We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great week at Moorea Pearl”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Maharepa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great week at Moorea Pearl”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I went with two 22-year olds and was worried that the slow pace of French Polynesia might not be enough, but that was never a problem. The Pearl was a great place to really enjoy all that the area has to offer.
The service at the hotel was consistently friendly, although there were a couple of times when the hostess at the breakfast buffet was a little grumpy. Checkout was a little rigid, too, when the hotel clearly wasn't full, in the slow season.
We didn't stay in one of the over-water bungalows, but our garden bungalow was great! The plunge pool was a great place to hang out, have a few drinks, and wind down after an excursion.
Although someone said you don't go to Tahiti for the food, we had great food! The Pearl's restaurant provided an amazing spread for breakfast and dinner was exceptional! People had warned us that Rudy's is a tourist trap, but had one of the best meals of the trip there. The little outdoor grill restaurant across the street from the hotel was a tasty stop for a lighter dinner. Skewers of fresh-grilled meat or fish, rice, and veggies were so much better than expected. Definitely worth it for a no-frills dinner on picnic tables.
The water options around the hotel are exceptional, too. The infinity pool is huge, but it's the ocean that you go for. The snorkeling just off the bungalows is amazing, with crystal clear water, dozens of different fish, turtles, and more. The kayaks and paddle-boards (free at the hotel) got a workout from us, too. The view of the island and hotel from the breakers out at the barrier reef is stunning.
Excursions were a blast, too. The ATV tour is great, taking you to great lookouts, pineapple plantations, and the inside of the island. The boat trip out to an island for lunch was unforgettable! Stopped for swimming with reef sharks and rays, then a great meal out on a motu. Time for more snorkeling and then back to the hotel. Albert's (across from the hotel) makes all the arrangements for you and pick you up at the hotel. Couldn't be easier! The Tiki Village luau was expensive but worth it (we weren't there for the free Saturday night show at the hotel). Okay meal, but great show: Dancers and fire juggling!!

Room Tip: If you can't afford over-water bungalows, the garden bungalows are great. There are definitely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P3terBach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    962
    601
    175
    52
    24
See reviews for
283
1,208
39
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We hadn't been to French Polynesia before so did lots of research. For us, Moorea sounded best...gorgeous, good snorkeling, great facilities. The Pearl did not disappoint. It's always dicey when you arrive and the jitney goes to a couple of different resorts before the one you selected. Again, the Pearl did not disappoint. It was gorgeous, the staff welcoming and the room was AWESOME! We were in 418, an overwater premium bungalow. The premium OWB is definitely worth it, for location facing the ocean. We had coral reef at the (back) door and gorgeous sunrises. Our first day, we saw sea turtles, greater and lesser frigate birds, and eagle rays from our deck.

The hotel had great equipment for snorkeling equipment, paddle boards and kayaks. I did a intro to snorkeling with Lino Facondini (Moorea Blue Diving) and his fabulous family! So great! He was a great instructor and we saw turtles, triggerfish, an eel and much more...and even dolphins on the return jaunt.

We have special dietary requirements as a family member has Celiac disease. The restaurant staff was well-intentioned but not very knowledgeable about what gluten is. We were able to work with them to find out ingredients of different dishes. We had a good dietary experience, but it required very active participation.

We would go back in heartbeat!

Room Tip: Take a premium overwater bungalow for an outward view. Lights below the bungalow allow for watching...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went to Moorea & Bora Bora for our honeymoon. Our flight to French Polynesia was the day after our wedding celebration. We spent five days at the Moorea Pearl Resort & Spa and just loved our time there. I could not wait to take a dip in the infinity pool when we arrived. The ocean with its amazing crystal clear blue water was beckoning as well. We were welcomed with a refreshing beverage, shell lei and fresh hibiscus flowers in our bungalow the decor of which was very Tommy Bahama-esque! :) Wonderfully tropical, exotic and romantic and exceeded all of our expectations. The service staff were friendly, extremely helpful, professional, efficient and responsive. We took a kayak to go snorkeling although there was much to see in the water just around the over the water bungalows. The resort also had bikes (no speeds, but in good condition) - we biked into town and part way around the island - an excellent way to see all the sights, shops & eateries, not to mention a super fun way to see the locals who called out yorana (hello) or bonjour as we biked by. :) The meals were delicious and we also found the nearby eateries to be fun, friendly, and beautiful. The Beach Club (yummy chichi cocktail, salads and entrees), Mos Cafe (apricot chicken, quiche are a must -- so delectable!) & free wifi for patrons), and Rudy's (unbelievably divine parrotfish - cooked to perfection). The jeep tour was outrageously fun, very scenic and not to be missed. It felt like the Indiana Jones ride/attraction at Disneyland only it was the real thing! :) After being so active during the day, it was lovely returning to the resort to relax by the pool or our beautiful bungalow. A million thanks to the Moorea Pearl Resort & Spa for an amazingly romantic and unbelievably memorable honeymoon! :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmfilice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We went to the Moorea Pearl resort as part of our Honeymoon Trip. It was AMAZING. The first 4 nights of our Trip were at the Tikehau Pearl resort and the next 4 nights at the Moorea Pearl. I cannot say enough good things about the resort or the staff at the Moorea Pearl. It is 6 months later and we still talk about it a couple times a week. We were up every day at dawn and were either the first or second people to breakfast, which had a really great spread of food. We did not waste a second of our time. Our room was in the perfect location at the end of the pontoon. The water directly underneath was about 3-4 ft deep and then it had a drastic dropoff to about 35 ft. It had rained the 10 days prior to our arrival so the water wasn’t super clear, but there was still plenty to see. The rowers came by in the morning and evening. The room was very nice. We left our doors open all night. We had a welcome basket when we arrived and a surprise snack delivered one day.

The managers and concierge were very helpful. We were spoken to by name whenever we saw them on the resort. On our last day we rented a car so we could go to the other side of the island and watch the sun set. We parked on the side of the road and walked down to the beach and someone broke in and stole our backpacks. Silly us, we had all of our FP money and credit cards in that backpack because we had been out souvenir shopping since it was our last night. Both managers were there and went over our story. They went beyond what we expected. Serge took us to his office and helped us get our cards cancelled, although it was unlikely the thief would use them. He also let us eat in the restaurant for free considering we had very little money to last us until the following night and all the way back to Tennessee. The next day he insisted we let him take us to the Police station and he helped us file a report. Really they went above and beyond to make sure we were going to be ok and we greatly appreciated it. To end my story this was only a minor bump on an otherwise perfect trip. We will be back someday! Absolutely amazing and the staff and managers were wonderful.

We scuba dived using the divemaster on site. We dove with the lemon sharks, which were about 10 ft long! The divemaster was very helpful since I was a new diver. I specifically got certified before this trip and did my first ocean dive on Tikehau. So all the wildlife and the pretty strong current made me nervous, but we were the only ones so he was very attentive and pulled me along if he thought I was having a hard time.

The food was pretty good. Breakfast had so many options. We ate at the hotel 3 times for dinner. Rudy’s and Snack Mahana should definitely be food stops as well. My husband said the parrotfish at Rudy’s was the best meal he has ever eaten. We’re adventurous so we also got hot sandwiches from the grocery store and it was pretty good and SUPER cheap, like $8 for two sandwiches and two bags of chips.

We booked all of our activities, except diving, across the street at Albert’s, except for a voucher we had with the hotel…which turned out to be with Albert’s. I think it may have only been slightly more through the hotel, if any, so really it doesn't matter. I highly recommend the ATV tour because it takes you into the interior and up Magic Mountain.

We could not recommend Moorea or the Pearl any more than we already do. We tell everyone we know. It is a very special place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMarie1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel overall. My wife and I had a lovely relaxing week staying in a beach bungalow.
Pros...
Breakfast buffet was good for Tahiti. Decent variety.
Resort facilities and grounds were great. Picturesque!
Location is good. Outside of hotel turn right and walk 10mins to local supermarket. Also across the road from resort is a cute roadside eatery. Does good grilled food.
Recommend to hire bike and tour island as well as take kayaks out to see island and resort. Hotel also offers snorkeling gear.
Cons...
Rooms aren't spectacular or modern.
Staff extremely stringent and rude on checkout time. Received a call in our room at 10.58am asking us to check out. Check out is at 11am. Other guests had turned up 4 hours early for check in.
The beach and coral isn't great. There are nicer beaches on the island. The Sofitel has the nicest beach on the island.
Overall the resort delivered as expected. We probably wouldn't go back as after visiting other resorts we thought there were better options but still the resort did deliver on our expectations and we had a wonderful time.
On a side note. Don't waste your money on the tiki village. The hotel offers a similar show for free every sat nite.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario_Gala82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Family vacation with 2 kids (age 10 & 11). Stayed in garden bungalow with private plunge pool. Room was great, plenty of room for everyone. Large bathroom. Loved the private yard and plunge pool.

Beach is small but was not upset about this. We rarely just stay on the hotel property when on vacation. We spent some time on the beach and took advantage of the free activities (kayaks, paddle boards). The pool was great, very relaxing loungers. Was happy to see other families and not strictly honeymooners.

Loved that Albert tours was across the street. We rented a car and toured the island ourselves. Went to Belvedere, other beaches, shopping... This was very convenient. Also booked a shark feeding tour throughout hem that was excellent.

The food was good. Service was relatively quick (for Polynesian standards). All staff from the front desk, the pool, housekeeping and restaurants were extremely helpful and pleasant. I would recommend for families. If honeymooning, this might not be the best property for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacknjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This was the first resort we visited in French Polynesia and it was the best. food was not overly expensive like on Bora Bora, the staff was friendly and always knew us by name. We stayed in a Garden Pool bungalow and it was maybe our favorite room on our trip, and we stayed in anOverwater bungalow in Bora Bora. We already miss this resort.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erika F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maharepa
15.1 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
7.4 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus
Hotel Hibiscus
#2 of 2 in Papetoai
656 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Kaveka
Hotel Kaveka
#4 of 4 in Maharepa
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Club Bali Hai Moorea Hotel
2.7 mi away
Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea

Property: Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
Address: BP 3410, Maharepa 98728, French Polynesia (Formerly Moorea Pearl Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Maharepa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Maharepa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorea Pearl Resort & Spa nestles on the island shore, just by the village of Maharepa in an ideal location, between the majestic Cook’s Bay and the Gulf of Moorea. It’s very convenient, at just 10 minutes from the airport and 15 minutes from the ferry terminal, and with boutiques, restaurants and a small shopping center close at hand. The style of the resort is a tasteful combination of the traditional and the contemporary with a powerful sense of Polynesia. There are 28 over-water bungalows built over the lagoon on piles, 8 more bungalows on the beach and 28 spread through the beautiful grounds with their own private pools and little gardens. The remaining 22 rooms and 8 duplexes of this 94-unit resort are in a small building. Whichever accommodation you choose, you will have air-conditioned comfort (the bungalows also have ceiling fans), an outside terrace, mini-bar, hairdryer, safe, flat-screen television and DVD player, I-pod dock and WiFi. From your hotel base we will be happy to arrange a full range of exciting excursions and activities and of course you can relax at the resort where you’ll enjoy one of the largest infinity pools of the island. Each bungalow has a sunny outside terrace with comfortable loungers. From the over-water ones, there is direct access to the lagoon. The premium over-water bungalows are especially well situated, close to the coral reef ledge so you can immediately swim off and discover a fascinating world of colored fish and exotic corals. Near the over-water bungalows, we have developed our own coral nursery- To’A Nui - a coral regeneration project and part of our commitment to protecting the fragile environment that surrounds us. This site encourages the proliferation of marine life whose beauty is so easily enjoyed with simple snorkeling equipment. You will find a luxurious and convivial resort on a human scale, offering a warm welcome to honeymooners,romantic couples, families, nature lovers and scuba-divers. We have two restaurants - The Mahanai - and the acclaimed gourmet restaurant - The Matiehani. The Autera’a is a perfect terrace bar for sipping your favorite beverage. Other facilities include a bar, two meeting rooms, a boutique and a full range of activities and excursions both on land and on the water. We also have a dive center, a Polynesian tattoo facility and a spa. The Manea Spa specializes in massages and treatments using traditional Polynesian methods and 100% natural products from the island’s flowers and plants, including the famous monoi oils from the coconut palm. Thespa has a hammam, Jacuzzi and the "Rumi Avai" where you can discover the pleasures of our unique aquatic massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorea Pearl Hotel Maharepa
Moorea Pearl Resort And Spa
Moorea Pearl Maharepa
Moorea Pearl Resort & Spa
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea French Polynesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing