We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant hotel, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Los Almendros De San Lorenzo
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Suchitoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2013

A beautiful old courtyard style building, made into a great hotel. Appreciate the retained charm, as well as the upgrades (the pool is lovely). We stayed in the honeymoon suite annex - el Nido (the nest). It was more than we expected. The front room is stately, the bedroom is large and comfortable. The back garden was what blew our mind. A good size private pool (unheated (not needed in El Salvador), w/ jacuzzi bubbles) with a view of Lago Suchititlan. With binoculars, you can birdwatch from the pool.

Service was excellent, and breakfast and dinner were very nice.

Room Tip: We stayed in the honeymoon suite - a short block from the hotel. The rooms surrounding the courtyar...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chavodel8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
There are newer reviews for Los Almendros De San Lorenzo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 271 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2013

A beautiful old home, with great upgrades (the pool). We stayed at the annex, honerymoon suite, El Nido. It was exquisite, pretty front room, comfortable bedroom, and the back garden area just blew our mind. A private pool (unheated, but with jacuzzi bubbles) with a view of Lago Suchititlan. We could birdwatch from the pool.

Breakfast and dinner were very nice as well.

Room Tip: We stayed in El Nido, which was more expensive -- and is a short block away from the hotel. The roo...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enrique G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

This is a lovely inn run by two worldly and sophisticated chaps, and their well trained and hospitable staff.
The food is delicious.
We were accommodated in the annex suite, ( called El Nido, "the nest" ) with an excellent view of the lake, and it's own small pool.
We would have appreciated some hooks to hang wet towels or garments, some more hangers, and the garden needs some TLC ( planting some flowers, general tidy-up) and the street in front of the unit is very dirty, littered with debris, but overall it was enjoyable.

Room Tip: The suite overlooking the Lago Suchitlán, I believe #8, would be my first choice.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thehopelessromantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

My wife and I visited Los Almendros, we were amazed on how the property is kept but above all on how it is decorated. The rooms are well designed and very comfortable. We went to a two story suite with a great view of the prooerty and the lake. The staff were all one stepmabove what we have experienced. The owners are a great mix of the Salvadorean and French cultures that translates in a Great Hotel. We recommend the Hotel and all it represents.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmoyo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The hotel property is beautifully laid out with rooms surrounding a courtyard on the upper level. Walking down a slight hill past the restaurant to the lower level, the rooms surround a lovely pool with lush landscaping. My room had two twin beds, a large wardrobe, a table and flat screen TV. There was no chair in the room. The floors were tile and appeared to be clean. The bath had a tile shower, a newer looking toilet and lavatory. WIFI is available free near the front office where guests can sit on the comfortable furniture overlooking the courtyard.

A buffet breakfast was included and was very good. We had dinner at the hotel one evening where I ordered chicken lasagna and nothing about it resembled lasagna. I could see no noodles, or maybe it was noodles and white cheese, hard to determine, and some small pieces of chicken, all swimming in about a quarter inch of grease. Totally inedible. The cheesecake served for desert was ok.

Entertainment was provided by a young lady playing a guitar and singing. A young man played bongos. We had to ask to have the amplifier turned down as they were very close to our table and it was difficult to converse.

Room Tip: If you don't want to walk up and down the hill to your room, all the way to the back of the prop...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djphotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This hotel is amazing in terms of its decor and artistic and cultural appeal. The reception, courtyard, piano room and bar are jam packed with artefacts, ephemera, art work and books which are delight to look at and explore. As a tribute to the Suchitoto artist original Carlos Canas art work is on display in the bar, the piano room and around the courtyard. The rooms vary from the suites which are either duplex or have their own fountain and once again are crammed with tasteful art work and trinkets. My room was a smaller one off the courtyard near reception which was fine for one person, sparkling clean and quiet. Rooms have a tendency to be a bit dark as there is no overhead lighting, only lamps, but this is a small detail which does not detract from the overall impression. Safe and ideal location in centre, a minutes walk to the main square, cafes, church and shops. Staff are friendly and helpful, command of English is variable. Breakfast in the courtyard is adequate and the swimming pool is clean. Food in the restaurant was very nice and well presented but not cheap. The thunder and lightening storms are a delight to watch in the courtyard. This hotel is a rare gem in a rare location which I will remember fondly and would love to return one day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Artemis29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Amidst the noise and hustle of our nine week trip through Central America, Los Almendros de San Lorenzo will always be remembered as a unique refuge. The exceptionally appointed hotel managed to maintain the feel of a colonial residence with original pieces while keeping a modern edge with both local art and an eclectic traveler's cache. From the guest rooms to the welcoming courtyard seating, our weary traveling souls were at once at home. We also enjoyed the pristine pool in a relaxed in garden and patio. But, it's more than the luxurious surroundings that made our stay at Los Almendros so memorable. We found the friendly service matching the stellar surroundings. Both Joaquin and Pascal went well above what one would expect of any hotel proprietors to help us secure the transportation and lodgings for the next leg of our journey. We know could never thank them enough for their gracious services, we hope to someday have the opportunity to afford another traveler such a gift in kind. We whole heartily recommend Los Almendros de San Lorenzo to visitors of Suchitoto, El Salvador.

Room Tip: We loved the homes in the old part of the hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JorgeH1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suchitoto
20.3 mi away
Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall
22.1 mi away
Barcelo San Salvador
Barcelo San Salvador
#2 of 55 in San Salvador
697 reviews
19.4 mi away
Hotel Armonia Hostal
Hotel Armonia Hostal
#16 of 55 in San Salvador
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Sal & Luz Hotel Boutique
Sal & Luz Hotel Boutique
#14 of 55 in San Salvador
44 reviews
21.2 mi away
Villa del Angel Hotel
Villa del Angel Hotel
#6 of 55 in San Salvador
254 reviews
23.8 mi away
Courtyard San Salvador
Courtyard San Salvador
#4 of 55 in San Salvador
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Almendros De San Lorenzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Almendros De San Lorenzo

Address: 4 Calle Poniente no. 2-B | Contigo a la PNC, Suchitoto 1415, El Salvador
Phone Number:
Location: El Salvador > Cuscatlan Department > Suchitoto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Suchitoto
Price Range: $125 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Los Almendros De San Lorenzo 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique hotel in a 200 years old colonial house entirely restored and exquisitely decorated by its French owner. 6 rooms and suites very comfortable with A/C and big bathrooms, a French restaurant with A/C in the tops of El Salvador, bar, big pool in a beautiful tropical garden. Suchitoto is a gem in El Salvador: the only colonial city totally preserved overlooking the biggest lake of the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Los Almendros De San Lorenzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Almendros De San Lorenzo Hotel Suchitoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing