We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Maharepa
Certificate of Excellence
Lino Lakes, Minnesota, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I did a lot of research on resorts to stay at on our recent trip to Moorea, asked advice of our travel agent (Tahiti Travel Planners), and decided to try the Pearl Resort & Spa. This place was nothing less than spectacular! It was QUIET, RELAXING, CLEAN, and a top notch stay in my book. And trust me...after traveling a lot for business I am a hotel snob! We did stay in the premium over the water bungalow, and I highly recommend that if you can swing it. Being able to look down at your floor and see fish every time is so cool. And sitting out on your own deck over the water...priceless. Snorkeling at the resort was for me, the best experience I have ever had. And I have been to the Great Barrier Reef as well as the Cayman Islands. Those two places seemed to have more of the "colorful" fish, however the Pearl we saw everything but a sea turtle! Yes, off our deck we saw a shark, jellyfish, lion fish, stone fish, sea horse, octopus, eel, and numerous other tropical fish. Oh, and the resort is next to a town, so you can take a 5 minute walk to the supermarket, shops, etc. This was a perfect stay for our 10 year anniversary, and when we go back, we will certainly be staying at the Pearl again. Tahiti Travel Planners also planned a perfect vacation for us, the connections went off without any issues, and made the trip stress free. Chloe was the best!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    988
    610
    180
    56
    24
See reviews for
295
1,236
40
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coral Gables, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My wife and I finished our honeymoon here after three weeks in Rangiroa. Rangiroa is a quiet place with no "in your face" tourism. If you don't dive, there will be little to do in Rangiroa, which was exactly what we wanted. Once we landed, it felt like we were back in the US, albeit far more tropical. Upon arrival at the hotel, the place was packed to the gills with kids running around without supervision. The hotel itself is a very nice place and our over-water bungalow was fantastic. The food buffet had a wide selection and was quite tasty. However, the overall feel of being on a beautiful tropical island and not having the serenity we wanted detracted from the experience. It's a great hotel for families with kids, but I really can't recommend it for honeymooners. As a plus, black pearls can be found fairly cheaply down the road at the edge of town.

Room Tip: Over-water bungalows come in two varieties: shore side and coral reef side. Ensure you know which o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 563AlexG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMooreaPearl, General Manager at Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Yes Moorea is a very pretty island and deserved your visit, and yes we have a nice, human size and warm hotel, it is nice of you to mention it. Truly during this Easter period, we had more kids than ever: a very large family from Switzerland who reserved several rooms, 3 families from USA with 2 kids each and also the hotel welcomed few kids from Tahiti who reserved with their parents rooms and bungalows for the long week end and the special Easter Egg hunting that we organize each year. If on one hand some people thought it was great for them and their families, I do understand that for those who were looking for quiet and peace, we could have a little too much activity around the pool area. If you allow me, I like to advise the people who will read your message that this particular situation is totally unusual as very few people travel that far with their kids. I believe it corresponds to Easter or spring break and I believe that other hotel s of the island had the same ratio that we had. I am really sorry, but in our days, we could not refuse any booking. However some parents should look a little better after their child in respect for the other guests. Unfortunately the hotels can't act as parents. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience.
Also let me take the opportunity for thanking you for choosing our hotel for your stay on Moorea , now that your honeymoon is ended the entire staff joins me to wish you a wonderful and successful life full of love and who knows we may have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future with your family. Sunny regards.
Alain DRUET
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed in a garden room and it was rather small and cluttered with a daybed/couch that served neither purpose. Our few bags didn’t fit in the small luggage space, and with them we could barely move around. Despite all the furniture, we had no chair. We immediately asked to be moved, but were informed no rooms in our price category were available for our entire stay. We were told the manager would be informed of our request, but we never heard from anyone. I would have been happy to move once, just to get out of that room.

Good things: the grounds are lovely, the breakfast is varied and good, the pool is pretty, there’s snorkeling off the bungalows, and there are somewell used stand-up paddle boards and kayaks.

Other not so nice things: we felt like employees were unfriendly and unhappy to receive requests or questions. We expected some things to be free that were not (wifi) and are at other resorts. The price on the web underestimates what a guest must spend.

We wouldn’t stay here in the garden bungalows again, nor recommend them to anyone.

Room Tip: Don't stay in a garden room. The bungalows are lovely, but are way above shallow water. We would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CookieHonolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMooreaPearl, General Manager at Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
When I red the title « Disappointing » I automatically though: “what have we done wrong ?» . The detail of your comments shows that the main problem was because you could not get upgrade to a bungalow when reserved for a garden room.
Believe me if we could have done it, we would have done it. It is for the benefit of the hotel which could cash an up sell, and it contributes to the satisfaction of the guest. Unfortunately for you (But luckily for the hotel) we are running at a pretty high occupancy during this period of pre and post Easter time. I sincerely present to you my deepest apologies for this inconvenience.
This said I have to clarify few things; our room in the building may not be the most spacious on hearth but offers a very comfortable alternative for people who don’t want to spend their entire vacation budget in the lodging. Each of them has a king size bed and a full single bed set up as a couch. TV , DVD player, Telephone , Tea and coffee facilities , a safe , an iron board and an iron, hairdryer. Yes the cabinet for clothing might be a little small, but a chest of drawers is there to compensate. However, the average stay of our guests is about 4 nights and honestly very few of them decide to unpack their suitcases. The room has a fairly large terrace with 2 comfortable armchairs which can be moved in if needed.
I will end with a sincere remark to future customers. Our room in a building offers all what you need but are not a bungalow and even if they are decorated with the same inspiration they probably not reflect the same “Polynesian feelings” than our garden bungalow with private plunge pool. When the hotel is nearly full, we can’t guaranty the possibility of upgrades, so don’t take a chance and if you want a bungalow, reserve a bungalow.
Sunny regards to you and to all.
Alain DRUET
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We spent a week in a premium over-water bungalow and didn't want to leave! The Pearl Beach is a great hotel for couples to spend quiet time together. Wonderful, spotless room with an amazing coral reef underneath the bungalows. There's a great deck over deep water and many times a day I just had to dive in and enjoy the moment.

There's not any night life at the hotel, which was not a priority for us. On a number of nights, the hotel bar played some really sad, slow music which drove us back to our bungalow, but as we were there to enjoy our time together (versus socializing), this and the lack of evening activities didn't bother us.

The restaurant has a reasonable menu and the food is very good but the hotel would do itself a favor to change the restaurant manager; service is poor and there's a general lack of hospitality decorum. This is usually a reflection of the management's attitude which was reinforced when we saw who we were told was the manager not greet guests (the hotel and restaurant were NOT busy) but rather walk by them as if they didn't exist. One evening, we were still eating our main course (it wasn't close to closing time) and the staff started dragging tables around to rearrange the restaurant for breakfast. Rather than feeling welcomed, we felt we were an imposition. Sloppy best describes the restaurant's style, which is why we went down the road to Rudy's for dinner more than once.

Aside from the restaurant, we really enjoyed the hotel and most of the staff was friendly and welcoming. The room was great - great bed, lots of space. The shower/tub combination was cramped - would love to see a better arrangement, but the water pressure was good and the water hot. We did not visit the spa so cannot comment on it.

The hotel is within a 10-minute walking distance of Mahareapa and great places like Eva Perles and Rudy's, plus a supermarket with a good selection of wine.

Room Tip: Go for the premium deep water bungalow - quieter, more privacy, ability to dive into the lagoon - wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loveromeforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orem, ut
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights the first week of March 2013. Absolutely loved it! We stayed in a garden bungalow with private swimming pool, which was a lot of fun. We'd probably stay in a pool bungalow again. (We had an overwater bungalow in Bora Bora which we also loved, and lee liked the variety. We liked tha the resort was smaller than some of the others on Moorea. Staff was very friendly. We used the concierge for car rental through Avis to drive around the island which I would recommend. Great location... Small town just a few minute walk down the street which we visited. Also, Albert Tours is across the street and we walked over to book a full-day tour with them. (This was very handy because making phone calls is quite pricey in FP, as we learned in Bora Bora!). We used the kayaks one night just before sunset which was amazing. The next morning we took the paddle boards out to where the coral is and had some great snorkeling. The paddle boards here were much higher quality than the paddle board we have used at other resorts.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank almaf_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I've day tripped here and enjoyed lunch and swimming on three separate visits. The first time in 2007 with my handicapped Mom and a friend to celebrate a birthday. We were treated as if long lost friends. Made to feel very welcome. Great location, good food, first class in every respect. The staff is super friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyBob637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here our last night in Moorea before heading home in a premium over-water bungalow. Awesome! My whole family was swimming in the ocean right off our deck, played in the pool, went kayaking and paddle boarding. Dinner at the hotel was very good, one of the better meals on our trip. The included breakfast in the morning was perfect-- nothing elaborate, but very good. The omelette station and capaccino machine was perfect for me! We stayed in the Hotel Kaveka down the street for our first days of the trip to save a bit of money, problem is that by the time you added up all the extra fees for everything, the Pearl was about the same price for a garden room. Staff was great. Room was spotless.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ak907traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maharepa
15.1 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
7.4 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus
Hotel Hibiscus
#2 of 2 in Papetoai
687 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Kaveka
Hotel Kaveka
#4 of 4 in Maharepa
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Fenua Mata'i'oa
Fenua Mata'i'oa
#1 of 1 in Haapiti
114 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea

Property: Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
Address: Bp 3410, Maharepa 98728, French Polynesia (Formerly Moorea Pearl Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Maharepa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Maharepa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorea Pearl Resort & Spa nestles on the island shore, just by the village of Maharepa in an ideal location, between the majestic Cook’s Bay and the Gulf of Moorea. It’s very convenient, at just 10 minutes from the airport and 15 minutes from the ferry terminal, and with boutiques, restaurants and a small shopping center close at hand. The style of the resort is a tasteful combination of the traditional and the contemporary with a powerful sense of Polynesia. There are 28 over-water bungalows built over the lagoon on piles, 8 more bungalows on the beach and 28 spread through the beautiful grounds with their own private pools and little gardens. The remaining 22 rooms and 8 duplexes of this 94-unit resort are in a small building. Whichever accommodation you choose, you will have air-conditioned comfort (the bungalows also have ceiling fans), an outside terrace, mini-bar, hairdryer, safe, flat-screen television and DVD player, I-pod dock and WiFi. From your hotel base we will be happy to arrange a full range of exciting excursions and activities and of course you can relax at the resort where you’ll enjoy one of the largest infinity pools of the island. Each bungalow has a sunny outside terrace with comfortable loungers. From the over-water ones, there is direct access to the lagoon. The premium over-water bungalows are especially well situated, close to the coral reef ledge so you can immediately swim off and discover a fascinating world of colored fish and exotic corals. Near the over-water bungalows, we have developed our own coral nursery- To’A Nui - a coral regeneration project and part of our commitment to protecting the fragile environment that surrounds us. This site encourages the proliferation of marine life whose beauty is so easily enjoyed with simple snorkeling equipment. You will find a luxurious and convivial resort on a human scale, offering a warm welcome to honeymooners,romantic couples, families, nature lovers and scuba-divers. We have two restaurants - The Mahanai - and the acclaimed gourmet restaurant - The Matiehani. The Autera’a is a perfect terrace bar for sipping your favorite beverage. Other facilities include a bar, two meeting rooms, a boutique and a full range of activities and excursions both on land and on the water. We also have a dive center, a Polynesian tattoo facility and a spa. The Manea Spa specializes in massages and treatments using traditional Polynesian methods and 100% natural products from the island’s flowers and plants, including the famous monoi oils from the coconut palm. Thespa has a hammam, Jacuzzi and the "Rumi Avai" where you can discover the pleasures of our unique aquatic massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorea Pearl Hotel Maharepa
Moorea Pearl Resort And Spa
Moorea Pearl Maharepa
Moorea Pearl Resort & Spa
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea French Polynesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing