We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, comfortable place to stay”
Review of El Tejado

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Suchitoto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Tejado
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Suchitoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2013

El Tejado is a beautiful, comfortable and very clean hotel. It is somewhat far removed from the rest of the town and I definitely wouldn't recommend walking those cobble stone streets in the dark after a few drinks elsewhere. It's a great place to stay and then return for dinner/drinks. I felt very well looked after. Be warned that many San Salvador residents come with their children to use the pool on the weekends...at other times you will have the pool to yourself. Also, the pool is open for public use for around 3$ per person.

Room Tip: Try for a room farther from the pool if you want quiet during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank labajita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 93 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our hotel in San Salvador gave us a few recommendation for a place to stay in Suchitoto, but upon arrival, we decided to see what else was around. The tourism office (the girl there could not be nicer) suggested we stay at El Tejado for the views and a pool, which is exactly what we were looking for. We were leery to take a recommendation from a tourism office, but decided to give it a shot. El Tejado is located about 7 minutes from the main square, on the way to the lake, which is about 20 mins away by foot. The property is beautiful - there is a nice restaurant on site and a very large, clean, pool with amazing views. Our room easily accommodated the 3 of us (all adults), and had stunning views of the lake.

Again, an overall wonderful place to stay in Suchitoto.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank panda11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

It is also one of my favorite places in El Salvador. The hotel is very nice. Some rooms are better than others, but ask. We have a favorite room and everything worked perfect. Our breakfast in the morning was plenty and good. The price for the hotel is very fair and you will have very good value for the money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 455nemes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and this was the hotel we enjoyed the most in El Salvador. First, the price was right since it was $75 for 2. We had room 11, one of the rooms with the private balcony and view. This included a great breakfast served with lighting speed.

The on site restaurant has good food, medium prices and again the quick service. We found the staff to be very friendly, helpful and attentive to our needs. On one of the week evenings, we arrived just before they were closing (actually it looked like they had already closed) and they made us dinner anyways. Meals from the grill were especially good as were the steaks.

We arranged our transit from the airport with them because of our evening arrival at 9PM for $65 which went well.

Suchitoto was quite hot so we appreciated the large pool which was nice, clean and had a waterfall. They also supplied us with 2 bottles of water every day.

Well located on a quiet side street, only 5 a minute walk down to the Church and main square.

Room Tip: If you want a private balcony, go for the suites. Number 11 is on a corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

El Tejado is a few blocks of the main square, but as a result enjoys a stunning view over the lake below the town. The view can be enjoyed while having breakfast or a drink in the restaurant, so we didn't bother paying for one of the newer view rooms, just had one of the standard doubles. Very attractive grounds, and even a pool! Rooms were fine, A/C worked, lots of hot water, and the room was possibly the cleanest hotel room we've ever stayed in (not just in Central America, anywhere). Very responsive by emails before our stay, and helpful during our stay too. Only issue that we had was that dinner in the restaurant was overpriced and not particularly good. Lots of better choices just down the street.

Room Tip: View rooms are$10/night extra, but standard rooms are the same quality, just no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viaducttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Our budget was about $25/night which is a decent clean room often with a private bathroom. When we checked out this place we just said "this is it" and spent two nights. A standard room with private bath was $60. A room with a patio and a most gorgeous view of the lake and volcanoes was what we chose for $75. This included breakfast. The pool is beautiful. The grounds are beautiful. Everything is beautiful.

Room Tip: I cannot imagine a bad room. I gave it one less star for value as it was a very expensive hotel for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank painnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I was planning a trip to Suchitoto with a friend and was planning on staying at Las Puertas until I read all the reviews here on trip advisor for this hotel.

We switched our reservation and I couldn't have been happier.

We got the room with a view for 75/night and we were blown away. The hotel itself is on beautiful grounds with a very colonial style, everything is well cared for and in the perfect place. The pool and fountain are gorgeous, along with the restaurant with music to complement the whole experience.

The view itself is fantastic, you can see the entire valley from both the pool/restaurant area as well as the balcony of one of the Vista Rooms.

The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly, cleaned the room spotlessly everyday, and even provided free large bottles of water in the room each day. As an expat who travels monthly around Central America, it was wonderfully refreshing not to be nickle and dimed on small services, or denied minor amenities.

The hot water worked, but would go in and out cyclically. This is characteristic of Central America and was expected. The wi-fi was very fast, but only available in the restaurant area and not available in the rooms. At first this was annoying, but in the end it kept us from wasting too much time on our computers as we had to be up and out of our rooms to use it.

I can't recommend a hotel more than this one, it was fantastic.

Room Tip: Spring for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suchitoto
0.3 mi away
Los Almendros De San Lorenzo
19.6 mi away
Hotel Armonia Hostal
Hotel Armonia Hostal
#18 of 55 in San Salvador
34 reviews
22.4 mi away
Sal & Luz Hotel Boutique
Sal & Luz Hotel Boutique
#9 of 55 in San Salvador
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Arbol de Fuego Eco-Hotel
Arbol de Fuego Eco-Hotel
#14 of 55 in San Salvador
83 reviews
21.4 mi away
Villa del Angel Hotel
Villa del Angel Hotel
#8 of 55 in San Salvador
258 reviews
0 mi away
Casa 1800 Suchitoto
Casa 1800 Suchitoto
#1 of 7 in Suchitoto
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Tejado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tejado

Address: Av. Norte, No. 58 Barrio Concepcion 3a | Cuscatlán, Suchitoto 1415, El Salvador
Location: El Salvador > Cuscatlan Department > Suchitoto
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Suchitoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing