We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I was still there...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Maharepa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2012

My boyfriend and I visited French Polynesia for the first time in October. We stayed at the Pearl starting October 6 and it was magical. I could go on and on about the wonderful experience we had, but here is a brief review. I have traveled a lot and have extremely high expectations and I was not disappointed by the Pearl. We had a premium beach bungalow and loved being able to walk right onto the beach from our deck. We spent most of the time on our deck and at the beach, as the pool had a lot of children and why would we spend time at the pool when the view from the beach was absolutely amazing? The overwater bungalows were nice, but we agreed that we were happy we went with the beach location over the overwater bungalow since it was almost like having a private beach right outside our door. We planned to try out some of the local restaurants, but did not end up leaving the resort except for a jet ski tour which left from the hotel. The jet ski tour was great and we got to see a lot of the gorgeous island from the water which was enough for us. The food at the Pearl was very good and we did not find it to be too overpriced. The fruit was very fresh and we did not find anything wrong with the breakfast buffett or the 2 dinner show buffetts we had. I've definitely had better food, but I thought there was enough variety between the menus at the restaurant and the bar and everything tasted good. We switched off between the restaurant and the bar for lunch and dinner and never felt the urge to leave the resort. All of the staff was very nice and helpful. We got to know Jamie (I think that is the spelling) in the bar very well and she was so kind, we miss her! The spa is small, but very relaxing. We had a couples massage which was lovely. The only thing that we would have changed was that there were a lot of children with not much to do so they spent a lot of time running around the pool area and doing races in front of the restaurant which ruined the mood on a couple of occasions. But, we don't blame the children being children, we blame the parents for taking their children to a resort without any programs or activities for children. Overall, we loved the Pearl and would go back in a second.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caitlin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,901)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

716 - 722 of 1,901 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

We are airline staff and arrived in Tahiti from NZ with no plan and no reservations. The airport was dead at 1700 hours. A tour guide was helpful and said we could make the last ferry to Moorea at 1830. The last flight left at 1700. 2500 francs or $25 for a 10 min taxi to the dock then 3000 francs or $30 for two on the 45 minute ride. The sun set as we sailed. Sunset cruise? Done!

We checked Tripadvisor on our iPhone on the crossing and found discounted offers at Sofitel, Intercontinental, Hilton, and Moorea Pearl. We chose the Moorea Pearl because of the price and TripAdvisor reviews. The traffic police in Moorea advised us that busses were not running, so they threw our bags in the back of their paddy wagon and drove us the 20 minutes to the hotel at no charge. Welcome to French Polynesia.

We advised the desk clerk, Karen, that we were airline staff and asked for her best rate. She offered us a "walk in" rate which was favorable and she included the breakfast buffet. She then upgraded us to a bungalow with a private mini pool. The room was gorgeous and we used the pool more than we thought.

The next day Gilles, the concierge, arranged a scooter from across the street for $60 a day and we drove the 60km around the whole island in about 4 hours including stops at the juice factory and Belvedere lookout site. The scooter was safe and allows you to enjoy the wildly changing smells of Frangipani, ocean, dense jungle, etc. With some luck, you might get caught in a rain shower.

We stopped at all of the other Resorts checking out restaurants and beaches and decided ours was the most intimate. Groceries, black pearl shops, car rentals, and a bakery were all within a 5 minute walk of the Moorea Pearl.

We ate one dinner across the road at a local weekend BBQ, one night at the Sofitel to see the Polynesian dancers show, and one night at Rudy's. Gilles made all the arrangements. Rudy's was the best!

The front desk manager Oliver arranged a very late checkout which allowed us one whole extra day. The staff are happy, relaxed, and courteous; often singing along with background Polynesian music.

All of the resorts were doing renovations during the low season with The Hilton pool being the worst. We did not notice it at our resort until the last day.

I would reccommend this proprerty and staff most highly.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sunblock90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Having visited French Polynesia nearly 10 years ago, we were long overdue for a return visit. So many destinations around the world have changed (not necessarily for the better) over the past several years that I was hoping that Tahiti and her islands remained the idyllic place I remembered and longed for. My dreams came true. We chose Moorea after a lot of research and it was primarily due to the fact that it was easy enough to get, yet far removed without being isolated like some of the outer laying islands.

The Pearl was our immediate choice of the larger resorts due to the location near the village of Maharepa and the fact that it seemed the most genuine. From the reviews and information online, it seemed to also offer the best value and blend of authenticity with all the creature comforts of home.

Check In: We arrive in Papeete in the early morning after a nice Air France flight from LA and were transported to the dock for the Aremiti V ferry ride to Moorea. The ride was quick and our pre-arranged transfer was waiting for us in Moorea. We were in the hotel by 10:00am and promptly greeted with a cool drink and ice cold refreshing towels. This was a welcomed gesture and helped perk us up after the night flight. After completing the registration process and paperwork, we were advised that our room was not quite ready yet, which was perfectly understandable as the check in time is 2:00pm. We used the changing room and slipped into some cooler clothing (shorts and sandals) and proceeded to the bar for a mid-morning libation - hey we are on vacation after all. After our drink, or two, we went and had lunch at the main restaurant and relaxed there taking in the amazing views and cool breezes. Upon finishing, we checked back with reception and our room was ready - just past 1:00pm. NICE!

Room: We were in an premium overwater bungalow as reserved and were given room 418 per my request to the hotel. I thought it was great that they accommodated my request given the fact that they can't guarantee a specific room. A member of the reception team accompanied us to our room and explained all the details of the resort, opening hours, services, and all the elements of our room. After showing us the room, he promptly let us be so we could settle in for our 6 night stay (11/18-11/24). Our luggage was already delivered so we unpacked as soon as we could so we could get in the gorgeous, warm water. The room had all necessary items and was in good shape. This is an island climate so the room is exposed to quite a few elements, but it didn't bother us. The exterior and roof seemed to need repairs, but they were actively working on it and it seems like standard maintenance - there was nothing deferred or wrong with our room. We loved the fresh breeze that blew through and the louvered wood windows in the bath. We never kept the curtains closed - only the sheer ones on the side in the evening. I wanted to soak up as much of paradise as possible. The location of bungalow 418 can't be beat! It is very private at the far right end of the right pontoon and faces northeast-ish. Being at the end, it made for the best snorkeling and beautiful sunrises. That being said, I think it may also be the most "exposed" to the wind, which some may find troubling; we did not. Housekeeping kept the room tidy and well stocked with towels, instant coffee and bath amenities. The nightly turndown with a local legend and flowers on the pillow were nice. I did appreciate how they don't "mess" with your personal items. Some higher end hotels think they do you a favor by organizing your belongings, but I find it odd to have someone touching my toothbrush... There is no refrigerator per se, but rather a cooler that is not adjustable. It is okay to store waters and such, but not food. We brought along a collapsible cooler to store beers and some snacks from the nearby market. Ice is abundant in the ice machines and a mere 30 second walk from the room. The bathroom was sufficient with a lot of hot water (and by hot, I mean HOT), however, the pressure in the tub shower head could be better. The A/C did the trick as did the overhead fan, but due to the humidity, there was quite a bit of condensation from the unit. Not a big deal, but I could see how some may view this as bad. Our first night, we were gifted a lovely cut up, fresh pineapple.. Oh how the pineapple is so good on Moorea!! Housekeeping also left a few Monoi soaps (full size wrapped and gift-like) for us.

Services: Wifi is not free, but available for purchase. Speed was reliable and signal actually decent given we were at the edge of the property. Cost for a 5 day pass was 5700xpf. It worked well throughout the resort with the bar and lobby area being best. The pool service hut was open from 7a, which was nice so you could get fresh towels early in the morning. Snorkel gear is offered and the items we had weren't half bad. We brought sets from home, but they broke a couple days into our trip so we relied on the hotel's equipment. There are complimentary kayaks and paddleboards as well. I was a happy yet bummed to see they had paddleboards as I asked the hotel prior to arrival if they did and they said they did not. As a result, we brought one from California. Worked out for the best as we never had to wait for one and could use it straight from our pontoon (we stored it next to our outdoor shower at night). We did not use the spa, so I can't comment on the services or facilities, but the spa services menu looked nice and decently priced for a resort. Reception was always helpful with questions and helping to arrange for transport and reservations at local restaurants. The activities desk in the lobby is staffed by friendly people and there was never a feeling of being "sold" something. We booked a motu picnic with the hotel as it was the same price as booking it direct - 5000xpf per person for Hiro's Tours picnic - a deal as mentioned from an advertisement offered by the ferry company.

Bar/Restaurant: Breakfast was included with our stay and we found it delightful and more than substantial. Lots of fresh fruit: papaya, pineapple, oranges, coconut (sometimes), watermelon, grapefruit and cantaloupe. A variety of cheese, pastries, meats and yogurts available as well. In the hot section there were pre-made scrambled eggs (not my favorite), sausage, bacon (sometimes more done than others), crepes, pancakes and made-to-order omelettes and fried eggs. Coffees, teas and juices were also available. We ate lunch only once at the resort (first day) and found it very good. The amount of food was decent and the prices not too bad. Our son, age 14, ate for free but only from the kid's menu, which was limited. We only had one dinner at the hotel, which was on a Wednesday. We were advised reservations should be made, but never saw the restaurant more than half full. Dinner itself was a buffet and good, but pricey and not what we expected. We chose to eat dinner on Wednesday at the hotel because the sign at the entrance states there is a show on Wednesday and Saturday evenings with Wednesday offering an a la carte menu and Saturday being the buffet. So we were confused that the buffet was the only offering on Wednesday night and at the price of 5800 xpf per adult. A lot of seafood, but some of it well overcooked. The bummer was that the show never took place and upon inquiring, they said "oh, no show tonight, the lady took a vacation." Again a bit confused as when we made the reservation, the woman at the hostess station recommended a 7:30pm dinner time so we could be enjoying dessert just as the show was about to start (at 8:30pm). Oh well. The bar was nice and was our nightly starting point for pre-dinner cocktails. Tropical mixed drinks run about 1500xpf and are measured pours, so a bit weak for our tastes. There are individual spirits you can order, which is the route we took and found it to be more enjoyable and very reasonable (only 420xpf for Absolut vodka). Bar service was friendly and prompt and we were greeted each night with a little munchie plate that consisted of peanuts, olives and fresh coconut. Service staff quickly remembered us, our preferences and room location.

Location: The setting in Maharepa was ideal. It offered the convenience of several restaurants, a market, a few street fruit vendors and banks. The town is a short walk down the street after a right turn out of the resort. Moz Cafe was a delight for lunch and was very casual and inexpensive (they also had a/c which serves as a nice reprieve from the humidity). I believe they are closed on Saturdays as they weren't open when we walked by on our last day on Moorea. In the parking lot of the market was a snack bar - Chez Didier. They offered baguette sandwiches for 300 or 500xpf depending on size and nice combo plates of sashimi, poisson cru, tartare, etc. along with ice cold beers. I believe they close at 2pm and have a pretty busy lunch rush. We also dined at Rudy's and the Hotel Kaveka, both of which offered free pickup service. Rudy's parrot fish was great as was Kaveka's ginger mahi mahi. There are a few shops to browse for souvenirs and pearls. We purchased a couple gorgeous pearls from SAB. The sales lady was very polite and knowledgable and the duty free paperwork process was a breeze. Out the hotel to the left about a 12 minute walk was Chez Luciano's, which offers pizzas, pastas and salads along with beer and wine. Great pizza, but order conservatively as the portions are very large! Right across the street from the hotel was Manuia Grill, which is a very casual outdoor new restaurant that feels like you are at a BBQ in someone's backyard. Delicious grilled skewers and meats and very reasonably priced - 1600-1800xpf for a meal and the most amazing gateau I've had! Moorea is a very small island, yet we felt like we had our own world within the confines of our bungalow. We enjoyed seeing the locals living life and enjoying what nature has blessed them with.

All in all, we made the very best of our short time in French Polynesia and we loved every single second and cherished our experiences. The early sunrise (5am) made for fruitful days of sun, fun and relaxation. Embracing the culture and all that it offers is key to enjoying the natural beauty of Moorea and the Moorea Pearl Resort & Spa. Thank you for one of the best times of our lives. We will be back!

Room Tip: Go for the premium overwater bungalows. People mentioned loving the garden bungalows with pool, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank JK949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

we stayed at the moorea earl for our honeymoon from the 17th-22nd of november 2012. the front of house staff are very polite, one stood out in particular she is the lady who looks after the trips i explained that i wanted photos taken on my new husband and I with out hesittion took some beautiful photos but it was her care factor that stood out. the resturant staff are lovely my husband and i went to the cocktail bar every evening we served by jammie she was so lovely and makes the best cocktails. the room was beautiful 417 it had the perfect view of the water and also the mountains behind. if you want a relaxing romantic get away stay at the moorea pearl :) we are already making plans to return in a couple years

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tara-Lee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Went here for our honeymoon and it seems so did every other person we met. great having meals included as the costs of meals were expensive but that is because everything is sent over to the island. Hire a car for the day and drive around the island is worth it. Not that warm in august and some days were very windy with sand everywhere. Our room with our own pool was a great idea for some privacy.

Room Tip: Get a villa with a pool is a much better idea than the bungalow over the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

This resort is in the best location on the island. There was rain 3 out of the 5 days we were on the island, but it went around our part of the island and hit the rest of the resorts. Staff was VERY friendly and willing to please. We loved that you could rent a scooter or walk 10 minutes to the store to buy drinks, eat, shop and exchange money. We recommend bringing a collapsable cooler to fill with ice and buy your own drinks at the market, since there are no fridges in the rooms and drinks get expensive. $4.50 for bottle of water and about $15-20 for mixed drinks at the resort, at the store $1 for water and $18 for bottle of rum about $1.25 for can of soda. We stayed in a garden bungalow and felt it was a much better choice than the over water bungalows. We had our own private plunge pool and enjoyed the privacy. We also suggest renting a scooter for the day $50 and touring the island as the views were just amazing. There are lots of little shops around the island and the locals are very friendly. Also be sure to check out the Tiki Village, as they have shows and classes to learn weaving, dancing, carving tikis. Also we didnt make it but heard from other couples that the pineapple distillery was an great experience, lots of yummy rums! We went to Bora Bora after this resort, but felt that Moorea was alot more fun and friendly, as many of the other couples we talked to felt the same way. We all liked being able to rent scooters and take off around the island, but in Bora Bora you are sort of stuck on the resort as you rely on limited water taxis to take you to the main island where there isnt a whole lot to do. Plus Moorea is less expensive all around. There is snorkeling on the resort. bring your own snorkel equip since there equip is pretty used. There is lots to do on/ off the resort. You wont be disappointed with your stay here!

Room Tip: Skip the beach bungalows and stay in a garden bungalow for the private pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lyndsay m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed at the Moorea Pearl for 4 nights during our honeymoon in French Polynesia. We arrived around 8 am after 24 hours of travel and were delightfully surprised that our room was available! We were checked in in under 10 minutes and given a tour of the resort. Our room was a garden bungalow with a private plunge pool- absolutely perfect. We did spot a couple yellow lizards in our room but they seemed to want nothing to do with us, so they didn't cause any harm.

The resort staff impressed us during our entire stay- they booked dinner reservations for us, exchanged our money, confirmed our pick-up times and excursions, and remembered our names and room number- all with the biggest smiles! The Pearl made us feel so welcome the entire time.

The breakfast buffet is absolutely amazing- my husband was delighted every morning. We ate at the pool bar for a few random lunches/snacks/dinners and we were never disappointed. The drinks were very well made and really not unreasonably priced. It's been a few weeks but I had a small salad with barbequed pork for one meal and I remember my husband having a burger and a club sandwich that he raved about.

We walked to town everyday to go to the grocery store, eat lunch and shop. The Pearl could not be more convenient to town.

We actually preferred Mo'orea to Bora Bora because of our amazing stay at the Moorea Pearl. When we go back to French Polynesia the Pearl will be the first choice for our stay! I can't say enough great things about this resort.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 276MarieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maharepa
15.1 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
6.3 mi away
Fenua Mata'i'oa
Fenua Mata'i'oa
#1 of 1 in Haapiti
119 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus
Hotel Hibiscus
#2 of 2 in Papetoai
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Kaveka
Hotel Kaveka
#4 of 4 in Maharepa
299 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea

Address: Bp 3410, Maharepa 98728, French Polynesia (Formerly Moorea Pearl Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Maharepa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Maharepa
Price Range: $242 - $516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorea Pearl Resort & Spa nestles on the island shore, just by the village of Maharepa in an ideal location, between the majestic Cook’s Bay and the Gulf of Moorea. It’s very convenient, at just 10 minutes from the airport and 15 minutes from the ferry terminal, and with boutiques, restaurants and a small shopping center close at hand. The style of the resort is a tasteful combination of the traditional and the contemporary with a powerful sense of Polynesia. There are 28 over-water bungalows built over the lagoon on piles, 8 more bungalows on the beach and 28 spread through the beautiful grounds with their own private pools and little gardens. The remaining 22 rooms and 8 duplexes of this 94-unit resort are in a small building. Whichever accommodation you choose, you will have air-conditioned comfort (the bungalows also have ceiling fans), an outside terrace, mini-bar, hairdryer, safe, flat-screen television and DVD player, I-pod dock and WiFi. From your hotel base we will be happy to arrange a full range of exciting excursions and activities and of course you can relax at the resort where you’ll enjoy one of the largest infinity pools of the island. Each bungalow has a sunny outside terrace with comfortable loungers. From the over-water ones, there is direct access to the lagoon. The premium over-water bungalows are especially well situated, close to the coral reef ledge so you can immediately swim off and discover a fascinating world of colored fish and exotic corals. Near the over-water bungalows, we have developed our own coral nursery- To’A Nui - a coral regeneration project and part of our commitment to protecting the fragile environment that surrounds us. This site encourages the proliferation of marine life whose beauty is so easily enjoyed with simple snorkeling equipment. You will find a luxurious and convivial resort on a human scale, offering a warm welcome to honeymooners,romantic couples, families, nature lovers and scuba-divers. We have two restaurants - The Mahanai - and the acclaimed gourmet restaurant - The Matiehani. The Autera’a is a perfect terrace bar for sipping your favorite beverage. Other facilities include a bar, two meeting rooms, a boutique and a full range of activities and excursions both on land and on the water. We also have a dive center, a Polynesian tattoo facility and a spa. The Manea Spa specializes in massages and treatments using traditional Polynesian methods and 100% natural products from the island’s flowers and plants, including the famous monoi oils from the coconut palm. Thespa has a hammam, Jacuzzi and the "Rumi Avai" where you can discover the pleasures of our unique aquatic massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorea Pearl Resort And Spa
Moorea Pearl Hotel Maharepa
Moorea Pearl Maharepa
Moorea Pearl Resort & Spa
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea French Polynesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing