We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amaaaaaaaaaaazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Los Almendros De San Lorenzo
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Suchitoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Los Alemndros de San Lorenzo last Nov. for 3 nights. It was one of our favorite hotels ever. It's beautifully built in a renovated hacienda. The hotel is full of art which we loved. We splurged and got a suite (which I would highly recommend doing). It was so comfortable and cozy. Our bathroom had a working fountain.

We felt so relaxed there and spent quite a bit of time lounging in the courtyard sipping drinks (fresh strawberry juice), admiring the art, going online (free wi-fi) and trying to pet the hotel's cute doggy Lorenzo.

Breakfast every morning was fantastic. There were choices of eggs and other items, fruit salad, tasty coffee, juice, sausages, beans. The food was delicious.

We also ate in the hotel's restaurant one night and had another awesome experience. My husband hat pasta and I had the rabbit. The owners are French (one is a chef) so the food is French and local. Really, really good!

We were SO happy with our choice and felt so good the whole time. If we get a chance to go back to Suchitoto, we would only stay here.

Room Tip: go for the suite..it's so worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank schosar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 272 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed in this hotel over new years in 2010. It is a beautiful small hotel. The room was lovely, and they used some sort of rose water to scent the room, such that it has a distinctly charming shabby-chic feel to it, and made me imagine stepping into a house in a Gabriel Garcia Marquez book.

We had a fantastic New Years dinner at the restaurant, and then popped a bottle of champagne and sipped it while lying in the hammocks under the stars. The pool was also very nice and we overall found the hotel to be a great place to stay.

We didn't love El Salvador, and found very few things to recommend, but if you travel to El Salvador, visiting this town and staying at this inn is a highlight. It made going to
El Salvador worth the trek. We also made a side trip to a coffee plantation (El Carmen Estate) and took a tour. The location was a bit touristic (it has zip-lines and other random activities) but the coffee plantation is still up and running, and it was really interesting and similar to going to a vineyard and taking a wine tour... Lastly, we drove along the ruta de as flores and came across another town known for its wood craft. We negotiated with vendors and bought some nice folding lawn chairs which we somehow managed to transport back to the states (it took some work negotiating with the baggage people at the airport).

If you find yourself in El Salvador, do visit Suchitoto and stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank offtracktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is the best place I have ever stayed - and I even stayed alone and had no one to talk to... that says a lot :) I didnøt need anyone though, 'cause the staff, the pool, and the beautiful surroundings was all the entertainment I needed.

BE-A-U-TI-FUL hotel completely rebuilt in a beautiful French colony-style by a lovely gay couple with extremely good taste. Just hanging around the courtyard and pool area could brung peace of mind to even the most stressed out person. I am definitely coming back, if I ever get the chance.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CamilleFromDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

You know you've got a good room when you walk in and say to each other "don't put anything down, we need to take photos". We had the Colonial Suite which was beautiful. There was even a lions head water feature in the bathroom (although that did confuse me when I was looking for the light switch!).
Bedroom - aircon worked well, beds were comfortable and although the window was directly onto the front street there was no noise.
Bathroom - shower worked well, plenty of hot water and the bathroom was so large you could get lost in it.
The owners also have a fabulous collection of art, it's well worth wandering all round the hotel just to make sure you see everything. They also make a good Gin Fizz!.

Room Tip: The Colonial Suite was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

It was a great visit to a great town. The food was great, the accommodations comfortable and the atmosphere completely relaxing. It was an oasis in a hot, arid town that had me wishing I could stay. I recommend Los Almendros to anyone looking for the best of El Salvador.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bffinnegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed in this hotel 2 nights with Our party of 5 and 2 small dogs. The apartment facility was awesome. The price is reasonable if you compare it with other hotels in the country, for the local population is overprice.

The breakfast is included and is generous, there is a menu for that. Don't be surprise when you book this hotel, the price is for 2 persons in the room, each additional person will be charge with $25 p/p.

The owners speak: Spanish, French and English, which give them an extra value. Some staff also speak English, they are always ready to serve, which for me is the key of their success.

Very nice, romantic, quiet and clean facility makes this hotel, the prefer choice when spending time in one of the oldest town in El Salvador.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dixia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed here in February . What a gem of a hotel. Restaurant was excellent. Reasonably priced compared to some San Salvador restaurants. Staff was excellent, very helpful and attentive to our every need. Our suite was lovely, large,with a water fountain as you walk in to the room (very soothing). Bathroom was beautiful.

We found the entire property to be an oasis. Lots of places to sit down and relax throughout.The dining room is beautiful with windows all around and u can choose to eat there or in the courtyard/bar or pool area if you like...
If you enjoy great music, Joaquin and Pascal had the best and most extensive play list we have heard, whether it was in the morning, afternoon or evening. I would love a copy of every song for myself.

Although we ventured out to try some of the other local food in the area we still thought this was the best place to eat at , especially in the evening.

We had family come in from San Miguel approx. 10 and the staff was very helpful especially in the restaurant where we had coffees deserts and smoothies which we highly recommend.

They will also arrange transportation for a fee. The owners were available when we were leaving and decided to drive us to our next stop as they were going to the same area.

We very much enjoyed everything at Los Almendros including getting to know Pascal and Joaquin. We found them to be friendly and sociable. We recommend taking the time to stop and getting to know them.

We look forward to visiting the beach house on our next trip! Wishing Pascal and Joaquin continued success at Los Almendros de San Lorenzo.

Room Tip: They also have two apartments, one of them has a marvellous view of the lake. They also have a separ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iggy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suchitoto
20.9 mi away
Novo Hotel & Suite
Novo Hotel & Suite
#40 of 55 in San Salvador
69 reviews
21.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador
#3 of 55 in San Salvador
500 reviews
22.1 mi away
Barcelo San Salvador
Barcelo San Salvador
#2 of 55 in San Salvador
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Sal & Luz Hotel Boutique
Sal & Luz Hotel Boutique
#9 of 55 in San Salvador
54 reviews
23.2 mi away
Arbol de Fuego Eco-Hotel
Arbol de Fuego Eco-Hotel
#14 of 55 in San Salvador
83 reviews
20.3 mi away
Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Almendros De San Lorenzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Almendros De San Lorenzo

Address: 4 Calle Poniente no. 2-B | Contigo a la PNC, Suchitoto 1415, El Salvador
Location: El Salvador > Cuscatlan Department > Suchitoto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Suchitoto
Price Range: $126 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Los Almendros De San Lorenzo 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique hotel in a 200 years old colonial house entirely restored and exquisitely decorated by its French owner. 6 rooms and suites very comfortable with A/C and big bathrooms, a French restaurant with A/C in the tops of El Salvador, bar, big pool in a beautiful tropical garden. Suchitoto is a gem in El Salvador: the only colonial city totally preserved overlooking the biggest lake of the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Booking.com so you can book your Los Almendros De San Lorenzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Almendros De San Lorenzo Hotel Suchitoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing