We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, delicious food and comfy rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Los Almendros De San Lorenzo
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Suchitoto
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Tecla, El Salvador
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent service, delicious food and comfy rooms.”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

All the hotel personnel is very polite and attentive. We only had breakfast there but it was really good. All the hotel has been beautifully decorated. It also has great views from the Sushitlan lake. I'll will stay there again but I would pick a room inside the hotel, not in el nido.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenblanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    33
    5
    0
    5
See reviews for
44
128
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
681 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,763 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Beautiful converted colonial house. Stuffed full of antiques and memorabilia - a lifetime collection by the charming owners. The rooms are all unique and fabulous bathrooms (if a little dark), You can while away many hours sat outside your rooms on comfy chairs or in the courtyard or by the pool. A great place to relax. Breakfast is OK - needs work. Bar staff are great fun and very good but it is rather overpriced. The house dog Lorenzo is a real character and clearly thinks he is the boss. Our visit was marred by our tour leader having her bag stolen from behind reception - not necessarily the hotel staff's fault but security may need to be upped, especially as they have secure gated entrances (which could be remotely controlled rather than left open when reception is not manned) and there are no safety deposit boxes in the rooms.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SurreyGirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

A beautiful old courtyard style building, made into a great hotel. Appreciate the retained charm, as well as the upgrades (the pool is lovely). We stayed in the honeymoon suite annex - el Nido (the nest). It was more than we expected. The front room is stately, the bedroom is large and comfortable. The back garden was what blew our mind. A good size private pool (unheated (not needed in El Salvador), w/ jacuzzi bubbles) with a view of Lago Suchititlan. With binoculars, you can birdwatch from the pool.

Service was excellent, and breakfast and dinner were very nice.

Room Tip: We stayed in the honeymoon suite - a short block from the hotel. The rooms surrounding the courtyar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chavodel8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
Reviewed November 30, 2013

A beautiful old home, with great upgrades (the pool). We stayed at the annex, honerymoon suite, El Nido. It was exquisite, pretty front room, comfortable bedroom, and the back garden area just blew our mind. A private pool (unheated, but with jacuzzi bubbles) with a view of Lago Suchititlan. We could birdwatch from the pool.

Breakfast and dinner were very nice as well.

Room Tip: We stayed in El Nido, which was more expensive -- and is a short block away from the hotel. The roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enrique G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stratford,canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2013

This is a lovely inn run by two worldly and sophisticated chaps, and their well trained and hospitable staff.
The food is delicious.
We were accommodated in the annex suite, ( called El Nido, "the nest" ) with an excellent view of the lake, and it's own small pool.
We would have appreciated some hooks to hang wet towels or garments, some more hangers, and the garden needs some TLC ( planting some flowers, general tidy-up) and the street in front of the unit is very dirty, littered with debris, but overall it was enjoyable.

Room Tip: The suite overlooking the Lago Suchitlán, I believe #8, would be my first choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thehopelessromantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonsonate
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

My wife and I visited Los Almendros, we were amazed on how the property is kept but above all on how it is decorated. The rooms are well designed and very comfortable. We went to a two story suite with a great view of the prooerty and the lake. The staff were all one stepmabove what we have experienced. The owners are a great mix of the Salvadorean and French cultures that translates in a Great Hotel. We recommend the Hotel and all it represents.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmoyo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The hotel property is beautifully laid out with rooms surrounding a courtyard on the upper level. Walking down a slight hill past the restaurant to the lower level, the rooms surround a lovely pool with lush landscaping. My room had two twin beds, a large wardrobe, a table and flat screen TV. There was no chair in the room. The floors were tile and appeared to be clean. The bath had a tile shower, a newer looking toilet and lavatory. WIFI is available free near the front office where guests can sit on the comfortable furniture overlooking the courtyard.

A buffet breakfast was included and was very good. We had dinner at the hotel one evening where I ordered chicken lasagna and nothing about it resembled lasagna. I could see no noodles, or maybe it was noodles and white cheese, hard to determine, and some small pieces of chicken, all swimming in about a quarter inch of grease. Totally inedible. The cheesecake served for desert was ok.

Entertainment was provided by a young lady playing a guitar and singing. A young man played bongos. We had to ask to have the amplifier turned down as they were very close to our table and it was difficult to converse.

Room Tip: If you don't want to walk up and down the hill to your room, all the way to the back of the prop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djphotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suchitoto
20.3 mi away
Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall
22.1 mi away
Barcelo San Salvador
Barcelo San Salvador
#2 of 54 in San Salvador
624 reviews
19.4 mi away
Hotel Armonia Hostal
Hotel Armonia Hostal
#18 of 54 in San Salvador
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Hotel Las Magnolias
Hotel Las Magnolias
#12 of 54 in San Salvador
67 reviews
22.3 mi away
Nico Urban Hotel
Nico Urban Hotel
#16 of 54 in San Salvador
82 reviews
21.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador
#3 of 54 in San Salvador
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Almendros De San Lorenzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Almendros De San Lorenzo

Property: Los Almendros De San Lorenzo
Address: 4 Calle Poniente no. 2-B | Contigo a la PNC, Suchitoto 1415, El Salvador
Location: El Salvador > Cuscatlan Department > Suchitoto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Suchitoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Los Almendros De San Lorenzo 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique hotel in a 200 years old colonial house entirely restored and exquisitely decorated by its French owner. 6 rooms and suites very comfortable with A/C and big bathrooms, a French restaurant with A/C in the tops of El Salvador, bar, big pool in a beautiful tropical garden. Suchitoto is a gem in El Salvador: the only colonial city totally preserved overlooking the biggest lake of the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Los Almendros De San Lorenzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Almendros De San Lorenzo Hotel Suchitoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing