager had given us an upgrade to the Luxury Overwater Bungalow #117 for the entire stay. While I do think the Garden Units closest to the Beach or the Beach units would have been nice to stay in, I am ELATED that we got to enjoy the OWB the entire time! I would spend the extra money for the OWB if you can (Luxury or Superior), they will NOT disappoint! Do try to request the units at the end of the pontoon for the best unobstructed views or at least a unit facing away from the other units for more privacy.
We had a plan that included breakfast and we were pleased with our choices each day. The made to order omelets and french toast were superb! Lots of fresh fruit and fresh bread/jams were also very enjoyable. Take some bread with you to feed the fish from your deck or while snorkeling, lots of fun to watch them swarm! We brought our own snacks and alcohol so we usually did not have lunch on the property, but the majority of our dinners were at Pure which we thought was fine. It may have been nice to see a change in the menu here and there instead of the same things each night, but we quickly found plenty of things on the menu we enjoyed (Burgers, Moorea Pizza, Chicken Ceaser Salad, Chow mein, Sow mein and Penne to name a few). My birthday celebration took place at K and the meal was GREAT! We shared a steak dinner for 2 and we were stuffed! We ate one night at Mahogany with another couple we met at the resort and had a blast. The meal was great and the free pick up and drop off made it even easier! The entertainment at the resort each night was adequate, although we did hear that the shows at Tiki Village were better, we enjoyed them nonetheless! A band on Friday night that played till 2am was REALLY good and we even heard them from our bungalow.
The room was very spacious and clean and we LOVED our "outdoor" shower! We did not use the Wifi but heard from other guests that it was a little slow. Although we traveled during the rainy season and the weather was not the best, we still had plenty of water/snorkeling time (which was fantastic from our deck, the water was so clear and the coral and variety of fish was incredible) and we enjoyed the pool a few times. We took an ATV ride with Alberts Tour that we HIGHLY recommend, and the Island Boat tour with the resort. Our captain Gabriel was terrific. With Gabriel we stopped on a private island, swam with sharks and rays and saw hundreds of wild dolphins up close and personal! We are so glad we did it. With the help of the Activities desk we also rented a car through Avis. The sunset special gives you the car from 3pm till the next morning at 8am for a 4 hour rate. Well worth it. We went to the market to stock up on more snacks and water and explored the island, and even toured a few other resorts (the Hilton and the Intercontinental)....again, glad we chose the Sofitel.
We do not speak French at all (although we tried) but did not find any issues with communicating with the staff what so ever. We even learned a few Tahitian phrases that seemed to go over very well by the locals. I think they just appreciated that we tried. Everyone was great and many even learned our names and addressed us personally each day. Overall, we were very pleased with our stay, and if we ever travel to this island again, we will definitely stay at the Sofitel!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KertrinaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed here for a week recently for my 50th birthday. We stayed in both a garden and luxury overwater bungalow. The overwater was absolutely amazing. The garden bungalow was great as well and if you don't like the overwater rates, then the garden rooms are still fantastic. The water clarity is superb and the snorkelling was great.

An easy ferry ride of 35 minutes is all you need to get to Moorea from Papeete. Just get a taxi to the ferry terminal half an hour before the departure time. Its all very easy and comfortable. Tickets can be purchased at the terminal or at your hotel usually.

The staff at the snorkelling/ sports bungalow are fantastic and very enthusiastic. I loved that we could borrow a life jacket for snorkels to the reef, without charge and keep it for the whole day. My husband is not that confident too far from shore, but he came with me on numerous swims to the reef with the life jacket.

The food was fantastic, Bar service was unfortunately quite poor in comparison to the restaurants. We had a few issues, but they were dealt with very well by management. We are now planning a return trip next year with extended family. A simply beautiful place to stay. Great staff and management. Thank you for a memorable holiday at the end of a very hard year for us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank willtravel44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier D, General Manager at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Bonjour dear "Willtravel44"

Probably a little late, but let me wish you anyway an Happy Birthday". 50th years is a great milestone, and we are so happy you came to celebrate this event here in Sofitel Moorea.

Thank you also to have posted such great review, we love to read that you enjoyed everything the hotel has to offer.

We are looking forward to see you again here next year with your family, please do not hesitate in contacting me directly so we can make specific arrangement for your bungalows.

Best regards from Moorea and see you soon.

Olivier De Ronseray
General Manager
Sofitel Moorea Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

My wife and I just returned from our fabulous trip to Tahiti in November. Hotel Sofitel was our last stop, and it did not disappoint. We had a great time on the beach, snorkeling, and taking walks on the property. The food was fantastic also! However, my favorite place we stayed was still the Hotel Kia Ora on Rangiroa. This little atoll was very unique, and none of our friends have ever been there (even those that have visited Tahiti), so we get to have bragging rights for now!

I want to give a shout out to Geri Miller, from Tahiti Discount Travel in Newport Beach, CA, for arranging our trip. Everything was perfect, and she also threw in some free excursions and dinner for us!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier D, General Manager at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Bonjour dear "David C"

Thank you so much to have taken the time to write and post your review.
We love to hear directly from our guest. Satisfaction and experience level is #1 goal for us, and to see that you are scoring us a perfect 5/5 make us feel really proud of the work done, and all because of you.

So, again, thank you very much for your great feedback, we won't miss to pass it along the teams.

Best regards from Moorea

Olivier De Ronseray
General Manager
Sofitel Moorea Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Overall the hotel looks very nice and clean. But when we arrived there for dinner, the lady at the reception didnt "want" to speak english, even though we realised that she could. So we had to try to talk to her in french.
She was quiet unfriendly for such a hotel.
The decoration of the lobby in September was terrible it all looked like a cheap x-mas decoration.
The people in the restaurant itself were friendly. We had a typical Tahitian Buffet dinner, which was not worth its money.
The choise was very poor and even the cook sometimes wasnt sure what kind of meet he offered us.
150.-- US was just to expensive.
The dance show was a typicall "tourist" show. So if you want to see a nice dance show then you should visit the Tiki Village.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheebashoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier D, General Manager at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Bonjour dear "sheebashoe"

Thank you very much for your complete and detailed review. Direct costumer feedback is the best way for us to really get a good and real feel on our guest's satisfaction.

I do incline when it comes to communication in english, we are not always the best. Some of our staff members are quiet fluent and willing, but sadly some other are not as comfortable as we hope for.

In regards of the show you saw on Thursday evening, I'm quiet surprised that you are calling it a "tourist show". This group coming for representation at the hotel each Thursday and Sunday evening is probably one fo the best and most polynesian you can find on the island. All the instruments are tahitian originals, as well as the costumes and different tableau.
And it's only a part of the Polynesian day happening every Thursday.
Earlier during the day we show different local activities all happening right on the beach followed by the opening of the traditionnal tahitian oven which is served the same night at the buffet.

Best regards from Moorea

Hoping to have you staying with us again in one of our location worldwide.

Olivier De Ronseray
General Manager
Sofitel Moorea Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maharepa
2.9 mi away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
12.2 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
3.6 mi away
Hotel Kaveka
Hotel Kaveka
#4 of 4 in Maharepa
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus
Hotel Hibiscus
#2 of 2 in Papetoai
687 reviews
8.8 mi away
Fenua Mata'i'oa
Fenua Mata'i'oa
#1 of 1 in Haapiti
114 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort

Property: Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort
Address: B.P. 28, Moorea, Maharepa 98728, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Maharepa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Maharepa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort is located on the North-East Coast of the island, just 5 minutes away from Temae airport, Vaiare ferries docks, the 18 holes international golf course designed by Jack Nicklaus®. This landmark hotel is built on the longest and most beautiful white sand beach of the island, within a protected marine area maintained by the CRIOBE®.From this hotel, guests have a unique panoramic view on the lagoon and the island of Tahiti. The hotel offers a wide range of accommodation with a total of 113 Luxury Bungalows located in the gardens, directly on the beach or over the water. Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora has the only Luxury Beach Bungalows on Moorea that have unobstructed views of the island of Tahiti, located directly on the beach. Historically, this hotel is the first of the island that built bungalows over the water. Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora has now the largest Luxury Overwater Bungalows in Moorea (83 sq. meters).Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora also features 1 Luxury Villa with 2 bedrooms (150 sq.meters). It has 2 bathrooms, 1 lounge, 1 deck and 1 outdoor jacuzzi®, with a direct access into the lagoon and panoramic views of the island of Tahiti.Dine in Polynesian authenticity at the Pure restaurant with outdoor terrace dining offering complimentary and traditional dance shows every night or choose the barefoot elegance of K restaurant, gourmet dining, feet in the sand experience, with a unique dance show.For light snacks and exotic cocktails or premium alcohols while admiring the view, try the Vue bar overlooking the infinity pool, the lagoon and Tahiti with weekly live concerts. For light snacks and exotic cocktails during a farniente day on the beach, only steps away from the lagoon, try the Beach bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Hotel Maharepa
Sofitel Moorea Beach Resort
Sofitel Maharepa
Maharepa Sofitel
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort French Polynesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing